We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty, central location, room fine.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingfisher Barn Holiday Cottages
Reviewed 17 June 2011

double room with camp bed a little cosy, but en suite bathroom big enough for travel cot. could hear washing machine operating late at night. breakfast basic but fine. a little expensive for the standard of room.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjjhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed in Kyte barn over the new year and it is indicative of the quality of the place in that it is our sixth year staying on the complex. The service, cleanliness and the helpfulness of the staff are second to none. No holiday goes without hitch but when the heating to the swimming pool broke down one new year they called out the engineer on a Bank Holiday and repaired it, nothing is too much trouble. My wife is totally paralysed but the facilities on site are more than adequate for our needs. The local area provides great outdoor activities for teenagers with safe cycling paths in the area. Also it is close to the town with bars, restaurents, cinemas, supermarkets etc. Oxford City center is close by for shopping and sightseeing. Run out of superlatives to describe the management and staff.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrysymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

A nice rural location, and large room with a great view (called The Nest). But really disappointed with the managements failure to act properly when problem(s) occurred; I had no hot water for two days so forced to have cold showers (not a luxury experience in the middle of winter for a 73 year old Grandmother!) It wouldn't have been so bad if the guests next door hadn't watched a noisy movie into the wee hours and kept me awake. The heating didn't work properly either and the English breakfast was so bad that I ordered Continental on the third morning, but two soggy pieces of bread covered in beans arrived anyway! After informing the staff absolutely nothing happened & I had to chase-up the query by calling their emergency number. My request for a discount was turned down flat - in fact they'd already taken the whole amount off my Son's credit card without his knowledge. Such a disappointment.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrannyHiker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We had a delightful stay in the Nest. The accommodation was wonderful, lovely and warm, good standard, plentiful hot water, very clean and comfortable, everything we needed, including a washing machine! Beautiful surroundings, easy walk to Abingdon town in stunning countryside.
Carol and her team were very competent, helpful and friendly. When we are back in the UK we will look forward to staying in the Nest again - it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stellastone29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We arrived to find a lovely welcome basket,, the staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome,nothing was to much trouble, the cottage was very clean and homely., we thoroughly enjoyed the privacy of the indoor heated pool which was allocated complimentry with our booking, the walk to town is very pretty, you feel like your very much in the countryside but very close to the town. great place for relaxing

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bizzie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We stayed in Kyte Lodge and used B&B rooms at KBHC. Carol was very accommodating and, given our group size and ages (9 adults, 7 kids under 2 including 3 babies), this was a great location with plenty to do within walking distance including nice walks accessible to buggies/strollers to playgrounds, fields with lots of animals to look at (Rye is a sheep farm) and proximity to supermarkets (Waitrose walk, Tesco drive) and the town centre. We also needed somewhere close to London and Heathrow Airport, KB is around 1 hour from each. The location itself is tucked away surrounded by fields, it's very peaceful and the barns have been renovated with care to maintain original features and country aesthetic. The lodge and rooms were spacious (large enough for two travel cots and a double or king-size bed), clean and practically furnished. We were impressed with the accommodation's accessibility equipment also. We are Brits living in the US and used the location to reunite with friends and family during a UK 'relative-tour'. We would certainly consider using them again but for a longer period as after researching the area, this really offers the best for those with young children. My only gripe would be that their booking system for the cottages and lodges is a little inflexible and only allows Fri-Mon or Mon-Fri starts for short breaks (hence our use of the B&B). We had also considered Grange Farm in Bicester whose accommodation looks great but, the walk into town in Abingdon won us over.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritstakeTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Relaxing place within easy walking dostance to town and busses to Oxford. Friendly helpful staff nice swimming pool . was visiting my son in Abbingdon without a car but han no trouble commuting via walk or taxi. stayed in both B&B and self catering cottace which felt like my own house.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harveyCobargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
2.3 km away
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Abingdon
474 reviews
0.6 km away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
264 reviews
7.2 km away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Cosener's House
The Cosener's House
#5 of 5 in Abingdon
113 reviews
1.0 km away
The Brewery Tap
The Brewery Tap
#2 of 12 in Abingdon
110 reviews
2.0 km away
Abbey Guest House
Abbey Guest House
#1 of 12 in Abingdon
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Barn Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Barn Holiday Cottages

Address: Rye Farm, Abingdon OX14 3NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Abingdon
Price Range: $124 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher Barn Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kingfisher Barn Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing