We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location with lovely hosts.”
Review of The Gables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gables
Ranked #6 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Just got back from a long weekend in Porlock. We stayed at the Gables which was a delight. After a long journey we were shown to our room by Sue. We stayed in Exford, it was a family ensuite, 1 double and two singles. It was perfect for our requirements. Sue then showed us the lounge, bringing us fresh coffee and tea.

The breakfasts were fantastic, we never needed to eat again all day afterwards. On Easter Sunday we came down to breakfast to find Sue had placed two chocolate bunnies for our children on our table. It was very thoughtful!

Porlock is a lovely location, it gives easy access to lots of family focused activities. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickymu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for The Gables
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

This is a beautiful, extended, cottage situated just off the main streets of Porlock. It is quiet and extremely comfortable. The breakfasts are delicious and everything beautifully presented. Sue Dennis is friendly and approachable, but not at all intrusive. There is everything for 'wet weather play', books, dvds, games, puzzles. A really lovely place to be.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed here in November last year and were very impressed with the personal service and attention to detail. We stayed in the cottage which was a delight and Sue was a charming and friendly hostess. Would not hesitate to return should we venture this way again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essex_couple26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We had a wonderful stay here; Sue was very welcoming with afternoon tea and biscuits, the breakfast was excellent, and the room was nicer than we imagined it would be.

Room Tip: Our room had a step-down into the bathroom; if you have any physical issues, you may want to request...
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oaklandash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I was really impressed with the personal service provided at the Gables, from arranging a bottle of wine in the room on Valentine's to suggestions of a nice place to eat in the evening. There were lots of nice touches such as tea and biscuits upon arrival. The room was lovely and the breakfast even better! Will definitely use again if we ever stay in Porlock again and have already recommended the Gables to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TommyJGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

It was my first weekend in Somerset and it was realy nice place, beautifull village,landscape,lot of places for walking,exellent food in Piggis restaurant.
It`s a perfect place for a weekend
The B&B, is exellent, only good things to say about it.Very kind owners and breakfast incredible.
Don´t mess around You have to go there, you won´t regret

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gustavo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Really comfortable B+B in the heart of Porlock. Amazing breakfast and friendly owners. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeardyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porlock hotels
0.1 km away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
180 reviews
0.2 km away
Overstream
Overstream
#5 of 18 in Porlock
155 reviews
0.2 km away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
197 reviews
0.1 km away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#2 of 18 in Porlock
293 reviews
0.4 km away
Glen Lodge
Glen Lodge
#8 of 18 in Porlock
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Address: The Gables Doverhay, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range: $100 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Grade2 listed Chocolate Box Thatched Cottage in the Exmoor National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Porlock, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing