We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It's rustic and not anything like PV”
other travellers have booked this property
our casa on the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
our casa on the beach
private pathway and sea kayaks beach chairs on deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
our casa on the beach
private pathway and sea kayaks
beach chairs on deck
loungers and hammock on seaward deck
seaward deck
view from deck looking left
view from deck looking right
queen four poster bed
bed looks straight out onto the ocean
pirata on the left, restaurant on right
los chonchos
shutters throughout
kitchen area
lounge area
outdoor dining
private pathway to the beach
roof
courtyard bathroom
bathroom
surf's up !
our third and longest beach
third beach
restaurant
getting here
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Beach Rental -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yelapa, Costalegre

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris K
1 review
“It's rustic and not anything like PV”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is how a trip to Mexico should be. Its wild and rustic, beautiful and relaxing. You need to plan for food with nothing close for groceries but the short 40 minute hike to Chimo has everything that you really need. In Los Chonchos, no one is trying to sell you jewelry, or time shares or whatever else they might think you need. This place is a Gem! This place is glamour camping at its best. Mike has done a great job of stocking the the hut with coffee press, hand crank blender, sharp knifes, dishes etc. If you don't truly love nature stay in PV.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onemainma...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Magical place to relax and unwind away from MX noise .”
Reviewed 9 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Beauty beaches great functional palapa with no issues with any services . Quiet and even to send e mail to parents from SE corner of deck. Off Grid living at its finest . Crashing waves and special skywatching at night right from your comfy mosquito- netted bed.
Magical experience : Mike was great in providing all the information for my stay and super pleasant to deal with . Pricey for us poor Canadians with the dollar the way it is these days but it's only money isn't it (?)
I will be returning next year as Mike said they give 20 per off for returning guests. That will help. Los Chonchos is Special.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2017
thank you so much Stephen - glad you had such a good time there ! Yes, it's a very special kind of place, a bit too back-to-nature for some, but I've never found anywhere quite like it in the world and can't wait to get back ! And do come back anytime, you're so welcome :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron N
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect Escape From Worldly Cares”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Los Chonchos is a tropical paradise--a place that reminded me of childhood dreams of running away from home, stowing aboard a schooner, being shipwrecked and washing up on a secluded and pristine sandy beach with the jungle and fluted mountains rising behind it. You can tell I needed a vacation and a stay at Mike and Lara's beautiful and serene traditional Mexican palapa, tucked into the jungle and only steps from the first of three amazing secluded beaches met all my hopes and expectations for a perfect getaway. I swam, kayaked, snorkled in clear, warm green-hued water, and walked along beautiful sandy beaches where the only footprints were mine. I got to know a community of wonderful, welcoming owners who quickly became friends, invited me to dinner gatherings and shared life stories and experiences of Los Chonchos. There were wonderful and helpful people from the village of Chimo who met our water taxi and took my bags from the boat and carried them to Casa de Pirata--thank you Chileno and Ruben. Chileno's quick hand kept me from tumbling into the surf. The town of Chimo is a delight--wonderful meals at Antonio's and Arturo's. Evenings were special--I had downloaded Mexican music and listening to music, while enjoying a night cap and lying in a hammock, hearing the surf and watching the full moon rise was magical. You can be as private and as social as you want at Los Chonchos but you will be drawn into the natural rhythyms of the place. Conversation slows down and becomes more meaningful when you sit on a beach gazing out at the water you have just been snorkling on and as the whales come by you get a sense of what it feels like to be part of something beyond our human self-interests. You remember again what it is to be humbled, nurtured and sustained by by natures beauty and 'bounty'. Mike (the owner of Casa de Pirata) was incredibly helpful in the preparations for my journey and stay. Thank you to him and Lara, Mike's daughter for sharing, not just their palapa, but their love of Los Chonchos. My only regret was leaving--my stay was far too short. But I am already planning my return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful part of Mexico. Mike, the owner, is very helpful, attentive and responsive to emails. Wonderful!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2016
yes, Los Chonchos is fantastic - agree totally - so glad you liked it Harriet and Max - come again ! warmest, mike and lara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$128
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing