We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
30
11
5
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
11
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washington room spread eagle tavern overnight stay butternut squash ravioli ohio
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 53 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2015

My first time dining at the Spread Eagle Tavern did not disappoint. The staff was professional and accommodating, the historic ambiance embraces you from the moment you step in the door, the food was superb. Several separate rooms, hand-hewed beams, large fireplaces complete the colonial charm and makes it an entire dining experience. We enjoyed drinks in the parlor, excellent prime rib, and the crème brulee was probably the best I've ever had. Well dome, Spread Eagle..and thank you for a memorable mother's day!

Room Tip: Reservations a good idea
Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank chendabrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 24, 2014

We traveled to Hanoverton and spent a night in the Lincoln Suite. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The suite is very cozy and includes a large bathroom with copper accessories, a claw foot tub with old fashioned shower ring. Dinner in the restaurant was outstanding and very romantic close to one of their many operating fireplaces. The breakfast the next morning was homemade and excellent. While there we discovered a newer little winery about ten miles away, which also added to the trip, as there is not really anything else to do in the Hanoverton area.

Room Tip: The Lincoln suite is up on the second floor. There is a group dining room across the hall, so there is noise until 8 PM or a littler later.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 19, 2014

We love "the Tavern" as many locals call it. We have reservations for Thanksgiving, as we do every year. The atmosphere is cozy yet you never feel cramped. The servers are all helpful and courteous and ever so efficient. The food is always great. The hardest decision is which luscious dessert to have!

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Deb44431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight in the Lincoln room. Comfortable four poster bed, claw foot tub, home made cookies in our room.
Dinner in the dining room was outstanding; the best meal I have had anywhere! We had a table in front of one of the fireplaces, very romantic. Our waitress made wonderful suggestions. We plan on going back for lunch sometime soon!

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KW44223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2014

This is an excellent choice and well worth the drive to get there. Wonderful atmosphere, a lot of history and excellent food and service. Two fireplaces going when it cold out. Plymouth street has other historic buildings and houses, many occupied by home owners. Plan on spending some time there to look over all the photos, relics, furnishing, etc. on 4 floors. The tops floors could be closed off if someone is spending the night. That is the Inn part.

All in all its a charming and historical experience rolled up into one with great food to boot! We travel 1 hr and 15 min to get there, and go down at least twice a year.

Its an adventure and well worth including in your travel plan.

Room Tip: Depends on size of room needed and what part of history you would like to experience. One room Abraham Lincoln stayed in.
Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Gisele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews