We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Keep it a secret!”
other travellers have booked this property
Wisterias Lounge/Kitchen/dinner
Light airy with River, countryside and courtyard views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wisterias Lounge/Kitchen/dinner
Light airy with River, countryside and courtyard views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Wisterias Lounge/Kitchen/dinner
Light airy with River, countryside and courtyard views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Porlock, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
derek b
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Keep it a secret!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Relaxing in a self catering cottage in a beautiful setting doesn't come any better than this! The sea plus wonderful walks are on the doorstep.
Linda and Brian are superb hosts and treat you as part of the family.
This was our second visit and we have already booked for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly atmosphere and location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 14, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, facilities and hosts. Easy secure parking.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ray T
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to relax in lovely accomadation.”
Reviewed November 16, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We have been coming here for the last 11 years and have stayed in all the apartments which are maintained to a very high standard.On arrival you are greeted with a warm welcome and a cup of tea or coffee from Linda and Brian the owners.There are lovely walks straight from the door,the views around the area are stunning.If you want to relax and unwind this is the place to be.Added bonus it is also dog friendly.We have no hesitatation in recommending the packhorse as a place to come and stay for a holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole package,Hosts,Accommodation,Area.
Liked least: Rainy days
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne F
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Idyllic village retreat”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Our 4th visit to The Packhorse. Wisteria was delightful, comfortable, clean and well-equipped with lovely views and the usual warm welcome from Linda and Brian. The autumn colours of woods and moorland were glorious. Excellent riding stables for experienced riders less than a mile away, and superb walks in every direction. We have also stayed at Rose and Honeysuckle, all highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and location in village
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul-Yvon...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Opened our eyes to a new holiday experience.”
Reviewed August 15, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

After years of camping in the English weather, we were lucky enough to stumble across the pack horse online and lucky enough to find the date that we wanted, and it has opened our eyes to a complete new holiday experience, met with a very warm welcome, we found our cottage bright and beautiful with wonderful views, a very relaxing and stress free holiday, Brian and Linda are fantastic hosts nothing is too much trouble and will go out of their way to make your holiday one to remember. loved it so much we have booked again, and can not wait to return, and we will be recommending friends and family. Thank you Paul Yvonne and Zita.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith h
Pascagoula, Mississippi
2 reviews
“The ultimate delightful family holiday”
Reviewed June 10, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

The Pack Horse is exceptional in every way! The cottages are charming and comfortable, and the view in every direction is breathtaking! There are rolling, flowered hillsides with hiking paths in all directions, animals of all kinds, and Linda and Brian make sure that you are aware of all the opportunities in the area. They are warm and helpful, and they were like family by the end of the week! They always seemed to have plenty of time to help us plan the day ahead and were genuinely interested in hearing about our adventures at day's end. They could not have been better hosts. The ambience in Allerford is over-the-top, with the colorful flowers along every street--growing on stone walls and climbing the sides of the homes--natural beauty at its best! Excursions to Dunster castle, to Lynmouth and Lynton, to the steam train station, to the Owl and Hawk Museum, to the local Allerford Museum--so many convenient side trips just minutes away--makes the Pack Horse a great choice for a holiday home base. We give it the highest possible recommendation! Keith Horne

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H
Pascagoula, Mississippi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed June 4, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

My family and I just returned from a week at the Pack Horse, and the experience far exceeded our expectations. We came from the United States to find an authentic experience in the West Country, and to ride horses on Exmoor. This place delivers! The aesthetics of the Pack Horse, the surrounding villages, and the scenic countryside is a "10" on a scale of 10; and Brian and Linda are simply delightful. When we left them, we felt like we were leaving home and dear friends. They helped us with side trips to various nearby villages, horse rides, hikes, restaurants, train rides, and much more. Better yet, they steered us away from activities that we would have found to be less fun. We are coming back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing