We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb cottage in a beautiful setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen Garden room/conservatory
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Kitchen
Garden room/conservatory
Living area
Kitchen island and dining area, perfect for chatting over a glass of wine while you cook
Woodburner
Master bedroom
Master en-suite
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 en-suite
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
View from garden towards the Punchbowl
View from garden over fields towards Winsford
Tarr Steps, a great place for a walk along the river Barle, followed by a cream tea
Rainbow on Dunkery Beacon, the highest point on Exmoor
The ancient packhorse bridge in Winsford, with village green and swings behind
The Royal Oak, Winsford's 12th century local pub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Winsford, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicolafer...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb cottage in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I and our friends with our three very young children between us (3, 1 and 3 months) stayed in Combe cottage for a week. It is really comfortable with excellent modern facilities and fantastic for children - complete with toys and games for various ages and a wonderful large garden to play in. There is so much to do and see on the doorstep or just a short drive away. We all had a fantastic holiday and highly recommend staying here.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison W
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Cottage We've ever stayed in”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Spent the week at Combe Cottage with our parents. The downstairs bedrooms were perfect for them, especially the one with the walk-in shower. My husband and myself made use of the upstairs single rooms which although obviously designed for kids in mind were more than large enough for us. they had great views across the valley and were light and presented very well and so great that we all had our own ensuite,
The kitchen was well equipped and there is no need to bring anything of your own. We cooked every night and had everything to hand. It was great being open plan as we could all still chat whilst cooking and share time together. The patio was perfect for sitting out for pre dinner drinks and as I think we had the best weather of the year we made full use of it. The views are beautiful and it it so quiet.There is a public footpath at the other side of the fence at the bottom of the garden and it was fun to pretend it was our own property when the walkers went past. (Don't let that out put you off, they are at a distance from the property and few and far between, totally non intrusive)
Our greyhound loved the large enclosed garden and we had no qualms about her safety or worries of neighbourhood cats strolling across. In fact Meg thought she was back on the race track and raced round the property and had real fun. It's the best space we have ever found for her.
There are some nice short or long walks near to the property and the pub in the village was very friendly. It does get busy and closes from 3pm to 6pm as they seem to cater more for diners than drinkers however there is a nice beer garden to sit in.
Bill is very friendly and helpful and made us welcome and is just down the road if needed.
Overall the best cottage we have ever stayed in and hope to return to in the future.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Thanks for your kind words. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope we will see you again sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane W
Louth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage for family's with children, and dogs.”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a wonderful week at Combe Cottage, we couldn't fault it. There was plenty of room for everyone, two lively boys under ten, four adults, and two dogs. The garden was great for the boys and secure for the dogs. Great pub in village, and a fish and chip van that came every Wednesday evening which I must say was very good. Bill and Chris were on hand , and we're very helpful. We will most definitely make a return visit sometime in the future.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb cottage set in wonderful landscape”
Reviewed March 8, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We spent several days in this cottage with extended family and we all loved it. We were two young couples, a child of four, and grandparents, and there was something for everyone. The cottage has been superbly renovated and everything was in excellent condition. It was a particular pleasure to cook in the well-equipped kitchen, to sit in the conservatory to enjoy the views across the hills, to enjoy the fire in the evenings and to sleep in the comfortable beds. Our daughter was also pleasantly surprised to find lots of kids games and books! Lovely countryside is literally on the doorstep and the village pub is a short walk down the hill. To sum it up, the cottage ticked every box for us and made for a great holiday. We would definitely like to book it again some time.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2015
Many thanks and we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine P
Lavenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We absolutely loved this house & would love to stay again!”
Reviewed December 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Having never stayed in Exmoor before, we were delighted with Combe Cottage. The house has been totally renovated and everything from the flooring to the bedding was in perfect condition. The fittings and equipment in the kitchen were fab, we are really foodies and it was a pleasure to stay in and cook in this property. The beds were really comfortable and the bathrooms were gorgeous. The views from the back of the house are incredible, the garden was a great size and totally dog proof which is vital for us! The village pub was great, there were lots of good places in the area to eat, the coast wasn't very far away and there are loads of great walks in the area. Combe Cottage was the best cottage we have stayed in for ages and we can't wait to back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gorgeous beds, beautiful bathrooms and lovely kitchen.
Liked least: There was a bit of a problem with flies in the house but the owners said this is only in the autumn.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2014
Thanks very much for your very kind comments. It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family to Combe Cottage and we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing