We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Has got to be one of the best places to stay in...”
other travellers have booked this property
St.Mary's a part converted 15th Century 2* listed building now a beautiful holiday home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St.Mary's a part converted 15th Century 2* listed building now a beautiful holiday home
Overlooking the lake at Talyllyn this historic building offers you an unforgettable experience . Just a bit different ! NB:The 15th Century Church operates an Eco Loo System
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
St.Mary's a part converted 15th Century 2* listed building now a beautiful holiday home
Overlooking the lake at Talyllyn this historic building offers you an unforgettable experience .
Just a bit different ! NB:The 15th Century Church operates an Eco Loo System
views across the lake from St.Mary's with Cader Idris rising in the background.
The old vestry with it's modern kitchen set within a space of huge ancient oak beams to impress
Neighbours visit you here ! This one often helps me cut the grass!
A comfortable area to sit in the old vestry also providingTV/ DVD player and PlayStation with games
Definitely a room with a view .
The old building still retains most of its fixtures and fittings to set the atmosphere.
One of the many dramatic lighting options...this photo was sent to me by one of our visitors
Kingsize beds for that extra comfort  -- with filtered and  balanced air flow  ....
The stained glass window depicting the story of The Good Samaritan
The view of the lake from the old Church with Cader Idris reflected in the still waters ...beautiful
A good nights sleep here for sure and another kingsize bed.From this level you can view the Church !
One of the two  Lych-Gates and the ancient 15th Century Church - one of the oldest in Wales
An impressive rear entrance to the Church with parking and privacy .
St.Mary's and it's  beautiful location..photo taken on the ancient route to the Church from Corris
One of the collection of Victorian oil lamps that compliment St.Mary's..a step back in time ..
Spend the nights under the huge impressive 15th Century rafters.....a great treat !
This is the view from the 'pod'that you could wake up to ...showing the ancient barrel ceiling
A fine picnic area ... Incredible views ...and a private place to look out over the whole lake..
A beautiful location ....photo taken from the Old Rectory On The Lake
There aren't many places like St.Mary's.This is the 15th Century roof structure..impressive for sure
View of St.Mary's across the lake with Mynydd Graig Goch behind which glows red in the sunset !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Trish_Mc2...
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Has got to be one of the best places to stay in Wales”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful place to stay. Very relaxing, Peter has done a fantastic job making the chapel into a holiday letting property with a difference. A lot of care has gone into the fixtures and fittings which are of a very high standard. We loved the light display on the stairs! During the evening we would stand outside and watch the bats flying around and listen to the owl hooting. Early one morning we saw an otter swimming in the lake, have only seen them in captivity before. Brown trout live in the lake - you can see them jump, trying to catch the flies on the water. Fishing tackle, boat and bike hire is available just round the corner at the hotel. Views are amazing - would have loved more time there. Oh and the bedrooms are huge, spacious with very comfy beds. Slept soundly all week. I could write endlessly about St Mary's, but you have to go visit this place and see for yourselves - then you'll know what myself and all previous guests are raving on about. Thanks Peter for sharing such a wonderful retreat

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2013
Thanks so much for this brilliant review.... it is really appreciated... I'm so glad you had such a memorable time ... come back soon ... bats,trout,owls and otters...we'll all be waiting for you !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S W
Hereford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful place to stay.
This was a last minute holiday with 2 of my daughters ( aged 17 and 20) and we had a great time. Peter, the owner, had made booking easy, responding to my emails quickly and reserving the dates for me after my first enquiry. He met us on our arrival to show us around before leaving us to enjoy the holiday. We found the church a very relaxing place to stay - and I loved sleeping in the top bedroom overlooking the pews and stained glass window. Lots to do in the area with a day spent on the beach ( approx. 20 mins drive away) and walking up Cadair Idris - you could see the church from parts of the circuit - wonderful.
The craft centre nearby was also a great place to visit.
Will definitely be recommending this to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the building
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2013
Something you said to me when we first met suggested to me that you didn't do reviews ...so to see this one appear today was the supreme accolade .
Thanks so much and I'm delighted you enjoyed your holiday choice.
I hope we will see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelEve...
Llanfyllin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“We feel priveledged to have been able to spend time in this magnificent place”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

What a fantastic experience and great privilege to have been able to spend time in this magnificent place. You are literally staying in a church with everything as it would have been pews, organ, pulpit, font etc. but with 2 bedrooms and a bathroom at the back and a kitchen/living area in the vestry.
Peter, the owner went out of his way to accommodate us despite our booking being very last minute and he was there to greet us with a cheerful welcome even though we were running 3 hours behind our expected arrival time. We were given a tour and the workings of everything were explained before he left us to settle in. I have to say that unlike the previous visitors we spent most of our time within the church area of the building. We felt it had a warm, welcoming, comfortable feel to it with the ancient Welsh oak timbers, stained glass window and Tudor painted ceiling. As mentioned by a previous reviewer an absolute must is a rifle through the classical record collection. Make your selection and proceed to play at high volume - go as loud as you dare - the acoustics resonate through your whole being - stirring stuff!
Worth pointing out is if you don't plan to be driving about much remember to take everything with you that you might need as the nearest shop or petrol station is 10 miles away. We were lucky enough to befriend a barman in the hotel over the road who very kindly took a small shopping list from us and delivered to us the following morning when he drove into work. I’m not sure that's something he'd want to make a habit of though!
We had unsettled weather alternating between light drizzle and torrential rain but this in no way detracted from our enjoyment of the place. If anything it contributed to the atmosphere, specifically watching the mist roll over the top of the sheer mountainside behind the cemetery.
Recommended reading is the chapter on St. Mary's in a history book of the local area we found on the coffee table in the upstairs bedroom. Discovering something of the church's history and hearing about the characters that have passed through added to our feelings of connection to the place.
We didn't stray too far from the church during our stay. We had a brief walk and a couple of trips over the road to the hotel bar, mainly I think because we wanted to make the most of being in such a unique place. Over and over we would look at each other and remark on how lucky we were to able to stay in such a special place.
So our thanks to Peter for sharing St. Mary's with us and we very much hope to come back again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The uniqueness of the property
Liked least: No views from windows but impossible due to planning constraints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2013
Thanks so much for your brilliant review - it brought a lump to my throat knowing that others now see in this old building what I saw years ago ,it was like love at first sight !
I am so proud to be the custodian of St.Mary's and delight in letting others share the experience .
I do hope we will see you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Aug 2013
My second guests at St.Mary's... thanks for this fine review and such a clear description of your holiday experience..it made enjoyable reading .
I do hope you will return again one day to complete those walks ..there's plenty of them !
I'll get in touch with the RAF and see if I can get a fly past organised again ..!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cravengar...
Ingleton
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A relaxing retreat”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I booked this accommodation at very short notice. This is not the easiest time of year to find property, so as there were no bookings and the owner was able to be flexible with our arrival and departure date due to hospital appointments, we took the gamble.
We are SO glad we did. We were met by Peter, the owner, with a warm welcome. He is passionate about his property and very exctited at the new venture, and rightly so. It has taken him a long while to get to this point.
From the outside, you'd never guess what was to come! The vestry has been converted into a kitchen and lounge area. Well equipped, and comfortable.
Open the door from there and be prepared to be amazed! The main part of the church is in tact, with the pews, pulpit, font and altar. Try playing the classical music from the "music centre" .Have it as loud as you like as ther are no neighbours to think about!
At the end of the church are the bedrooms. One is a proper bedroom, finished to a high specification, with an en suite shower room.Lie in bed in the morning and watch the sun come through the stained glass window at the front. (that's if you're lucky enough to stay there when there's a heat wave, as we did)

Up some stairs leads you to a beautiful open bedroom on a mezzanine/minstrel's gallery type room overlooking the church. Both rooms are furnished as sitting rooms as well, with settees and T.Vs The bed was very comfortable. We were sorry that we couldn't use both bedrooms, but next time.....

The first night, it felt very peculiar having to leave the sitting area and go across the church to bed! We had to try hard to switch off from this, closed the curtains, slept well and never looked back. The scene in the morning was wonderful.

Outside the church grounds is a lovely private garden area with a picnic bench, with sheep as company. However, we spent most of our time directly outside the church, where there is another picnic table, albeit this overlooks the graves stones!
Across the road is the Pen-y-Bont hotel, which we thought would be a bonus for meals, but we were not impressed by this place after having to send back the very first meal we had there because it was cold. Also we paid £6 for 2 Magnums!
We were VERY sorry to leave this place, and whilst we wish Peter every success with his business, we really would've liked to keep this place a secret so that we can go back whenever we want. Alas, I think this won't happen, but we definitley will go back when there is a slot for us.
If you want a holiday where you're guaranteed never to be disturbed by neighbours, where you want to look out on beautiful scenery i.e the mountains and lake then please give this a try. It's different, and will have you talking about it when you get home.

Thank you, Peter, for the honour of being your first guests. The stay here is certianly what the doctor ordered! We'll see you again maybe sooner than you think!!!

Lynn and Brian

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2013
Thank you both for such a pleasing review. You were my first guests at St. Mary's and I was a so hoping things would go well .
The fact that you are coming back in September somehow tells me that you enjoyed your stay ! I am looking forward to your visit and hope to continue to impress !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonMeie...
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Das Frühstück auf dem Friedhof umgeben von Geschichte
Liked least: Die kleinen Betten
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2016
What can I say to this review ....something tells me its a good one and maybe we shall see more guests visiting us from Germany after read it ..
It was a real pleasure to have met you both and thanks for choosing St.Mary's...much appreciated ...
Vielen Dank..
Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing