We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, no traffic disturbance at night,”
Review of Gorselands Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gorselands Hall
Ranked #5 of 15 Witney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Lovely location, our hosts were excellent, made us both very welcome into there charming home. Tea and coffee facilities, tv, breakfast was excellent. Room was a good size and en suite. If we are ever back in this location again, I would rebook with Gorselands again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james s, Owner at Gorselands Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your kind review - we are certainly very fortunate to live in such a beautiful area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2017

Arrived to a warm and friendly welcome from James, Gorselands Hall is in a very peaceful location. Our room was a good size with a very comfy bed, a good size en suite with a brilliant shower. The room was lovely and clean as was the building itself. Our day started with a delicious cooked breakfast from James, I am a coeliac, James provided gluten free cereal, gluten free sausage and even soya milk, he could not of been more helpful. He also helped us with directions to locations we wanted to visit. Gorselands Hall is near Blenheim Palace, which was amazing, there is also a bus museum close, which is very interesting. Train station is also close, the park and drive is perfect for going into Oxford, which was lovely, some interesting old pubs with some good food. We stayed for three nights and would definitely recommend Gorselands Hall, thank you James and Lisa for helping to make our first visit to Oxford memorable. Elaine and Colin

Room Tip: Our room was in the front and was quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james s, Owner at Gorselands Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you for you kind review; we are glad to make your visit to Oxfordshire so special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Excellent all round experience. Can not rate the service high enough. Helpful friendly staff/owners who go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. Nice quiet location, yet close enough to visit points of interest. Will be back next year to visit Blenheim Palace International Horse Trials

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank coopedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james s, Owner at Gorselands Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you felt so welcome and had a lovely stay in Oxfordshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for just one night and we received a lovely welcome. The room was a good size with a very comfy bed. Breakfast was delicious. The B&B was in a great location for both Whitney and Oxford. I would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BettyPierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james s, Owner at Gorselands Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you Betty for your kind review - we are glad you had a good stay in Oxfordshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

I'll admit it- having read some reviews on here and travelling with a toddler, I was nervous before we arrived and had packed many contingency options in the car! But any such fears were allayed upon arrival and the warm welcome we had from the proprietor. We were travelling as a three generational party of five and were thrilled to ave rooms next door to each other- the twin and the 'family suite' which comprised a single through to a shared bathroom through to a really lovely appointed kingsize with views over the garden. Knowing that we had our toddler with us the owners had been through and locked all the windows within reach of little hands and knowing they had taken such care for the safety or our daughter was brilliant.

The details such as fairtrade teas and hot chocolate on the tea tray were brilliant. At breakfast the first morning they had put some colouring in my daughter's place and it really felt like a home from home. We were able to store milk in the guest fridge in the snug and they were on hand if we needed anything.

The location is really good for Oxford, Blenheim and a whole host of other attractions and I anticipate coming back here with my partner for a child free break in the new year.

Yes there were niggles- the wrong tea at breakfast one morning, the shower in our room was difficult for anyone over 5'3 and yes the access issue of having to go through the single and the bathroom to get to the main bedroom are not ideal, but it worked for us for our short stay and the warmth and welcome from the hosts has led me to overlook any minor imperfections and award 5 stars to this fabulous B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james s, Owner at Gorselands Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Thank you Sue for your detailed review. We are glad that you felt at ease with the arrangements for your child & were able to relax and enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Lovely little place to stay in a quiet location. Food was nice and the owners were very friendly. Room was very comfortable and clean. Parking was a little tight when there was quite a few cars there but overall we had a really nice stay and would stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pipsqueak1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james s, Owner at Gorselands Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Thank you for your review - we are glad you had a good stay with us. We are certainly fortunate to be living in such a quiet area yet close to Oxford & Blenheim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Our stay was perfect for what we needed as an overnight stay on the way down to the South Coast. Directions were good.

Rooms were comfortable, breakfast was excellent, grounds were extensive and hosts were very friendly.

I'd recommend to anyone.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank 325Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james s, Owner at Gorselands Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review - we are glad you had a pleasant stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witney
11.2 km away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 45 in Oxford
753 reviews
5.9 km away
The Witney Hotel
The Witney Hotel
#2 of 15 in Witney
233 reviews
5.1 km away
B&B at Witney House
B&B at Witney House
#4 of 15 in Witney
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,441 reviews
8.4 km away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,944 reviews
6.9 km away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorselands Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorselands Hall

Address: Gorselands Hall Boddington Lane | North Leigh, Witney OX29 6PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Witney
Price Range: $188 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gorselands Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Gorselands Hall – home to three generations of our family. Young and old are equally welcome. Does your family include children or a dog? No problem! Please enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of this country home from home. Whether you are looking for a restful environment in which to have an unhurried holiday; a chance to explore the historic city of Oxford or the tranquil countryside of the Cotswolds; or need a one night stop between business appointments, Gorselands Hall is the B&B for you. Unwind after your journey with a pot of tea and a slice of homemade cake – either in your room, or in the snug with books to browse and, in winter, a cosy fire. The rooms are comfortable with drinks making facilities, flat screen TVs, hairdryers and power showers in the en-suite bathrooms. We don't offer evening meals but we are happy to recommend some excellent local restaurants, all within 10 minutes drive. In endeavouring to run an excellent B&B, we are mindful of what a wise man once said. 'Treat others as you would like to be treated'. We can't think of a better ambition for a B&B to have. We hope you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gorselands Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorselands Hall Hotel Witney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing