We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy, comfortable and well equipped”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Hermitage Cottage

Hermitage Cottage Retreat escape the city frenzy & relax
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hermitage Cottage Retreat escape the city frenzy & relax
Gateway to paradise Relax in the garden terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Hermitage Cottage Retreat escape the city frenzy & relax
Gateway to paradise
Relax in the garden terrace
Main Bedroom soft top Queen Bed,egyptian lines,dressing gowns
2nd Bedroom, soft top Queen bed,Egypyian linen,dressing gowns
Clawfoot bath with garden view,plush towels,shampoo,soap
Lounge Room,LED flat screen television,CD/DVD/Stereo, WIFI
Dining area  , slow combustion fire,reverse cycle airconditioner. aircoairconditioner.
Kitchen,gas stove,full size refrigerator,pantry
Large Garden
Garden in Spring
View to the lake
Canoe on our lake
Northern Mountain View
Perfect Sunset in Paradise
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kurrajong, Hawkesbury Valley, Blue Mountains, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ms_woodro...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, comfortable and well equipped”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lovely relaxing weekend at this cosy and comfortable cottage, just over an hour's drive from Sydney. Beautiful country location with great views from the sitting room and bathroom. Lovely wood burner in addition to regular heating kept the winter chill at bay. Generous breakfast provisions and friendly hosts. Our dogs had a ball and we feel totally relaxed!
Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBruceW46
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A piece of Australian history in beautiful, tranquil surroundings”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed here as a couple and enjoyed the cottage with its lovely character, gorgeous gardens and comfortable accommodation. The house has kept its historical Australian charm and it was interesting to hear of the original family who lived in it before. We found the quiet setting the perfect place to unwind and relax. The bathroom has a window with a view over green farmland but a minor negative is that you have to go onto the verandah to access it. We didn't mind as it was wasn't cold but could be challenging on a cold winter morning.The cottage is comfortable and has freshly laid eggs and everything else needed to cook your own breakfast. The surrounding area has some nice restaurants and the drive to Mt Tomah Botanic Gardens and the Megalong Valley are excellent. The hosts are welcoming and friendly and ensure that you have a delightful break on their well groomed property.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa D
Puente la Reina, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquil setting”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in September 2012

It's hard to decide which part of the property I liked best since the house itself reminded me of my family getaways as a child and that brought back fond memories. The backyard area where we ate outside was private and so peaceful. And then walking in the bigger area past the cows and out to the bush area was amazing - we even made it down to a little hidden stream. The evenings in front of the fire relaxing were also great. We had such an enjoyable and relaxing time!

I give my highest recommendation to this property for the peaceful and perfect relaxing surroundings. Bravo to the excellent hosts for creating such a perfect escape. I will go back for sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful surroundings and a cozy cottage
Liked least: I wish I could have stayed longer!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette K
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AN ABSOLUTE DELIGHT!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at Hermitage Cottage with our two little doggies over the June Long Weekend.

What a truely special place, with such welcoming hosts. A stay we havent forgotten and cant wait to enjoy again.

From the moment we arrived at Hermitage John and Peter made such an effort to make us feel welcome and we really appreciated all the special touches such as the sumptious breakfast provisions provided.

We enjoyed sharing a glass of wine together in front of the open fire and having a big "sleep in" after a wonderful day of walking around Kurrajong and all it has to offer.

We will definately be back to enjoy your wonderful hospitality!

Truely a home away from home.

Thanks again!


Annette & Carl
Sydney

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great hosts
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen B
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, hideaway, retreat!!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in September 2011

I fell in love with this property the moment I drove down the driveway and saw the cottage. John and Peter, the owners were there to greet us and tell us a bit about the property and show us around. They couldn't have been nicer. After their recommendations of exploring the local shops nearby, my partner and I, and my parents gathered supplies, then cooked together and ate in the open kitchen with the fireplace roaring nearby. A great highlight for me was sitting in the really comfortable bathtub and just reading my book while the sun shone in the bathroom in total peace and quiet. It was also fun to take walks around their beautiful gardens and paddocks and watch the cows. Everyone commented on how relaxed they felt after returning home. I can't wait to go back. I'd highly recommend it if you need a break from the city and are looking for peace and quiet in simply beautiful surrounds. Thanks guys.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The great bath overlooking the gardens and paddocks.
Liked least: My stay was too short. I could have easily spent a week.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: limited phone reception
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing