We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cabanas La Joya de Yelapa
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Lagunita(Yelapa)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$66/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Casa Iguana(Mismaloya)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$58
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$263
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$470
US$193
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Mousai(Puerto Vallarta)
US$367
US$320
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Costa Sur Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$356
US$299
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveller rating
2
1
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
1
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2015

We stayed here the first week of February 2015. The beds were comfortable with mosquito netting which was helpful as bugs are plentiful in Yelapa. The garden area between the four palapa's was paradise and provided a lovely place to sit and enjoy the surroundings. Jerry, the lady who runs LaJoya always had coffee ready for us in the morning. She was fantastic and we all loved her. She provided advice on where to go and how to enjoy all Yelapa has to offer. She is well connected in the village and it is clear why people love her. Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper as you will hear roosters and other animals that live close by as well as ATV's. We came for the birthday of a dear friend whose mother is a long time resident of Yelapa. We loved the fact that it was not your typical resort type vacation. There are roosters, burro's, a pig, many friendly dogs, a rabbit, cats, beautiful birds all within close proximity. The people are friendly, the food and margarita's were all awesome and the beach was as beautiful as the pictures show it to be. If you're looking for a pristine resort where you are separated from the people, don't come here. If you are looking for an experience where you live among the people, like to be somewhat off the beaten path, love to be immersed in the lush tropical forests and beautiful beach, then Yelapa is for you. Jerry and La Joya were the best part of our time here and we hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: All the palapa's looked nice. They are however a little rustic with somewhat primitive plumbing.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank monetsPortlandOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2013

La Joya de Yelapa is now run by two wonderful women .. transplants from Canada.. who went out of their way to make me feel at home.. and nice change after spending my first night at Lagunita which was run down and over priced. The casitas here are clean and freshly decorated with crisp white walls and brightly colored bed spreads. The bathroom had new bright blue tiles. The kitchen fully equiped. I always felt welcome on the shared patio area that is equiped with umbrellas, deck chairs and is a good play area for young children. There is a safe place to lock valueables, but the room has a secure lock on the door and is behind a locked gate. Although there is no view, La Joya is just steps from the main beach. It is true , there are annoying roosters who compete with eachother throughout the early hours, but ear plugs are provided and I am sure if I stayed long enough, i would have gotten used to it. It is part of the Yelapa experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ninja1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Cabanas La Joya de Yelapa for the last few days of our two week trip. Yelapa itself was absolutely gorgeous, and was our favourite place of all the places we had been to. This lodging was fine, but as the other review points out, very rustic. Also very dark. We felt a bit like we were staying in a barn, because of the constant roosters, donkeys, dogs making noise for most of the night. The room includes a small kitchen area which we didn't really use, except for the coffee maker. The courtyard area is very pretty with lush tropical plantings to increase privacy.
To be fair, it was clean enough, well managed and certainly not expensive, but I know there are less expensive places to stay in Yelapa, with better amenities. However, Roberto, the owner, was very pleasant and helpful.
All in all I don't really have any complaints about the place. Just be prepared to go rustic. And it's not on the beach. It's close to the beach, but it is actually in behind a store down a little road.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dsnewtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights in Feb. 2008. The cabanas from the outside look charming with thatched roofs and the grounds are well-kept with lush greenery and are located right off of the main beach. They are open-air cabanas, meaning there are no glass windows so there are many open air entry points throughout the cabanas - several points above the roof, flooring, windows, etc. Bugs didn't seem to be too much of a problem but we did run into the occasional spider during our stay and I woke up with several bug bites (mosquitos I am assuming). Bring bug spray!

Inside, the cabanas are pretty dark - if you open the shutters, the privacy factor is cut down considerably even though there is foliage growing around each cabana. Room are basic but seemed to be in pretty good shape. Plumbing and water supply are a little antiquated so don't expect a hard pressure shower while here.

Also, because the cabanas have no noise insulation from the outside world we were awoken several times each night to the sounds of roosters crowing (yes they do crow at 2:00am, not just at dawn) and many dogs barking. Our cabana was located on the side near a main "road" and again, were awakened to the sounds of 4-wheelers driving up and down the trail both nights. Luckily, I always bring along earplugs while traveling so that helped somewhat.

Roberto, one of the "innkeepers" for lack of a better word, was most helpful and greeted us as we got off the water taxi and carried my luggage from the beach to the cabanas. He was friendly and helpful thoughout our stay.

Good location and great price but again, just be prepared to go rustic if you stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SLKeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews