We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What has happened to Hoar Cross Hall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoar Cross
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What has happened to Hoar Cross Hall”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

This being our 5th visit in eighteen months we expected it to be the usual relaxing break that we have previously enjoyed but there was no comparison.
The standards of service have gone down dramatically and the menus has gone from a la carte to gastropub. We had to wait over an hour for our starters which came cold and then another 40 minutes before the main course came.
There has obviously been a dramatic cut in staff and the therapists were overworked thus resulting in our party having our treatments at 6pm, which was not ideal as my therapist was 20 mins late. Very sad to see the demise in what was a wonderful spa.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparesort2011, Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Hi Julie P,

We are very sorry to read that your recent spa break did not measure up to your expectations.

Your feedback is extremely important to us, and we really do take on board everything you say. All of your comments have been noted and passed on to the relevant departments.

We are continuously trying to improve the Hotel and Spa and would really love to welcome you back in the future to experience the recent improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    510
    384
    239
    159
See reviews for
323
632
62
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Spa facilities are fantastic, and the food was very high standard. These were the definite highlights of the visit and are the reasons that I would consider a return.
However, customer service was a big disappointment, which I was most surprised to find considering the * rating of the property.
Reception - arrival not at all welcoming. My first visit to hotel, and no explanation offered as to location of spa, restaurant, changing rooms, breakfast times - all which are surely basic details to inform guests. We were made to feel like an inconvenience from the start!
Restaurant - again poor service standard. Expecting 5* to get 2*, staff didn't even know what food they were bringing to the table. Again, basic stuff that you wouldn't expect a place like Hoar Cross to get so wrong.
Spa - my therapist was fab, very attentive and informative. However, another party member made to feel very uncomfortable when she arrived wearing a damp bathing costume. Being told 'you can't wear that', with no alternative offered was quite rude. Could have been overcome with a sign informing us at the spa reception prior to treatment to avoid embarrassment.
Final issue was when an item was left in the room after check out. Reception would not allow us to check the room as it had already been re-let. No one would even go to check on our behalf! After checking back at reception later, another staff member said the room WAS free and we could go and check ourselves. We ended up finding the camera wedged between the 2 single beds, making us wonder how well cleaned the rooms actually were!
The one staff member I HAVE to mention though is the porter (Tony I think). The only person who actually stopped to speak to me and ask how we were enjoying our time. Think other staff members need to take a leaf out of his book and acknowledge the clients - the reason they are there!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welshdix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparesort2011, Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Hi welshdix,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We have a very high standard of practice and pride ourselves on customer service; therefore we are very sorry to read that you left feeling disappointed. All the comments that you have made have been noted, are taken very seriously and will be passed on to our staff members.

We are continuously trying to improve all aspects of the Hotel and Spa and hope you join us again in the future to experience these changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

A friend and I went for a pamper day on Sunday (special offer), we arrived just after 9am.
On check-in you receive a card that can be scanned if you buy food/drinks, products or beauty treatments,so purchases will be on your bill at check-out and so will your products!
You are supplied with lovely heavy towelling robes and towels in your locker, if you dont take flip-flops you can buy slippers!
We did a Chi class which was lovely and relaxing at 10.am, then got changed and did a water aerobics class at 11.am it was fun! We generally went from different style wet rooms, saunas/steam rooms and the pools and jacuzzi, walked around in our robes for most of the day, there is a snooze room and a quiet room with massage chairs. we didnt go to the gym! There were other classes on like zumba & salsa. We even had our lunch in our robes like most people, you are given a dessigated time when you arrive for lunch, we had 3 courses and there was also a buffet if you could fit anymore in! The Hall grounds are lovely which you are free to walk or cycle round, there is also a golf drving range!
Overall we had a lovely day a nice treat!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne1967_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparesort2011, Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Hi Jayne1967_10,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We appreciate all of your kind comments and are pleased to read that you and your friend had a lovely day with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Overall very enjoyable but check in and out were long painful experiences. Only one staff member at each desk. The room, suite was superb, the food at lunch was far superior to the evening meal. Breakfast lacke a hot veggie option.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparesort2011, Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Hi David K,

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your experience with us. The comments you have made have been noted and passed on to the relevant departments. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hextable, UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

It was with trepidation that my friend and I made our way to Hoar Cross Hall for our 20 something visit. I had read some reviews and knew there had been some changes since our last visit and we did not like the sound of some of them. Over that last 15 years we have obviously seen other changes so we were all eyes on arrival. And yes there were indeed some small changes to the check-in process (positive because you get your treatment schedule straight away and so know where you need to be when), there were some material changes (walls painted and new flooring). Water in the rooms is now supplied in 500ml bottles, which you can slip into the pocket of your robe so you are never without water (all good so far). The lunch menu has changed - definately for the better - more selection - all fresh and beautifully displayed and of course because it is a buffet you are free to eat as little or as much as you choose. And a choice of pud at lunch should you wish to indulge. The menu in the evening has been considerably slimmed down, but is still delicious and healthy and the option to have a drink before dinner in the bar and wine with dinner is still available. I indulged in some wonderful treatments - hot stone massage, reflexology, a signature massage (90 mins of bliss) and some facials too and thoroughly enjoyed every single one of them.

So far so good But there are a couple of things we noticed. The service in the restaurant one evening was very slow for some people (although we personally were not affected). There was a premiership football team staying in the hotel (mmmm - bonus for us ladies!) and they were dining in the private dining room and half the waiting staff had apparently been taken off to serve them thus leaving the main dining room short. Not great planning really. However as usual, the staff were without exception all welcoming, charming and chatty and smiling, especially Jess :-))

The other 2 moans are - please please please can we have the tea and coffee back in the long gallery and out of the "quiet room". The long gallery used to be busy and the place to go for a chat and a cuppa and we miss it. The "quiet room" needs to be just that - no cups rattling, no endless chatter - just the opportunity to snuggle on a sofa and soak up the peace.

And a plea to the Joynes family - whilst we appreciate that conferences are an essential part of your business we, the guests who are loyal to you year after year, do not like them. It is most uncomfortable for us to be roaming about in robes whilst there are "suits, short skirts and stilletos" taking over the long gallery talking business. It feels to us like a clash of two worlds and a world that we are paying to escape for a few days. Have conferences, but during the day keep them away from areas of the hotel where guests are relaxing please.

So are we going back? Yes, yes, yes - planning my treatments already - and looking forward to stepping through the front door of my little slice of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alip2264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparesort2011, Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Hi Alip2264,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your feedback is extremely important to us, and we really do take on board everything you say.
Unfortunately, as you may be aware, the rooms in which conferences are held are located just of the Long Gallery. Conference guests are also free to use our spa facilities after their meetings.
So you are aware for your next visit, you are more than welcome to enjoy your tea and coffee in the Long Gallery. We agree with you that the Long Gallery is the perfect place for a ‘chat and a cuppa’. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

My friend and I have just returned from a 3 day break at Hoar Cross, our 18th visit, will we be going again? YES YES YES.

The staff as always were welcoming and helpfuland the rooms immaculate. I fail to understand a previous reviewer who complained about 'the outdated TV's', who goes on a Spa break to watch television? I can do that at home!

The building itself is steeped in history which adds to its charm, if customers prefer chome and glass then may be an ancestroral home is not the place for them, both the inside of the hall and its gardens are beautifully kept and there is constant updating work going on, both the Oasis dining room and the Slumber lounge have reently been refurbished to a very high standard.

My only advice to future visitors would be to arrange treatments in advance, they will receive a leaflet on what is available with their reservation confirmation and it is worth phoning and booking in advance to save disappointment

Room Tip: We favour the rooms overlooking the grounds to the rear of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feline01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparesort2011, Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Hi Feline01,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and would love to return. We are also pleased to say that we have made improvements to ensure the whole lunchtime experience is much smoother and more enjoyable for our guests. This includes the minor changes that you have mentioned such as indicating what dishes are on the lunch buffet, vegetarian option etc. We hope to welcome you back in the near future so that you can experience these changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Lovely hotel BUT
The Porter needs to take a how to be nice to the customers course
One of the therapists who i had a facial with was so rude, i certainly would avoid her again!
The food - breakfast and lunch lovely, evening meal was very poor rate. Service was shocking the staff were not attentive and were standing around looking bored.
The room overall was good apart from the shower was either freezing or scalding hot.
All in all avery disapointed person!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparesort2011, Manager at Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Hi Claire A,

As a business we have a very high standard of practice and pride ourselves on customer service; therefore we are very sorry that you left feeling disappointed. We take all comments into careful consideration and these will certainly be passed on to our staff members. If you would like to discuss your feedback in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact us directly and one of our duty managers will be delighted to speak with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoar Cross
4.2 km away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
8.6 km away
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draycott in the Clay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
28.3 km away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 km away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
38.5 km away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
16.1 km away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel

Property: Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel
Address: Maker Lane, Hoar Cross DE13 8QS, England (Formerly Hoar Cross Hall Health Spa Resort)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Hoar Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoar Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautifully restored Grade II listed building. We Combine the pleasures of staying in an elegant English Stately Home with the facilities of a modern luxury spa resort, you'll be able to enjoy superb surroundings, fine dining and beautiful bedrooms suites and penthouses. Hidden away in 80 acres of English countryside, the spacious grounds have lakes and wildlife in abundance. Make use of the Tennis Courts, Golf course Practice Area & Driving range. We offer a variety of mouth-watering dishes and a host of therapies to wash away the stresses of everyday life. Treat yourself to a coffee or a slice of cake in the Oasis Cafe. We pride ourselves on our outstanding hospitality, so relax and let our dedicated staff take care of you. Winner of England's Leading Resort at the World Travel Awards for 7 consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, LateRooms and Expedia so you can book your Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoar Cross Hall Health Hotel Hoar Cross
Hoar Cross Hall Health Resort
Cross Hall Hoar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing