We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Food”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Winsford
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed October 30, 2017

After arriving in Winsford on Monday 23rd October we wondered to the Royal Oak but were unable to get a table. Not the most warm welcoming but it seemed like a busy Monday night and we are glad this did not put us of. We were then unable to get a table until the Thursday as it is obviously a popular choice and not a massive restaurant.
The menu choice was good and the food was lovely. Staff welcoming on return.
I had the Steak and Ale Pie, which was a good hearty pie and my partner and parents had a Mixed grill and two steaks. All delicious also.
We enjoyed the food so much we booked returned on the Friday night. Again couldn't fault the food. The pork belly and lamb shank dishes we can highly recommend.
Lovely traditional pub serving traditional pub food done well.

Top tip- Make sure you book a table.

If we are ever in the area we would return to this Pub.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank m922017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 205 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

Have wanted to stay in this ancient thatched pub for a very long time and finally got around to it! Not disappointed - stayed in a suite with a king size four-poster bed, huge bathroom and dressing room, all over-looking the beautiful village of Winsford. Nothing too much trouble and the place is spotless. Nice choice at breakfast and our own table reserved for dinner the previous evening. Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank jools3256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile

6 of us turned up early on a Friday evening having walked from our holiday let.

Admittedly we did not book, but the reception we received was not welcoming and we were told they could not even fit 2 of us in.

No "sorry we are fully booked" No "why not stay for a drink"

Just a bad atmosphere.

Seems strange as all of the locals we have met are really friendly.

We will not bother trying again today.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalOakWinsford, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2017

When a group of 6 turn up with 2 dogs and we are already full there is little we can do, despite being asked to request another table to vacate early.

We gave you several alternatives to try but we did point out that a group of 6 people with 2 dogs is not easy to accommodate when you are already full

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2017

We popped into the pub having just looked at a property to buy in the local area. I was very rudely told to remove my clean and empty dog bowl from one of the bar stools. I said the bowl was empty and put it on the table, when I was again rudely told, not asked, told to put it on the floor by the landlord. This mans rude unwelcoming attitude contributed to us not going forward with the purchase of the house. If he is representative of the community, we will look elsewhere.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Service
4  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalOakWinsford, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

We cannot allow dog bowls to be put on dining tables or dogs to lick tables that the rest of us eat from. We are dog owners ourselves and we are dog friendly, we draw the line at dogs licking tables, we insist that dogs are fed on the floor. We do not apologise for imposing this rule for the benefit of other people who rightly expect to be able to eat from tables that are not shared with dogs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017

We didn't eat only drank - very well worth a visit.

We didn't eat, as we were going on to meet friends.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Withypool, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 
Exford, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 
Wheddon Cross, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing