We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner with a view ”

The Culbone Stables Inn
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Porlock
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Culbone Stables Inn is situated on the A39 between Porlock and Lynton in the idyllic heart of Exmoor. Our Inn and gardens are in a beautiful setting and have exceptional views across the valley of Coombe. Our aim has been to renovate the restaurant back to a welcome, friendly Country Inn/pub. Our menu is traditional pub fare, at reasonable prices, using local produce. We welcome walkers, cyclists, motorcyclists, families and dogs. We have 5 on suite bedrooms. 2 are opposite each other (one twin, one double) with their own landing and would be perfect for families. Room 1 has its own private patio, with stunning views. Our motto is , anything you want, just ask. We might not be able to fulfill some requests but there's no harm in asking.
Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

We visited the Culbone Inn for dinner at the end of June. We were recommended by our hosts where we were staying, only 10 minutes away from the Culbone. We did book and asked about bringing our puppy in advance - which they were absolutely fine with. The food was delicious and you could tell they used high quality and local ingredients. It was also reasonably priced, especially as we were entitled to 10% off our bill because we were recommended. It is situated right in the middle of the national park, with beautiful views all around.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank beckyalicedibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 450 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2016

The Culbone sits on its own a mile or two west of Porlock on the A39. Mainly a bar and restaurant, its handful of rooms are what seems to be the older part of the building.

I think all of the rooms look out over the moors - a wonderful view of hills to wake up to every morning. The room itself was a nice size with an ensuite. A comfortable bed, though the room was a bit warm at night during our stay.

One bonus was the tea/coffee facilities provided because they were not limited to tea and coffee. I drink neither, which can be annoying (not to say dehydrating), but The Culbone also provide hot chocolate and bottled water as well. It's an extra touch that costs them pennies I imagine but was hugely appreciated and gets them an extra star above!

The walls are about two feet thick, which means that there is no need to worry about any traffic noise from the A39 - though there was precious little traffic on it. On the other hand walls that would stop a cannon ball also stop wifi and, given that there is no mobile signal, means that you have to travel down to the bar to contact the outside world.

For walkers or visitors generally there is very nice residents lounge with loads of maps, books and board games. Another great touch which we did not make as much use of as we might.

Breakfast was good with friendly service. We only ate there once in the evening, the menu was small and slightly above average in price, but the food itself was excellent - really very tasty indeed,

The overall location is pretty good too. Well placed if you are going east or west - and at the head of a toll road down to Porlock Weir that avoids the 1:4 but is quite
and experience in itself.

We'd very probably return here if we visited the area again

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2016

We went on Saturday night for my daughter in laws birthday. The service and food was excellent. The couple running the place were both friendly and polite. The menu was varied with a specials board and We all had different meals and every dish was delicious. We would definitely go there again.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank littlecarole53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2016

Great few days away.Lovely friendly family run hotel. Comfortable well appointed room but fabulous food - the best scallops ever! The walk to Culbone Church was a challenge but well worth the effort- it's gorgeous..

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 509Debi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the room with private terrace. The terrace was dirty with a picnic bench and nothing else. The gate was broken with a screwdriver for the handle and anyone could walk in. It would have been inhospitable to sit out there. French windows were directly in front of the bed with two curtain panels which covered the side windows and no curtains covering the glass doors in front of the bed. Given anyone could walk into the balcony we didn't feel able to life in bed with the light on. Water and other damage in places on the walls. Huge bathroom, shame there was no bath, it would have made the bathroom look better. Double shower which looked great, shame that one of the shower heads were missing. After the first shower in the morning the second one was ICE cold and I had to wash shampoo from my hair in freezing cold water. Cooked breakfast good as food is good though menu limited if your don't eat fish. Continental breakfast really limited. I remember this place when first open. First time during though we have eaten there many times. I think the décor needs refreshing. The cost of the bedroom wasn't justified and looked dated now and balcony pointless. Not the romantic night we hoped for and sorry to say we won't stay there again. Staff are helpful and friendly though.

Date of visit: May 2016
2  Thank tonyjgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Culbone Stables Inn also viewed

Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Culbone Stables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing