We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Another excellent visit to our favorite hotel. Once again everything was great including the weather, perfect area for walking if a little steep in places.( Offas Dyke!)
The view over the garden from the Champagne room was sublime, snowdrops in abundance together with a large variety of wild birds to watch.
The food, housekeeping and welcome was as usual first class.

Room Tip: Champagne Room
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
There are newer reviews for Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

I do not generally write reviews but feel the need to do so in this instance. We have recently returned from a two day break at Pen-y-Dyffryn having had a great time. The food was excellent, the wine choice just as good and the hotel had a very nice cosy feel about it. The service was very friendly and professional and the rooms above average I would say.
The location of the Hotel is perfect, offering a host of choices on how to spend your daytime. We managed Chester, Iron bridge and a local a local walk then sadly ran out of time. We look forward to returning soon and have already sent many recommendations to friends all promising to give it a try. They will not re disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We found Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel quite by mistake browsing the internet but what a find.
In all the reviews I post on Tripadvisor I always start by saying that they are my personal opinions and therefore cant be responsible for how readers interpret them and given the recent media interest in the accuracy of reviews posted I would confirm that my thoughts are my own and are true reflection of our stay.

From the moment we arrived the staff couldnt have been more helpful. Everything was explained clearly and any question answered promptly. Complimentary afternoon tea including scones and homemade jam was taken in one of the very comfortable lounges complete with log fire. Pre dinner drinks were taken in the small but cosy bar and we were given plenty of time to study the dinner menu. Dinner was excellent, the chef obviously knows whats he`s doing and it was lovely to see as much use as possible of locally sourced ingredients. A comprehensive wine list is available with something for everybody.

We stayed in one of the "Lower Court" cottages which had obviously just been redecorated to a good standard and was very comfortable. If I only have one negative comment it is that there was a considerable gap around the door and its frame and as the wind was howling on the night we stayed there was quite a draft blowing in.

Overall our stay was extremely comfortable, welcoming and helpful staff (a rarity these days), with lovely lounge areas and bar. Restaurant was very good as was the standard and cleanliness of our room.

All in all the ideal weekend retreat or longer if you wish.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DeuceCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Went for a long weekend. Was absolutely brilliant. Lovely welcome with tea and scones. Brilliant dinner with local produce from a small but ever changing menu. Good strong wine list as well. If you're into you walking there are brilliant routes with spectacular scenery. The owner will help you plan where you want to go over a cracking breakfast. The staff can't do more for you and the ambiance is the right side of homely with out being stuffy. If you like a chain hotel with health spar and loyalty card scheme I wouldn't bother. If you're looking for the personal touch with good food, friendly and helpful staff along with a treck through the countryside then get yourself there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed at the Pen Y Dyffryn Hotel on our journey back home from a weekend in S Wales. Ths was to be a belated christmas present for my husband as the restaurant seemed very highly rated.
The overall ambiance of the hotel was good, welcoming staff, lounge areas with log fires, afternoon tea and scones on arrival.
The evening meal was nicely presented, the menu was interesting, however it just seemed to lack something to make it that little bit special. The final dissapointment of the meal was the price of the coffee, seemed fairly steep, after all the whole package for bed and breakfast and 4 course evening meal was not cheap by any means. Breakfast again was nicely presented, good food, but again lacking in that extra something...maybe we expected too much?
Bedroom very nice, clean, comfortable bed, lovely linen. Bathroom had a spa bath, the shower was rather a dissapointment as the power was very low. Towels were a treat, very white, very fluffy and excellent quality.
Overall a positive stay, but would not go out of our way to recommend it to family and friends.
.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m55w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I am not sure as to how many times my wife & myself have stayed here, at the "Lower Court", which is one of the four cottages at the back of the hotel, is very, very relaxing, and without telphone contact ( though this is only a few meters away ) we had the usual fantastic solution. Of course the food & views are up to the high standard, as expected. For us this is a great place to stay, but, min 2 nights. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Book one of the cottages.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil03091947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at Pen-y-Dyffryn recently for 2 nights with our dog. Our criteria is a good standard hotel with great food which also accepts dogs - this can be quite a challenge to find, but we came up trumps with this hotel. We enjoyed our stay very much, the staff are very friendly and welcoming; our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with wonderful views over the valley and gardens; and the quality of the food was absolutely superb. This hotel has a very, very good chef, who cooks delicious meals. Therefore, we rate this hotel as being exceptionally good value for money. (Raymond Blanc take note, we enjoyed their food better than yours!)

Room Tip: The Rectors Room (Blue Room) is on the corner, first floor with dual aspect views. (There may be a l...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeremiah3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
6.4 km away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
459 reviews
4.8 km away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
426 reviews
28.2 km away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,302 reviews
8.8 km away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
428 reviews
30.8 km away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel

Address: Rhydycroesau | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range: $178 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Shrewsbury and Chester this beautiful silver-stone Georgian rectory is set in stunning hill scenery. In five acres of grounds, the Hotel offers unobtrusive hospitality, first-class food and an easy-going atmosphere guaranteeing that "away-from-it-all" feeling. Some bedrooms have private patios others have spa baths. Good Hotel Guide Country Hotel of the Year and Johansens Best Value Award. Two AA Food Rosettes. Great walking from the front door &€“ close Powis Castle and Erdigg (N.T.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen y Dyffryn Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing