We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bird in Hand
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Old Swan & Minster Mill(Minster Lovell)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Fleece(Witney)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bell Hotel(Charlbury)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
48
8
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
8
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew ownerslovely old pubthe pubexcellent menuan evening mealsteakcobb saladquiet locationb bfamily weddingwedding receptionsunday lunchgood sizetwin roomstay there againandytransformation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely Inn. Very spacious rooms, recently re-furbished. Food was excellent and plenty of choice of drinks. Staff were pleasant and friendly at all times. Would definitely recommend, and look forward to staying there again.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Four of us (ladies!) stayed here for one night a few weeks ago as a 'get out of the city' break.
We arrived about 3pm and were given our rooms keys straight away. We had 2 ground floor rooms with ensuites. Both spotlessly clean and fully equipped with tea/coffee making as well as bottled water, TV, iron & ironing board- the beds were sooo comfortable!
We had a table booked for an evening meal and this was nothing short of exceptional. The service, the food quality, atmosphere, drinks - everything was spot on.
They were extremely busy with a private function as well as every table being booked but this did not phase them in the slightest with each guest getting the same attentive service (with beaming smiles).
Breakfast the next morning was again exceptional with every possible item you could imagine available. Cereal, toast, breads, jam, tea, coffee & fruit juice are there to help yourself, with several different hot options also availble to order.
We left on Sunday morning with full tummys and relaxed bodies.
Next time we're staying for Sunday lunch!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our family met up for a special birthday surprise. The rooms are very nice and decorated to a very high standard. The food was excellent and the staff were exceptional! Very friendly and accommodating!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank ADant47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful family Sunday lunch! Delicious food warm welcome and friendly staff! Menu had all the favourites and the food was cooked perfectly with delicious lamb and beef! Highly recommend and we will be back!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

We were made very welcome when we dropped in for lunch. The specials were fresh Cornish fish and there was generally a wide variety of choice of meat and fish dishes. Everything was delicious! And we both managed to try some of the homemade ice cream for dessert. Lovely! The service was wonderful- staff were very attentive and offered us tap water - we didn’t have to ask. The pub was lovely and cosy with a welcoming fire. We loved it and think it’s well worth a visit. We’ll be back!

Room Tip: Great food!
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Witneymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews