We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch with family”
Review of Hunter's Lodge Inn

Hunter's Lodge Inn
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Wincanton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed August 21, 2017

Eight of us went for a great lunch at this venue , and it was very enjoyable. . Everyone thought the food was good . , and we all had something different. Only complaint was that the Zip Wire was not in operation, although it was actually advertised , so my grandkids were very disappointed as the rest of the play equipment was aimed at a younger age group.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malbain, Owner at Hunter's Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear that you all enjoyed your meal with us. Apologies that the zip-wire was out of action but an inspection in July showed too much movement / deflection of the posts when fully weighted (i.e with adults) and hence was deemed unsafe. I hope you can appreciate that we take our customers safety extremely seriously and would not have closed it if we didn't feel it necessary. A new zip wire is being installed over the winter, ready for the Spring. Hope to see you very soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 229 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile

Went with children aged 2 and 4 for lunch, staff were very welcoming took our order quickly. The children's menus with with colouring book and stickers kept the children busy while food arrived, food was good,with excellent selection of veg. Afterwards the children went a played in the playground which is amazing! Will 100% be going back next time we are in the area.

Thank Rachael Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malbain, Owner at Hunter's Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review. Look forward to seeing you again when your are next in the area. Regards The Hunters Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile

Four of us enjoyed a lovely lunch at Hunters Lodge Inn. My wife and I took 2 teenage offspring out for lunch to try to forget about the horrible wet weather. This worked really well until we headed back out into the rain. We did enjoy a great 2 hour respite though!!

Thank LizJohnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malbain, Owner at Hunter's Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review. It very nice to hear such positive praise. Look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2017

Excellent service. Very attentive staff and slick operation. Selection of 3 meats if wanted and ample veg and side sauces.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 259kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malbain, Owner at Hunter's Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch with us. Look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2017

Arrived at midday in the bar - welcomed by a cheerful young lady - no other customers in the bar. She took our orders for drinks and a young man brought those within a couple of minutes. My wife and I chose to have the beer battered cod with tatare sauce, chips and green salad leaves and he took our orders for food - it arrived within about 15 minutes - so far so good. However, the plates were stone cold. The beer-batter was limp - not crunchy, and the fish inside was grey and rubbery. The selection of green leaves looked as if they'd been round for a while. The young lady who had welcomed us first, asked us "if everything was alright" - we showed her what was on our plates and she agreed it was not acceptable. She offered us something else instead - but we had lost our appetite for any more food from the Hunter's Lodge Inn. We paid for our drinks and left - never to return !!!

3  Thank JerryD43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malbain, Owner at Hunter's Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Thank you very much for your review. I'm really sorry you did not rate your experience with us on this occasion. We have been having problems with the cod recently and have decided to discontinue until we can source a better product. I understand that you had your meals free of charge and believe the manager on Duty at the time dealt with your complaint in an efficient and professional manner. Im glad you thought the service was efficient and hope that you can look beyond this single food related issue to visit us again in the future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunter's Lodge Inn also viewed

 
Wincanton, Somerset
Wincanton, Somerset
 

Been to Hunter's Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing