We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“80th birthday lunch”
Review of Hunter's Lodge Inn

Hunter's Lodge Inn
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Wincanton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed August 4, 2018

13 of us met here for an 80th birthday lunch. For mid week, the restaurant wasn't especially busy, but the service and food were excellent. The wait staff were very attentive to our needs, the food was not and qell presented and drinks flowing. With a lot if catching up to do, it was very nice not to feel rushed (especially at the end of the meal).

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2011casUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 233 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2018

Went today at around midday. No real welcome and certainly no smile from young lady at bar although we appeared to be only customers at that time. Ordered from the Senior Menu which appeared to be good value - £9.95 for two courses. I had pate as main and friend had gammon. Pate was quite hard and quite dry and had to be sliced to go on the incredibly thin toast although fairly generous serve. Friend's gammon was a little tough. My salad was one cherry tomato cut in half with greenery and very thin sliced onion. They did redeem themselves slightly with the malteser sundae which was gorgeous but the main issue was the attitude of the young girl serving. We were well dressed, courteous and smiling but her attitude made us quite irritated. On walking to car realised she hadn't charged us for the soft drinks or coffees so we went back. Spoke to a nice young man who said thank you for returning to pay - the original waitress didn't even acknowledge we had the honesty to come back.
For the price the food was acceptable but the service of the waitress wasn't. I'm sure it was only a one off but it will make me stop and think about coming back. Sorry.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Oatlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2018

This is a fine eating place with a limited but good menu and special carvery on Tuesdays which is excellent value for money. They also offer a special price for seniors which adds to the attraction of well-cooked food and great service and surroundings. Perfect facilities for children with large outside space, childrens' playground and mega parking. We have never stayed overnight though being so local.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank peteru280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2018

This used to be a pretty decent pub / eating place. They have invested heavily in a play area for children and are clearly trying to recoup the outlay in food and drink. Sadly the standard of food seems to have really gone downhill. The cost of soft drinks is another way they are recouping ..charging £1 for a shot of cordial and blaming the sugar tax! They play area is great and it's a sure win with families in fine weather and that's why we frequent the place but I wouldn't eat here. There are better pubs by far in the area and if I didn't have kids I wouldn't come to Hunter's Lodge at all.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank minskyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

We ate here on Saturday afternoon as it’s essentially our local pub within 5 minutes drive from our house.

We won’t be back! The food was terrible my daughter had sausage, mash and beans from the child’s menu. The sausages were those cheap nasty chicken, beef pork deep fried things absolutely awful. In total I thought 5 sausages was excessive and would have much preferred two good quality sausages on a plate from the local town butcher. Mash potato was old/ grey and had far too much pepper for a child’s meal.

My chicken ceaser salad was swimming in water. Then chicken was precooked in some kind of orange herb mix. Garlic bread just oozes oil as you bite. Soggy croutons from the wet salad.

My husband had a burger that he said was pretty std.

Good sized play area looking tired in places and ground is very uneven at the top - requires attention.

When approaching the bar asking if we could eat the lady was like yeah just sit wherever and come back to order. Helpful having never been to the pub or aware of what type of seating was on offer.

Such a shame as would have used this a lot as it’s so close.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank thecountrytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunter's Lodge Inn also viewed

 
Wincanton, Somerset
Wincanton, Somerset
 

Been to Hunter's Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing