We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
The Green Man(Dunchurch)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$60
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$62
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Rugby Central(Rugby)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$54
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (601)
Filter reviews
601 results
Traveller rating
177
116
144
92
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
116
144
92
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venuemaster of ceremonieschristmas partybeautiful groundswedding coordinatorwedding breakfastironing boardgarden roombuffet styleovernight stayhis teamfrom start to finishmarqueehalleventpipercatering
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 601 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2018 via mobile

Room needs updating and redecorating badly. Very dusty.
Couldn’t use the bath because the enamel was off in a lot of places. Very abrasive and a Breeding place for Bacteria.
Had to stand on a chair to open a very small window in the bedroom area.
The actual duvet inside the cover was disgusting. Very grubby.
Breakfast was not good at all. Fried eggs were piled up top of each other in a bowl about 5 layers and all were broken and messy.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
2  Thank calpol1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2018

My partner and I stayed here recently for a wedding. Everything about the wedding was delightful and the grounds and original building are absolutely stunning. However, what the pictures don't show you is that the majority of the rooms are in another building that looks like it was built in the 60s. This building has no character and the rooms don't look like they've been refurbished since the 60s! Our booking confirmation promised a duck-down duvet, a pillow topped mattress and free bottled water. We didn't get any of that. We couldn't even drink water from the bathroom tap because it was hot, even when turned to cold. The mattress was so old and rock hard. When we arrived, it was around 25 degrees outside and the radiator, despite being turned to 0, still had heat emitting from it and there is no air con in the room. The bathroom was also dirty with hairs all over the floor. Overall, the rooms were incredibly dated and in desperate need of re-decorating. On the night we stayed, there was also extremely loud music playing from a room below us until gone 3am, when I finally decided to complain to reception. They took well over half an hour to address the issue. I have never had such a bad sleep in a hotel in all my life. Such a disappointing stay because I really think so much could be done with his hotel, as the location is absolutely glorious.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Aliceea2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M, General Manager at Dunchurch Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2018

Dear eleanoraston,

It is with regret that I read about your issue with your room. Our rooms are located opposite the main house as described in our literature. We do provide duck down duvets and mineral water on request. I am shocked to hear that your bathroom was found not to be fully cleaned. I am investigating this to find out the reason.
We have a 24hr manned reception phone to deal with any guest issues through the night. I can only apologise for the fact that the night staff took longer than expected to resolve the issue with the noisy guest below you.

SM
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2018

Lucky we didn't bring a cat you wouldn't be able to swing it! Small tired rooms in a building resembling a barracks.Food was disappointing.The owners need to spend some money on rooms and the general air of not wanting to stay another night.The grounds however were delight !

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M, General Manager at Dunchurch Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2018

Dear Keith L,

We have a selection of rooms that vary in size from single to junior suites. I am sorry to hear that you felt our food offering was disappointing. We generally get very good feedback on all our food. If you were dissatisfied we would have tried our best to offer you an alternative.

SM
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2018 via mobile

This has to be one of the worst nights sleep we have had at any hotel we have stayed in! The mattress, what there was of it, was so uncomfortable, you could feel the springs every time you moved, was aching from head to foot and feeling very tired. The radiator in the room was scalding hot, there had to be a problem with it as it couldn’t be turned down, had to keep getting up to splash cold water on myself just to try to cool down (I say cold water, it was actually warm water in the cold tap). At one point, we were contemplating going to the car park to sleep in the car!

As for the room, this was not good for the price paid! Very small with a bed, a stool and something that they have tried to make look like a desk, which is where the kettle is. No wardrobe, just 4 coat hangers hanging underneath a shelf.

The bathroom was nice though.

Overall, poor quality, very poor value for money. Won’t be coming back.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lindamason1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M, General Manager at Dunchurch Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2018

Dear Lindamason1959,

It is with regret that I read of your experience with the heating in your room. We do try to action issues at the time and I am sure that the team would have been more than happy to have moved you if you felt that the bed was not comfortable enough for you.

We are priced below our local competitors. If you could contact me directly to advise which room you stayed in I will endeavor to rectify these issues immediately.

SM
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2018 via mobile

The hotel grounds are beautiful, nice and quiet location, not to far from the centre of Dunchurch, probably a 10 minute walk.
When you walk in to reception, you are greeted with a modern looking area, which sets a false precedence for the rest of the hotel. The Rochmond court rooms are very dated and in need of modernisation, the TVs are tiny, there is no wardrobe, just a small hanging area, which isn’t ideal depending on how much clothing you have. The coffee making facilities are on a very small area. There are four plug sockets available in the room, no of which are in a good location for charging and using mobile devices. There is no bedside table on one side of the bed, making use of the room limited. Bathrooms are also very outdated and although functional have a very 80’s feel.
This hotel has the potential to be so much more but appears to be stuck in the past.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank LemonandLime19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M, General Manager at Dunchurch Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2018

Dear Lemonand Lime19,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. We have various room categories which are all priced below the hotels in the local area. If you would like to return to experience some of our higher category rooms then please feel free to contact me directly.

SM
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews