We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
112
31
8
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
31
8
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblenheim palacebreakfast was delicioustea and cakeexcellent showerliving roomfull english breakfastlovely loungehelpful hostson arrivalfamily suitethree nightsfriendly welcomepeaceful locationtrain stationbeautiful propertyfamily run b bgood size
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 156 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2017

Arrived to a warm and friendly welcome from James, Gorselands Hall is in a very peaceful location. Our room was a good size with a very comfy bed, a good size en suite with a brilliant shower. The room was lovely and clean as was the building itself. Our day started with a delicious cooked breakfast from James, I am a coeliac, James provided gluten free cereal, gluten free sausage and even soya milk, he could not of been more helpful. He also helped us with directions to locations we wanted to visit. Gorselands Hall is near Blenheim Palace, which was amazing, there is also a bus museum close, which is very interesting. Train station is also close, the park and drive is perfect for going into Oxford, which was lovely, some interesting old pubs with some good food. We stayed for three nights and would definitely recommend Gorselands Hall, thank you James and Lisa for helping to make our first visit to Oxford memorable. Elaine and Colin

Room Tip: Our room was in the front and was quiet and peaceful
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james s, Owner at Gorselands Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Thank you for you kind review; we are glad to make your visit to Oxfordshire so special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile

Excellent all round experience. Can not rate the service high enough. Helpful friendly staff/owners who go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. Nice quiet location, yet close enough to visit points of interest. Will be back next year to visit Blenheim Palace International Horse Trials

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank coopedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james s, Owner at Gorselands Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you felt so welcome and had a lovely stay in Oxfordshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for just one night and we received a lovely welcome. The room was a good size with a very comfy bed. Breakfast was delicious. The B&B was in a great location for both Whitney and Oxford. I would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BettyPierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james s, Owner at Gorselands Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Thank you Betty for your kind review - we are glad you had a good stay in Oxfordshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2017

I'll admit it- having read some reviews on here and travelling with a toddler, I was nervous before we arrived and had packed many contingency options in the car! But any such fears were allayed upon arrival and the warm welcome we had from the proprietor. We were travelling as a three generational party of five and were thrilled to ave rooms next door to each other- the twin and the 'family suite' which comprised a single through to a shared bathroom through to a really lovely appointed kingsize with views over the garden. Knowing that we had our toddler with us the owners had been through and locked all the windows within reach of little hands and knowing they had taken such care for the safety or our daughter was brilliant.

The details such as fairtrade teas and hot chocolate on the tea tray were brilliant. At breakfast the first morning they had put some colouring in my daughter's place and it really felt like a home from home. We were able to store milk in the guest fridge in the snug and they were on hand if we needed anything.

The location is really good for Oxford, Blenheim and a whole host of other attractions and I anticipate coming back here with my partner for a child free break in the new year.

Yes there were niggles- the wrong tea at breakfast one morning, the shower in our room was difficult for anyone over 5'3 and yes the access issue of having to go through the single and the bathroom to get to the main bedroom are not ideal, but it worked for us for our short stay and the warmth and welcome from the hosts has led me to overlook any minor imperfections and award 5 stars to this fabulous B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james s, Owner at Gorselands Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2017

Thank you Sue for your detailed review. We are glad that you felt at ease with the arrangements for your child & were able to relax and enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

Lovely little place to stay in a quiet location. Food was nice and the owners were very friendly. Room was very comfortable and clean. Parking was a little tight when there was quite a few cars there but overall we had a really nice stay and would stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pipsqueak1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james s, Owner at Gorselands Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2017

Thank you for your review - we are glad you had a good stay with us. We are certainly fortunate to be living in such a quiet area yet close to Oxford & Blenheim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews