We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Straightforward good value pub fayre”
Review of The Wagtail

The Wagtail
Ranked #8 of 25 Restaurants in Wincanton
Price range: US$8 - US$14
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Relatively new pub and restaurant next door to the Travelodge hotel.
Pub does 2 for 1 on main meals, so you get the cheapest main free.
Good choice of beers. Worth going onto the Marstons website to register your email address on their mailing list and you can claim a free drink.
Basic pub fayre, plenty of choice, convenient for us as we were staying in the hotel next door.

Thank uk_travellerSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWagtail, Guest Relations Manager at The Wagtail, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit to us and hope you come back soon.

Thank you,
The Wagtail Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Managed to accommodate a large family after a little furniture moving. The staff were very nice and helpful. The food quality was ok, just the normal 2 for 1 pub chain grub.

Thank gareths1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWagtail, Guest Relations Manager at The Wagtail, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Thank you for your view. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to us.

Thank you,
The Wagtail Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Had just a main meal each. It was very busy but our food was still served quickly. We had a steak meal and a plaice and chips. Both meals were very nice and nice and hot. Staff were very busy but still maintained a positive and friendly attitude. On the down side, it was very busy and noisy with children who seemed very tired and wanted to go home. Husband was very pleased with the price!

Thank deanniajayne12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWagtail, Guest Relations Manager at The Wagtail, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your meals and visit to us.
We hope you visit again soon.

Thank you,
The Wagtail Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Called in for lunch when in the area. It wasn't at all busy. Staff friendly, nice decor and clean (including the ladies loo which was spotless). Very good menu choice on the "two for the price of one" and a varied specials option. Food very tasty, hot and most enjoyable. Good beer. Will definitely visit again if travelling through Wincanton. Recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JAC446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWagtail, Guest Relations Manager at The Wagtail, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you next time you're travelling through!

Thank you,
The Wagtail Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

We come here a lot... on the whole this place is reasonable to average, it's been consistent. However, today was a real let down. Tables left uncleared even with new guests arriving and having to sit at dirty tables. One poor couple stood at a table with the server stood next to them and not a single effort to clear the table or encourage them to stay.

Second girl who served us was a little abrupt and no effort to interact except do you want any sauces. However, to the young man on the next table she was virtually tripping over her jaw ... a flirtatious smile and banter. Clearly she's not keen on the older gentle folk.

2 meals were average and not tasty at all. The other was steak cooked as required.

I won't stop coming here but next time I will speak to a manager, who on this occasion was not visible.

2  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWagtail, Guest Relations Manager at The Wagtail, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we will be looking into some of the comments you have provided. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your latest visit, but glad that you are coming back to give us another try.

Thank you,
The Wagtail Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wagtail also viewed

 
Wincanton, Somerset
 
Wincanton, Somerset
Ilminster, Somerset
 

Been to The Wagtail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing