We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
65
52
19
9
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
52
19
9
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice beer visiting nearby shropshire hills excellent value for money evening meal was excellent comfy room lamb shank stayed here for one night friendly welcome nice breakfast would definitely stay here again tea and coffee cooked to perfection old building pleasant stay three nights macerator
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 163 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2018

We stayed for 2 nights in order to walk Long Mynd. Warm welcome from conscientious owners, excellent fish and chips and and substantial breakfasts. We don't eat meat but had plenty of choice including Vegan option. Great location for walking. The new owners are clearly working hard to build up the reputation of the pub/hotel and we wish them every success.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mickey_Dripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison E, Owner at Stokesay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

Firstly I would like to say that for a budget price the Stokesay Arms represents pretty good value for money,
The warm and friendly welcome was nice, and the room although small was quite adequate and warm. Undoubtedly the TV is too small for the room and there are not enough plug sockets if there were, proper bedside tables and lamps could be added making the stay more pleasant.
The plumbing is a problem though,the sink did not drain away and the Saniflow macerator toilet is very noisy! I agree with another reviewer that the notice threatening a charge for an engineer call out if this is blocked is heavyhanded and unnecessary , a simple polite reminder to not flush anything other than paper would suffice.
Breakfast was nice with plenty of choice note no wifi available as poor signal

Room Tip: Ask if its live music night as its very loud til 11pm in rooms above bars
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shiringarside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison E, Owner at Stokesay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Thank you for your review. The old tenants signage has been removed and we are gradually up grading the rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018

Room small and in poor condition. Shower extremely hot and unable to turn it down. You need a huge magnifying glass to see the tv it is so small! The one good thing about this Inn is the food. Limited choice but well cooked and fresh. Pity about the staff. Unwelcoming, too busy dealing with paperwork or talking to each other to look after a clients requirements. On asking for marmalade at breakfast I was given a withering look and a pointed finger because I had not seen it on the buffet table.a genuine smile would have made all the difference.wifi is free but unusable except in certain areas in the bar.
Not to be recommended.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dugage43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018 via mobile

Thanks to Alison and staff. We were last minute looking for one night stay. Stoke say inn fitted the bill perfectly. It was ideal for what we wanted a no frills reasonably priced room. Food was good would stay again if we were that way. Lovely countryside around there with The Shropshire hills nearby.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank roger p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

We booked the night after visiting family. Not a warm welcome
The room was clean on the surface, I moved the bed to get to the plug and was shocked at the dirt. The plumbing was very noisey . no atmosphere in the pub so dined at the carven armed down the road. The staff were very abrupt and not very helpful I know you get what you pay for but come on guys. We were told they were new owners of just 2 months but hey you really need to try harder If you want to succeed. Big improvement needed for us to even consider staying again. Sorry but true

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison E, Owner at Stokesay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

We thank you for your feedback and areas to improve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews