We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointing meal”
Review of Widecombe Fair

Widecombe Fair
Ranked #67 of 179 Restaurants in Mansfield
Price range: US$3 - US$21
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We visited this place with our friends couple. Refurb is lovely but meal disappointing. My husband had chicken fajitas. Just few pieces of chicken but lots of onion. The portion of chicken would never fill wraps you get with it. The same for halloumi skewer. My friend had two bits of halloumi there only. Meals are overpriced for what you get.

Thank Irena001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry T, General Manager at Widecombe Fair, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2018

Sorry for the late reply.

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry you felt that the food was not value for money. The two dishes you mention are very popular dishes and we got some great feedback about them especially the fajitas.

Hopefully this want put you off and we will se you again soon

Terry and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 75 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We went for my birthday meal. We all found the meals delicious as where the desserts. The service we had was excellent and the young lady that served us was friendly. We even had a laugh which added to the evening. The refurb looks great too. Look forward to our next visit.

1  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

We live coming here but we came for first time after the refurbishment and I must admit the girl that served us needs to sort out customer service before taking main course plates away asking if we want desert menus after we said no thank u or I'll get ya bill then straight away talk bout making us feel like we gotta go

Thank debzfletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry T, General Manager at Widecombe Fair, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you for your feedback.

Sorry that you felt rushed but my staff are trained to ask if you want a dessert when they clear your plates and if the customers says no then they ask if you would like your bill. I think that is good customer service. We do not rush guests.

Sorry if you felt this was not the service you like

Hope this has not put you off coming back.

Myself and my team look forward to seeing you again soon.

Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

We used to visit the Widecombe Fair regularly but found it was dropping off in terms of food quality. We were then advised by Trip Advisor that previous reviews had been removed following a refurbishment.

We decided to try it out and see how much progress had been made. To be fair, the staff were pretty good and obliging.

The layout and decor are great but, unfortunately, the food was not.

Chicken was involved on both meals and looked and tasted as though it had been previously cooked, then reheated under a grill. Very dry!

On mine the French Fries were very overcooked, being almost like potato sticks. The bacon on my wife's Hunter's Chicken was also overdone, almost burnt.

Having been once to try out the "new" setup, we won't go again in a hurry!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BobNotts1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry T, General Manager at Widecombe Fair, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you for your feedback sorry to here that your visit wasn’t to our normal standard.

Myself and the team are trying hard to give every guest the best service and food, we are still gettting a few things wrong so please don’t let this visit put you off.
Myself and the team would like you to give us another visit

Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

Decided to give it a go following refurbishment, got a table quickly,but drinks sat on the bar for ages,so long in fact the ice in the gin had melted. Gin finally arrived in a tumbler and looked noting liked the Gin on the front of the drinks menu,anyway this was rectified and second attempt much better.when food finally arrived it was very nice but saying that,we were so hungry we probably would have eaten anything! service was so slow,we asked for dessert menu but the waitress clearly forgot to bring them so we decided not to bother.we probably will return but we will make sure we have a good few hours to spare.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry T, General Manager at Widecombe Fair, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you for your feedback.

Sorry that your visit wasn’t our normal service.
We have a few new staff that are stil in training. Hope this hasn’t put you off you off us and we hope to see you again very soon.

Myself and the team would love to see you soon

Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Widecombe Fair also viewed

Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 
Sutton in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire
Sutton in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Widecombe Fair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing