We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
30
9
5
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
9
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashington roomspread eagle tavernovernight staybutternut squash ravioliohio
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 51 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2016

There were eight of us for dinner and we had booked a separate room which turned out to be an excellent idea. Service was fast and friendly, a notable feature being that the servers did not have to ask who had chosen what to eat; they knew. The large table was laid out in a very attractive way and the napkins were linen. Drinks orders were swiftly taken and delivered.
The menu, although allegedly restricted for Mothers' Day, was quite extensive and provided a wide choice for the wide range of ages in our group. The starters included shrimps cocktail, salads and a trio of hummus; all were very good.
The Alaskan cod and the salmon were both excellent as main courses as was the Virginian ham with mashed potatoes and seasonal vegetables. The pork chop was huge (three chops) but a little dry and the vegetable lasagne was also substantial and very good.
For desserts we had an eclectic selection from strawberry tart to creme brûlée, apple crisp to bread and butter pudding, washed down with an endless supply of Americano coffee.
This was a thoroughly satisfying meal, different from many "fine dining" establishments where one often leaves hungry. The helpings were large, well cooked and well presented in an enchanting period house.
We will no doubt return.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgsnorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2016

nothing like this fine place around! Its a high end with great historical value and can even stay the night! We always take customers here and its perfect with fireplaces for the winter! Feels like Charles dickens era!

Stayed: March 2016
Thank quakerSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2016 via mobile

A historic fine dining establishment in Ohio, an eclectic menu that offers a wide variety but limited seafood options. The stuffed pepper appetizer was off the hook good! The restaurant is in an historic 1800 wondering home filled with memorabilia and stunning old world architecture. Really a neat experience, almost every room has a fireplace that is blazing! Done here with confidence. Worth driving an hour or two for a visit!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
Thank opm4are
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2016 via mobile

Outstanding historic 1830's? B&B with a fine dining experience and an ultra-friendly & accomodating staff. We went with friends for a Saturday lunch. We were welcomed to tour the entire facility as there were no guests that day. Just a beautiful old, unique building. Lunch menu was @ $15 plate. Outstanding selection was very elegantly presented. The chicken and butternut squash ravioli dish was phenominal and quite a large portion. I had apple crisp which was very hearty. My wife wasn't as impressed with the creme brulee but ate ever bit of it. 2 soft drinks and out the door for $50 + tip. This is a must see in my opinion.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SeaFarmerOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile

As always the food and service were excellent. I always enjoy coming here for special occasions. The scallops were the best I have had in a long time. Highly recommended to anyone looking to have a nice dinner with plenty of atmosphere. Never rushed and always excellent

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Thank RidgeRunner35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews