We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,783)
Filter reviews
1,785 results
Traveller rating
414
684
418
160
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
414
684
418
160
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviews classic room old world charm cave tour blue lake the main house open fire chisolms restaurant platypus kangaroos ensuite australia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,785 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2021

The reason I gave this poor rating is because of our recent visit.
Firstly we did a fantastic tour to the Lucas Cave and thoroughly recommend this tour, however how quickly it faded when we got to our room. We booked directly through the hotel so no other agent was included, I would like to make that perfectly clear... Our room on the 2nd floor was spacious and the bed quite comfortable, and that’s when it got digressed. The room had wallpaper peeling off the wall and was tried to be hidden by a dressing table, a part of the carpet had been cut away and floor boards exposed, bathroom was showing paintwork that had been rubbed down and not completed, plus new woodwork had replaced and unpainted, and the vanity unit was in need of repair, this to me was neglected work, yes the hotel is old, I get that, but neglectful no way. During Covid times we decided to go to the lounge for a predinner drink, empty glasses and tables not wiped this is unacceptable..... dinner was disappointing and quite expensive, sorry we won’t be back, and to top it off we found out that the building is government owned !!!! Really
I do have photos to prove my disappointment, however unfortunately cannot attach, I’ve since been trying to contact the hotel to no avail....

Room tip: Try and check your room first
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wendybroderick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager, Other at Jenolan Caves House, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2021

Dear wendybroderick,

Greetings from the Jenolan Caves House!

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are working with various Govt agencies to upgrade our existing facilities and the aging heritage infrastructure. The building has leakages, has ventilation issues, it has carpets that were put in around in-room sinks/ furniture that doesn't exist etc. Our Maintenance team is working on the issues which have been compounded by Fires and Floods from 2020. We apologise for the bad experience you have had and really hope that you were able to see past the bad paint behind a drawer, or torn wallpaper at Jenolan. There is wonderful heritage, caves (as you mentioned) and some wonderful artworks spread around the hotel.
We are in the process of uplifting the infrastructure of the place with the nearly $19.5 million grant that has been received from the NSW Govt. It is going to be a slow process but a really essential one as the damages in the building need structural changes and not just a paint over.

Your feedback is welcome and would definitely be considered during the upgrades planning. Please share your videos and photos with us at hotel.manager@jenolancaves.org.au.

Hope to see you post the upgrades at Jenolan.

Be safe,

Jenolan Caves Reserve Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2021 via mobile

This property is a historical gem that goes back to the opening of the caves to the public. Yes it is dated and showing some signs of needing a bit of love but for an overnight stay it was perfect. Great shower with fantastic water pressure and a very comfortable king size bed. Plenty of power points for recharging the myriad of devices and tea and coffee making facilities. A bar fridge would have been nice and the lack of a tv was fantastic. If you don’t set your expectations to 10 it is a great place to overnight and definitely full of old world charm.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager, Other at Jenolan Caves House, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2021

Dear Tony W

Greetings from the Jenolan Caves House!

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are working with various Govt agencies to upgrade our existing facilities and the aging heritage infrastructure. Your feedback is welcome and would definitely be considered during the upgrades planning.

Hope to see you soon at Jenolan.

Be safe,

Jenolan Caves Reserve Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2021

We recently stayed at Jenolan Caves. I was disappointed. The room booked was a distance from the main house, we were the only ones in the whole building and was placed on the top floor (5 small flights of stairs to carry all our luggage up, after walking up a steep hill to access it). We were so cold, no heater in the room. We had a mini fridge that froze everything put in there and was so very loud we could barely sleep. Windows that would not close and curtains that were not wide enough to cover the window. I was told there was wifi but you have to go to caves house or be outside, even then its very slow. There is only a few channels on the TV and no entertainment for the evening (Would benefit having games nights, tours or movie nights...even netflix!).
The restaurant food was over priced and was not enjoyable at all (The pork made my stomach ache and my childs meal was frozen.
The cafe was ok... almost reasonable food and priced.
One of the walking tracks we ventured down should have been off limits to visitors as the power line running through was low and on the ground, also the falling rocks sign was overgrown. For such a wonderful attraction, I feel it has been let go and not tendered to at all. It needs more staff and more care. The cost of staying there in run down accommodation is very disappointing.
The caves and tour guides are fantastic. If I ever choose to return it will be for a day visit only and I will take my own food. However, would have been helpful if it was mentioned that some caves are closed due to Covid restrictions and structural damage from the 19/20 fires that went through.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jenmX4857WJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager, Other at Jenolan Caves House, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2021


Dear jenmX4857WJ

Greetings from the Jenolan Caves House!

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. You have left 4 reviews for your stay after creating a new account on the day. Please reach out at hotel.manager@jenolancaves.org.au to address your concerns and verify your stay details.

Kind regards,

Jenolan Caves House Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2021

Jenolan Caves House is an historic treasure, so sad to see it so run down. Our room was comfortable and clean with a nice bathroom. Generally the service was good and friendly - just not enough staff especially in the dining room. Food was very good, just took hours to arrive. Love the traditional architecture of the House but it needs a lot of attention. Caves were fantastic and well worth the visit. Its a 5 star attraction being teated like a 1 star.

Date of stay: January 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Paradise57647053205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager, Other at Jenolan Caves House, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2021

Dear Paradise57647053205,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review!

We are slated for a much needed renovation in the building whose project works have already started. We have cleaned up the Blue Lake as part of phase 1 and it is only a matter of time when we upgrade rest of the guest services. Jenolan is an old yet heritage rich precinct and your sadness is reasonable. We have received much needed NSW Govt. funds and are working with various authorities to bring Jenolan’s lost shine. Please stay connected with us on social media and get updates on our progress as we upgrade the facilities.

We apologise for the issues you faced and hope to see you at Jenolan once the caves house is upgraded.

Kind regards,

Jenolan Caves House Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2021

Our caves are really a world wonder. I went once as a kid but going as an adult I really appreciated It’s spellbinding and majestic aspects much more. The tour guides are dry well informed and impart knowledge in a very personalised and sometimes humorous way. Totally recommend this

Date of stay: January 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager, Other at Jenolan Caves House, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2021

Dear rebeccajean2021,

Greetings from the Jenolan Caves House!

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our team is thrilled to learn about your comments and thank you for your kind words.

Jenolan Caves are a real marvel and a wonder that we must protect to pass the heritage to the future generations. Patronage and dollars spend by guests such as you help us stay open, help us maintain the facilities and makes our work more rewarding.

Thank you!
Jenolan Caves Reserve Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews