We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good evening out”
Review of Cafe Rouge Witney

Cafe Rouge Witney
Ranked #13 of 109 Restaurants in Witney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$46
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Open all day, serving a delicious menu of classic French dishes; from steak frites and boeuf bourguignon to a selection of croques and baguettes.
Reviewed September 18, 2017

Along with many other people we went to the evening with live music. We had two free gin blooms with our meal - a nice treat. The meals themselves were good. We had two cheese soufflés to start with, always one of my favourites. The main courses were tagine and moules. The tagine was nicely flavoured and the moules were well prepared, although the sauce was a little too salty. It was a very pleasant evening, and the only downside was that I found it rather noisy in the café - there is little to dampen sound in the place. Prices are reasonable, especially with the free drinks.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded September 25, 2017

Bonjour,
thank you for taking the time to do a review, great to hear you had an enjoyable time.
Look forward to see you again soon
Merci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 437 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2017

Have beenhere many times, and like alwys with this chain, yiu have a good idea what to expect in advamce. Had heard there was live entertainment which was unusual so booked a table. News had certainly got around, or maybe it was the free gins and 40% off vouchers () but seemed every table was booked, and looked to,us like they may have had more tables than normal, as it was very busy and not a lot of space between tables.

However, service was good and food well presented ted, although as usual portion sizes are a bit small.

The entertainment was OK, but nothing special and ended fairly early.

All in all a good night out

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank witneytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2017

Family meal. Staff very friendly and helpful. Service very slow - they seemed very short staffed. Ambience was very nice - as it usually is there .

The bill was huge considering most of us didn't have a starter or sweet or coffee !

The sweets are a bit of a joke - a puff pastry biscuit with a few bits of apple on it and a small scoop of ice cream - masquerading as apple tart ! Cost - £6.35 !!

Really need to try to give much better value for money . It was still a pleasant meal and we enjoyed it .

The staff were certainly very pleasant and helpful but the meal took hours and hours .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

Came here yesterday for brunch which was completely underwhelming, however, staff v friendly and chatty with our little ones which was appreciated and makes a big difference.

1  Thank witneyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded August 29, 2017

Bonjour,
thank you for taking the time to do us a review, we are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your food on this occasion. We would like the chance to find out more about your time with us and provide a more personal response, if you could leave some additional details about your visit at our contact page- ( caferouge.com/howwasyourvisit )
We will be in touch
Merci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

Wife and I enjoyed another very good meal last night after the cinema and using the 40% off voucher for the main course, left feeling full and quite chuffed.
However at 03.00 this morning I became violently ill lasting for two hours. I've spoken to the duty manager who noted what I ate and said that he will carry out a full investigation. Wife was fine by the way.
We will be back but I may well review my choice of food.

2  Thank Nige W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded August 18, 2017

Bonjour
Thank you for taking the time to do a review.
We would welcome the chance to find out more about your time with us and provide a more personal response, if you could leave some additional details of your visit at our contact page- ( caferouge.com/howwasyour visit ). We will be in touch
Merci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Rouge Witney also viewed

 
Witney, Oxfordshire
Witney, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Cafe Rouge Witney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing