We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm friendly welcome and great food”
Review of The Crown Inn

The Crown Inn
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Craven Arms
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Settled amongst the rolling South Shropshire countryside in the picturesque village of Clunton is the Crown Inn, run by local family Andy and Della Peers A real country pub set in the lovely Clun Valley, an area recognised for its outstanding natural beauty. The Inn offers warm local hospitality with a range of local beers always on offer in the bar, and home cooked locally sourced food in the restaurant all prepared and cooked by Andy Peers.
Reviewed November 26, 2017

Was greeted by a lovely, warm welcoming smile by the landlady who was very chatty and had lots of time for her customers.

A really nice cosy pub that has a lovely warm feel to it.

Very tasty fish and chips on the Wednesday (take away service also available) and worth every penny, will definitely go back for it and would recommend it

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank AgendaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 131 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2017

The Crown Inn in Clunton is a lovely and cosy old pub in a fine rural setting. I visited on a Friday and found the staff and service to be warm, friendly and efficient. The local ales are top drawer. Heartily recommended !

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank breakonthru1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017 via mobile

Went for fish and chips wednesday, had a lovely meal and service was excellent, definitely recommended.

Date of visit: October 2017
3  Thank tracybprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile

I must be fair and say the new owners had only been in for a couple of weeks when we went for the Wednesday fish and chip night. The main bar was fairly cosy but the overspill ‘restaurant ‘ was quite cold with an electric wood burner. Felt very neglected and unwelcoming. There was a reasonable crowd but, it took over an hour and a half for our food to come. Good sized portions but only one individual tarter sauce between four of us. It was not possible to fathom why the service was so slow and nobody communicated with us. That said the fish was good. Local knowledge had it that the previous owners served 130 on the fish and chip night, I doubt on ours they exceeded 30.
I feel there is a way to go to get this pub on its feet and I wish them well but, we will not be returning.

Date of visit: October 2017
9  Thank sjmhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2017

A nice clean and friendly restaurant serving good British food at reasonable prices. The staff were very efficient and friendly and the atmosphere was excellent.

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank WokingBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown Inn also viewed

Craven Arms, Shropshire
Craven Arms, Shropshire
 

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing