We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
31
11
5
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
11
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spread eagle tavern washington room guest rooms overnight stay butternut squash ravioli politicians ohio politically
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 54 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2016

We celebrated our 51st wedding anniversary at the restaurant only and had an excellent dinner and dessert! The atmosphere was quiet and relaxing and our server Heidi was great. We came because of a recommendation from friends and wish we could have spent more time to really explore the history, but had another commitment. We plan to return soon!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank pammy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile

wonderful historic Republican site with marvellous meal options. Had the cod and Parmesan risotto. The berry pie was tasty and flavorful. Had to ask for a coffee refill 4x, otherwise would have been a 5 star experience.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank I8796GBbruceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2016

Betcha you're gonna have to use your phone navigator to find this one, but it's worth it. Especially if you happen to be down to Rogers Farmers Market or Shaker Woods.
A very old operating Inn that is perfectly restored that has a great restaurant. Excellent food in a casual atmosphere away from the bustling crowds. Good place to invest a few hours in a libation (drinkie-poo) and fresh, well-prepared food at a reasonable price. Actually, I recommend quite a few libation events, followed by a comfortable evening in one of the historic rooms at the Inn, but that's just me.
This can be the venue for a relaxing lunch, formal dinner, short weekend away, illicit affair or special event like a wedding or divorce (reference illicit affair, above). The Inn can handle all of this, and even has a restored residence available for small groups. All at a reasonable price.
Casual dining (evenings are a bit more formal), great for families with children. Vast menu with all homemade foods, great soups. Aw, just go....you're gonna like it.....

Room Tip: The higher up you go, the more expensive the rooms are. ALL the rooms are really great.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2016

There were eight of us for dinner and we had booked a separate room which turned out to be an excellent idea. Service was fast and friendly, a notable feature being that the servers did not have to ask who had chosen what to eat; they knew. The large table was laid out in a very attractive way and the napkins were linen. Drinks orders were swiftly taken and delivered.
The menu, although allegedly restricted for Mothers' Day, was quite extensive and provided a wide choice for the wide range of ages in our group. The starters included shrimps cocktail, salads and a trio of hummus; all were very good.
The Alaskan cod and the salmon were both excellent as main courses as was the Virginian ham with mashed potatoes and seasonal vegetables. The pork chop was huge (three chops) but a little dry and the vegetable lasagne was also substantial and very good.
For desserts we had an eclectic selection from strawberry tart to creme brûlée, apple crisp to bread and butter pudding, washed down with an endless supply of Americano coffee.
This was a thoroughly satisfying meal, different from many "fine dining" establishments where one often leaves hungry. The helpings were large, well cooked and well presented in an enchanting period house.
We will no doubt return.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgsnorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2016

nothing like this fine place around! Its a high end with great historical value and can even stay the night! We always take customers here and its perfect with fireplaces for the winter! Feels like Charles dickens era!

Stayed: March 2016
Thank quakerSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews