We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time ”
Review of Alton Towers

Alton Towers
Book In Advance
More Info
US$54.28*
and up
Alton Towers Resort Admission Ticket with Meal...
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Alton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Escape to the fantabulous world of the Alton Towers Resort - there's so much going on, the fun never stops! England's largest theme park offers 500 acres of attractions and rides the whole family can enjoy including X-Sector, Forbidden Valley, Dark Forest, Gloomy Wood, Katanga Canyon and CBeebies Land!
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

Visited Alton towers 2&3rd of April and had a brilliant time. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the rides were all fantastic. The new ride “wicker man” is a great addition to the park and worth a visit. We did have fast passes which I would definitely recommend, you can buy individual passes for specific rides if you have certain rides you’re determined to get on or a fast pass package to enable you to get on lots of rides. Although the fast passes are a further expense they are very very useful and can even double the amount of rides you get on.

Thank Review4u234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear Review4u234,

Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Resort on Trip Advisor.

It's refreshing to hear your honest opinion of our Theme Park and that you find it to be enjoyable and our Team's were friendly and helpful!

Your feedback greatly assists guests who are looking to visit our Resort in the future and also assists us in making sure we are offering the very best to our guests.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we hope to welcome you again very soon.

Best Wishes,

Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14,998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"theme park"
in 1,555 reviews
"cbeebies land"
in 1,238 reviews
"fast track tickets"
in 283 reviews
"big rides"
in 907 reviews
"sky ride"
in 291 reviews
"sonic spinball"
in 198 reviews
"nemesis sub terra"
in 247 reviews
"queue times"
in 581 reviews
"ice age"
in 272 reviews
"x sector"
in 131 reviews
"log flume"
in 448 reviews
"runaway train"
in 185 reviews
"free tickets"
in 171 reviews
"thorpe park"
in 293 reviews
"merlin pass"
in 155 reviews
"longest queue"
in 167 reviews
"main rides"
in 205 reviews
Filter

1,137 - 1,141 of 15,005 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018

A very very fun theme park, I would argue the best in England, the only competition is Thorpe park. I love all the rides here, not been since the new Wickerman ride opened but that looks very cool too! my favourite ride has to be Oblivian (a vertical drop rollercoaster) a few others which should be your first visits of the day are The Smiler, Air and Nemesis although all rides are good, very family friendly - there are rides for everyone from babies, to small children, to adults and thrillseekers, customer service is excellent, one time after putting money into a vending machine and the item not being released i talked to a member of staff who promptly took me into one of the many shops and let me take the item for free, no questions asked. another good feature is the all-day refills for any soft drink after the first purchase which is very worth it! I would advise going early in the morning on a work day not in the school holidays to avoid the huge ques due to the popularity of the place! and head to the biggest rides first, also parking is very expensive considering the price of admission other than that there is nothing bad to say about the place. cant wait to visit again.

Thank Lewis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear Lewisx1974,

Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Resort on Trip Advisor.

It's refreshing to hear your honest opinion of our Theme Park and that you find it to be enjoyable and we loved to hear that our Teams were helpful and friendly too!

Your feedback greatly assists guests who are looking to visit our Resort in the future and also assists us in making sure we are offering the very best to our guests.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we hope to welcome you again very soon.

Best Wishes,

Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

First time my wife and I have returned in many years This time we brought our young children.

Park was clean and staff very helpful Children enjoyed the rides they could get on.

Downside was the constant queuing. Some rides we didn't have the time to stand in a queue for 2 hours.To make the experience worse is fast track. Having to pay a significant amount more to queue jump (even though this is against the rules), on top of your entrance fee. Every where we went, there were game stalls, shops and machines wanting more money. Overall a very expensive visit.

1  Thank Janner31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear Janner31,

Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Resort on Trip Advisor.

We were sorry to hear that there were aspects of your visit that proved to cause issues throughout your day – Rest assured that we are very grateful for all feedback and will act upon such, as it allows us to ensure that we're delivering the most amazing experiences to every single guest who visits us.

Your comments have been duly noted and we will use your feedback to improve the guest experience as part of an ongoing review.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Wishes,

Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
35
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

So, me and my friends ventured off to Alton towers, expecting coaster heaven, especially considering I’m a huge enthusiast. My problems started from the very beginning of the day, as one of my group had a rugby injury, and couldn’t walk to the park, so the monorail was the only option. However, it didn’t open! There were no updates or announcements but to make a long story short, we arrived an hour before getting into the park. We made our way up to Nemesis, which, as usual, is just fantastic, definitely the best ride on park for me, and then Galactica, advertised at a 15 minute queue. The VR is not good, so we wanted to do it without, but it kept sending trains around with empty rows of people. When we got to the station, it turned out that these empty rows were because people wanted to ride with VR, and these rows had VR on!! So we had waited a lot longer than advertised for a ride we didn’t want, overall about 30 minutes. After lunch, we tried to go on the Smiler, advertised at 25 minutes. After a very slow moving queue. The ride decided to break down on us right at the top of the stairs. So, we were stuck in this tiny space, for a very long time, with no updates about what was going on. Not one, over this whole, hour period. We were in such a tight space we couldn’t have left, and the lack of announcements from a place like Alton towers was a real let down. Due to massive queues all day, as well as multiple rides being unavailable for the day, on and off, namely Wicker Man, the main attraction which we were coming for. This had at least a two hour wait, all day, which we were not prepared to wait for. As usual, the queue lowered, to 70 minutes at the end of the day, so we jumped into queue and began to wait. However, plot twist! We had come from a certain angle which meant we had actually gone into the disabled entrance, and not even noticed the actual entrance was around he corner. At 17:01, we asked the member of staff and explained the situation, but he still refused us, which I thought was a little out of order. Finally, I had to collect my season pass at the end of the day, where, despite a fair queue of people, Alton towers put one staff member on our counter. I was standing in this queue for over an hour, which, is truly ridiculous. Only at the end did they realise ‘Oh! Maybe we should put more people here, so we can all actually go home tonight!’ The rides shut at 17:00, we left Alton Towers at 18:45. I mean, really? I feel my birthday was possibly ruined because of some awful operations, admittedly, there was some rain, but not enough to temporarily shut rides down for lengths of time long enough to really take a bite out of our day. In terms of large coasters, which is what we came for, we only made it onto The Smiler (eventually), Galactica, Nemesis and Th13teen (with fastrack). And we only did two other rides on top of this. Even though we did have an awful day, I will always try to stand behind Alton towers, as it truly is a fantastic place normally, but it just wasn’t good on this day. I will be returning, having bought a season pass, and hope that the operations are far better, and we can finally ride Wicker Man!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Resort on Trip Advisor.

We were sorry to hear that there were aspects of your visit that proved to cause issues throughout your day – Rest assured that we are very grateful for all feedback and will act upon such, as it allows us to ensure that we're delivering the most amazing experiences to every single guest who visits us.

Your comments have been duly noted and we will use your feedback to improve the guest experience as part of an ongoing review.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Wishes,

Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

As a family we arrived at Alton towers on the 4/4/17 at around 11.30 so we had over five hours in the park and got on six rides, largely unable to get on the good stuff. having stopped for a quick lunch the rest of the day was walking from ride to ride often rides were closed and if not having queued for ages found fast trackers just walking straight onto rides and being given the best seats while we queued like peasants.we have to put up with two tier privilege in certain walks off life but at a theme park when we have already paid to enter, no thanks.alton towers do not care about their rank and file customers and they will kill the golden goose treating them this way.also it's a bit unedifying seeing children taken to the front of the ride queue's by parents what example does that set to young people about waiting your turn and sharing the load.the rides are pretty good but would not go again as you actually go to these places to get on them not watch others queue jumping while you wait for an hour.feel sorry for the staff can't be easy dealing with disappointed customers and not their fault the owners pack the park out.so if you do go be aware unless you shell out for fastrack tickets at up to £60 a throw you are strictly second class and Alton towers don't care.

5  Thank haydenbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear haydenbrad,

Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Resort on Trip Advisor.

We were sorry to hear that there were aspects of your visit that proved to cause issues throughout your day – Rest assured that we are very grateful for all feedback and will act upon such, as it allows us to ensure that we're delivering the most amazing experiences to every single guest who visits us.

Your comments have been duly noted and we will use your feedback to improve the guest experience as part of an ongoing review.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Wishes,

Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alton Towers also viewed

 
Alton, Staffordshire
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to Alton Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing