We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for families with young kids”
Review of Duckmaloi Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oberon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duckmaloi Farm
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed at the wombat cottage for 4 nights with 2 young kids 4 and 5 years. Highlights of the day is always feeding the animals. We did it almost twice a day (beginning and end of the day). We run out of feed fairly quickly and Peter quickly directed us to his backup supplies.

Pro: feeding farm animals

Con: Rather far from Katoomba and other towns.

For those travelling to the farm via google map, i think it's fairly accurate.

Room Tip: There are only 2 cottages for small families, go for the main house for bigger groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank engchonboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

Staying at Duckmaloi farm is 'another' BEST trip I've planned for our young family, we are a young couple with a 3 year old, also took our teenage niece along, staying in Peter's farm is such a lovely experience, we feel very welcomed by having a very well-equiped kitchen with fresh farm eggs in the fridge for us to enjoy on arrival.
Peter is available all the time to answer our queries, when we asked if we could buy farm eggs we were told to feel free to pick eggs from the farm, when I mentioned that we'll be back to the farm a bit late in the evening, Peter even puts the freshly picked eggs in front of our cottage for us!!! I've taken a piture of the eggs when I got back to our cottage because that was very IMPRESSIVE!
There are so many activities you can do in the farm, feed all the different farm animals any time of the day, play tennis, basket ball, kids playground and so on...
There are also so many activities you can do around the farm, horse riding, quad bike riding, mushroom picking, visiting the caves etc.
I know there are quite a few farms you can choose from in that area, however this is the one if you want a place that is absolutely CLEAN and COMFORTABLE, the cottage also has fabulous view you can enjoy because it's located on the top of the hill.
I highly recommend this farm to anyone who wants a pleasant family holiday, and this is a place that I'll definitely go back to... if Peter is still the owner.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with my 3 young kids (5-9yrs) and wifey and we were absolutely sad to leave. The kids are already asking when we will be heading back to the farm...alas we only left like 1 day ago for Hunter Valley and will be heading back to Singapore soon :(

Peter was away when we arrived so we literally have the whole farm to ourselves...well except for Misty, Alba, Kahlua etc the farm animals whom we thoroughly look forward to feed everyday...and they for us.

The cottage is well equipped, clean and welcoming. The wood fire oven is always a bonus especially when the weather turned cold toward the night.

The view is absolutely breathtaking. The cottage is right by the side of the hill, providing views of the pasture down the hills with cows grazing among the green. Beyond are the rolling hills and beautiful sunset....heaven!

What can I say but I myself is missing it already!

The farm is a tad of a drive away from Katoomba (50min at least) with the nearest town being Oberon (25 min)...but hey who needs the town when you are at Duckmaloi?

Room Tip: Do plan to stay for at least a day or two at the farm as traveling back to Katoomba and vicinity can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icewolfmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

My family went visiting Australia recently and one of the key itinerary is farmstay. After numerous research, my children opted for Duckmaloi Farm as they were attracted by the variety of animals on the farm.

On arrival, we were greeted by soft music coming from our cottage to welcome us. That was really a nice touch, Peter! The view from our cottage was superb and we even saw some kangaroos on the farm - a treat for us, tourists. The cottage is nicely decorated and well stocked up with appliances and modern amenities. There were even eggs and milk in the fridge and some biscuits provided. We enjoyed our farmstay thoroughly and one night was simply too short. The children enjoyed playing and feeding the animals and I love the garden at the main house. Peter is a really good and friendly host. We would simply love to revisit Duckmaloi Farm.

Thanks Peter for a memorable stay at Duckmaloi Farm!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayyCheah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Peter is an exceptional host. He is there for your every need, and actively ensures your stay is as enjoyable as possible. My wife and my 4 year old son stayed for a few days in the main house and had wonderful time on this idyllic farm. The farm animals are well cared for, live in spacious green pastures and are easily accessible. Peter provides feed and veggies for those who would like to encounter the animals first hand. We did, and my son had fun feeding carrots to the baby deer, the truffle hunting pig, the baby goats and on and on. Also a short hike over the hill gets you to the beautiful Duck Maloi River, a fantastic location for a picnic.

The home is well appointed and comfortable, there are many amenities including a Saeco Espresso Machine. This is a real farm house, expect a degree of rustic living.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank Dain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had been to one of the smaller cottages a few years ago and enjoyed it so much that we decided to come back and rent the large house when our friends from the UK and their children joined us. Everyone had a brilliant time. The children loved the animals, especially mitzi the deer, and the games room in the house complete with pool table was also a hit. Even sleeping in bunkbeds was a novelty so at least they were keen to go to bed in the evening! we took some lovely walks in the evening where we saw kangaroos and wallabies, and we went wombat spotting after dinner and were rewarded by seeing our first Wombat, and a beautiful owl. We also took the 4wd down to the river to fish - no fish but it was great fun getting off road and enjoying the peace and quiet of the countryside.
In the end we didn't want to go out on day trips because everything we needed was where we were staying - plenty to keep the kids amused and the adults relaxed. An amazing coffee machine, a fully stocked kitchen, ensuite bathrooms for both sets of adults and a nice family bathroom for the kids. The TV never went on, there was so much else to see, do, and talk about.
Peter, the owner was so friendly and helpful but also unobtrusive. It was just the right balance. We are already planning our next trip and the children haven't stopped talking about it. We would highly reccomend this place.

Room Tip: for value for money, get a group together and share the house, but for an individual family, the sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at Duckmaloi for Friday and Saturday night. Our friends had the house, and we were in one of the cottages Wombat. The place is extremely relaxing, quiet, secluded. The house had everything you would need to for a stay, it really i a home away from home. The kitchen was fully stoked with all appliances you could need, you could bake a cake from scratch. Spacious rooms, 2 master bedrooms with ensuite and 2 bedrooms for kids with a seperate bathroom. We had all meals at the house since they had the big kitchen, all emals were prepared fresh. The cottage was very cute, with windows all around the small living/dining area giving views of the valley. Very serene. Small tv, which we didnt use. Small selectionof books to read, and on arrival they had some nice new age music playing to make it all the more peaceful. Small kitchen with some basic appliances provided, small fridge, eggs, cereal, milk, tea and coffee were all provided however we didnt use them at all since we ate at the house. Bathroom had plenty of towels and spa bath with shower over the spa. One annoyign thing was that when showering I had to keep the shower pressure low, if I had high pressure then it would not drain fast enough and I was left standing in a couple of inches of dirty water. Master bedroom was nice as well, with electric blankets provided and a small oil heater. Second bedroom we didnt use. There was another heater in the lounge/dining as well. In the mornings it got quite cold, and with the small heater in the bedroom it was necessary to sleep with it on all night so as to warm the room up as it took ages to warm up. I think the heater in the lounge could be timed, I'm not sure. We didnt use the fire in the cottage. Ironing board and iron were also provided. Yes, there were plenty of signs around with rules and warnings, but it wasnt really annoying. Pretty common sense stuff so not a bother. We saw horses, donkeys, sheep, alpacas, cows, ducks/tyrkey/chickens, 1 pig and 1 rabbit. Good for children. Feed shed only had chicken feed in it, no carrots or stuff for the other animals, so we went and bought some carrots ourselves. The nearest town of Oberon was about 15-20 mins away. Walkway through the animal paddocks will get you between the house and the cottage. At night, since it was cold, we would drive to and from the house, and on way back to cottage we could see lots of wallabies sitting/jumping around being startled by the headlights. You could see them in early morning as well from the cottage as it has views over the valley. I found the bed in the cottage a bit hard which is uncomfortable for me, and the pillows pretty thin. Overall we found the stay to be very relaxing and enjoyed the getaway with some friends who had kids. The kids enjoyed themselves immensely. We would recommend and come back when we have kids as it is very peaceful. We didnt talk or see the owners at any time during the stay, although I understand one of them had been to the house on Friday to talk to our friends. Their contact numbers were provided to us in case we needed anything.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bhakti_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberon
37.6 km away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
8.7 km away
Duckmaloi Park Lodge
Duckmaloi Park Lodge
#5 of 7 in Oberon
5 reviews
0.7 km away
Motel Titania Oberon
Motel Titania Oberon
#2 of 3 in Oberon
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Highlands Motor Inn
Highlands Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Oberon
47 reviews
2 km away
Jenolan Caravan Park
Jenolan Caravan Park
#1 of 7 in Oberon
97 reviews
0.5 km away
Big Trout Motor Inn
Big Trout Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Oberon
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duckmaloi Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duckmaloi Farm

Address: 54 Karawina Dr | Duckmaloi, Oberon, New South Wales 2787, Australia (Formerly Duckmaloi Farm Cottages)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Oberon
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Oberon
Price Range: C$174 - C$592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing