We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We regularly use the mews houses when visiting family in this picture-perfect village. The staff are very friendly and helpful and they are always willing to help us configure the room to accommodate our family (which includes two children and Grandad!)

The breakfast and evening meals in the restaurant are lovely and our daughters always ask for Much Wenlock sausages when they get home. (There is a butcher in the High St who always has a queue outside - yum)

The gardens are ideal for sipping a G&T whilst the children play. All in all a lovely home from home for us when we visit our relatives.

Room Tip: We have not stayed in the pub/hotel itself but the Coach House has a kitchen downstairs with double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 223lisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    37
    18
    4
    14
See reviews for
20
53
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Booked over the internet, so not sure what to expect, I was not disapointed, friendly staff, clean small rooms but had all the things you would expect.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Do not expect to stay in this hotel if you book - the management cannot be trusted. I booked over the overnet in December of last year to stay in this hotel. I have just been phoned to say they have double-booked and have found me alternative accommodation a mile away from the centre of town - not within walking distance. When asked why they could not find alternative accommodation for the other guest, I was told it was not possible, as there were 14 of them!!! Obviously, the hotel saw a chance to make more profit out of a bigger party by kicking us out of our room, even though we booked three months ago, so as to make sure of being in the centre for the poetry festival. I think this is disgraceful.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 467srt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Much Wenlock hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Myself and husband stayed for 2 nights in December. Excellently located and nice building. Some of the interior decor could be upgraded but very comfortable throughout. Really good service the whole time we were in the bar & restaurant in particular the australian barman, a real asset to the hotel. We will be back

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Had dinner twice Valentines,and Annaversary in Aug.We arrived out of the blue having been let down near Telford.For a small hotel our reception was faultless,the cottage suite was so clean and well prepared(house keeper great fun).As before dinner was a delight,a different young waitress both nights,so wonderfully friendly!I guess the more relaxed and fun you put in the greater the return.Just enjoy,Wenlock is pretty cool,just chat around.

J.G & C.G

Room Tip: Go for a cottage,has its own Upstairs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a1iain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We felt that throughout our whole stay here that we were a nuisance to the staff from the time we arrived we received a cold welcome. The rooms are dated and it took a good 20 mins to get hot water from the bath tap...(wish I had read previous reviews more thoroughly).
Breakfast times are from 8-9 including Sunday, which is rather annoying if you are on a weekend break. We were told that this was because they had to get us out of the way ready for serving lunches. Our bedroom clock was set an hour in advance, probably to try to fool us into getting up in time.
We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAWWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

We found this GREAT hotel using the web,and it if we sound excited it is because it was the best stay ,two nights we have had,in many stays in the uk.
Right from the start the friendliness and helpfulness of evryone on the staff was so apparent.
The room 12,was good size as was the extra side room attached.
The small things like a really good reception tv set,massive and I mean massive shower ,nice toileties ,tea,coffee, etc
The food served in two areas,bar and restuarant was tasty well cooked,and made us wish we had some more nights to sample the large menue.
The area of Much Wenlock by the hotel was interesting with local history set into the pavements and many historic buildings.
We had a good laugh at one sign which stated the purpose of the building(presumably in times gone by) was to care for HOMELESS AND NAKED BEGGERS,which shows that people in the town cared for the poor souls who qualified for this charity.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badmintongrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Wenlock
0.2 km away
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Much Wenlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
5.8 km away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
10.1 km away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.7 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
9.0 km away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
22.2 km away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gaskell Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gaskell Arms Hotel

Property: The Gaskell Arms Hotel
Address: High Street, Much Wenlock TF13 6AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gaskell Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Gaskell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing