We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
30
9
5
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
9
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashington roomspread eagle tavernovernight staybutternut squash ravioliohio
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 51 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile

We had to notify Spread Eagle 48 hours ahead of time of our group number and we were offered a limited menu. When we arrived at Noon we were quickly seated and then we waited to order. Then we toured around this beautiful Tavern. Then we returned to our tables and waited ANOTHER HOUR AND 30 minutes for our food to arrive. It was served in stages. Soup was served to those that ordered soup, then 20-25 minutes later the salad and Tavern burgers were served. Minus the tomatoes and lettuce. Then the Thai chicken wraps were served 25 minutes later. Then the Open face roast beef sandwich was served 15 minutes after that. One gentleman waited this whole time and NEVER got his burger until everyone was standing up and waiting for our bills. The manager had put our whole group's orders on ONE bill. Even after being told it was to be on separate checks. We had to wait an additional 10-15 minutes for our bills and then the Tavern had the nerve to ADD a 20 percent tip to each bill. Needless to say..I know why this place has been open for so long...the original customer s are still there, waiting for their food and bills. Will definitely NOT RETURN OR RECOMMEND!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2017

We were there for lunch today. The air and the music was blasting. They eventually turned down the music, but we never did feel comfortable with the air.
I ordered a burger, medium. It came very well done and charred on the outside. Twice the waiter came to the table while we were waiting for our food, it took unnecessary about of time, but not once did he return to ask about our food. He did show up to bus the table and said, "oh, I'm sorry". He then took our dishes in his hands, stood there with the dirty dishes and asked if we would like dessert. Maybe, someone should suggest he clear the table, leave with the dirty dishes, give the customer a minute to digest the terrible burger, then ask about dessert.
This is the second trip this month and I won't bother traveling the distance, again.
We were so happy to be out of there and into the hot humid air.
If they turned down the air, we may have had a glass of wine before lunch and dessert. My shaw didn't even keep me warm!!

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Venice2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2017 via mobile

Local Ohio friends brought us here for the historical aspect of the area and buildings. We had a delicious lunch and then wandered through the Inn/tavern. Be sure to ask questions of the staff if they are not busy. The walls have pictures of prominent politicians and other forefathers of the area. The basement bar was intriguing, with we were there later in the day to hangout and enjoy our favorite adult beverages.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2017 via mobile

Great Place! If you are interested in going back in time and learn about history, it is the place to have dinner and spend the night then! Food was tasty and well prepared and staff was very attentive and friendly. We roamed the tavern until 2am and spent the night in the supposedly haunted Jefferson room. No ghostly encounters but great experience. We will be back for sure!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Fabien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2017

The food portions were skimpy and tasteless and overpriced for what it was. The service was mediocre except for the water boy. It was an overall very disappointing for the expectation we had as a Book Club, especially for the first timers in the group. The one positive was the setting, like stepping back in time.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ellentd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews