We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Duckmaloi Farm
Nearby Hotels
Highlands Motor Inn(Oberon)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Titania Oberon(Oberon)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Jenolan Caves House(Jenolan Caves)
US$48
US$47
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Bowen Inn Motel(Lithgow)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lithgow Workies Club Motel(Lithgow)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bushman's Motor Inn(Wallerawang)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$92
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zig Zag Motel(Lithgow)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
34
8
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
8
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesfeeding the animalsthe ownerwallaby cottageself cateringvalleybonuscountrysidebbqfires
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 45 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2015

We booked this accomodation after having another cancel on us and i am SO happy they did - they say everything happens for a reason!
We had friends staying with us from the UK and i wanted to show them the REAL beauty of the blue mountains NOT just the tourist route (ie katommba/wenworth falls etc). This was exactly what i was searching for and gave us the opportunity not only to take in the spectacular mountains but also the generous and friendly nature of the people that live there. It is also in close proximity to Jenloan caves (which we visited the next morning).

The proprerty - Wombat cottage
Stunning veiws from the veranda, kangaroos, lorikeets and eagles viewed during breakfast.
Lots of a space for a family - we had 2 adult & 3 kids, ample room.
Extremely clean and all equipment (plus more) that we could have needed (lots of extras such as cooking oil, matches etc)
Food for breakfast including fresh eggs from the farm and good quality coffee/teas etc.
Lots of privacy - there are only 3 properties on the farm making it peaceful and private.
Cosy wood burner with enough wood to burn through the night to keep the cottage warm.

The service
We arrived a little later than planned after visiting Newnes/Wollemei gloworm tunnel (another hiden gem in the mountains) to discover that we had no hot water. Within minutes of calling the owner, he arrived and fixed it immediately. We found the owners to be friendly, helpful and like nothing would be too muich trouble - good with the kids too :-)

The farm
On arrival the owner very kindly informed us that the farm animals could be fed and visited at any time of day. The animals all look very well cared for and are all very child friendly/tame. There is fresh food left out for the kids to feed the animals all day - this was the absolute highlight of their stay! There are pigs, cows, deer,goats,sheep, rabbits, guineau pigs, chickens/geese/birds and im sure more that we did not have time to see after our hour stint in the rabbit enclosure.

If you are after a comfortable and peaceful stay away from the tourist trail then this place is just perfect - we'll be back later in the year and hoping to stay in the beautiful farm house next time.

Thank you for making our trip such a special one!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amypips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2015 via mobile

Duckmaloi Farm is a firm favourite for us. We first came in 2011 and every visit since has been equally wonderful. The air up here is clean and crisp and smells of growing things, and the landscape driving in makes you remember how wonderful it is to be Australian and call this beautiful country home.

Upon arrival we always run around madly reacquainting ourselves with the gorgeous animals. Mitsy the deer and Alba the pig are special favourites along with the darling donkeys. Farmer Pete always leaves ample supplies of carrots, rabbit & guinea pig feed, and chicken & duck feed so we can delight in feeding the animals.

The tennis court and swing set are always well utilised and a trek down to the creek on foot or by car makes for a happy picnic and fun paddle while enjoying the wonderful bush setting.

We have stayed twice in the cabins which are warm and cosy in winter and capture the cool country breezes in summer. Make use of the bbq in the hut for a fun indoor/outdoor dining experience!

This time we are in the house which is so well equipped! High chair and cot supplied without us even asking and lovely filtered rain water to drink. Truly a home away from home.

I have recommended Duckmaloi Farm to countless friends and acquaintances and will continue to do so. Five stars - or step outside, look up, and make that one million stars!

Stayed: February 2015
1  Thank Kristin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2015

We've just returned from Duckmaloi Farm. We took our sons aged 6 & 8 and our two dogs. It was our first time and we are already planning our next visit. We loved it! Next time we will take two cottages and/or the house and bring along our extended family.

There was a self-service check in/out (this didn't bother us). It was the casual and trusting approach which makes you feel so at home. "Treat the farm as if it is your own", we were told. Our boys just loved having the ability to roam free around the farm, feeding and patting the animals.

We met the owner, Peter, several times during our four day stay. He was extremely helpful, friendly and whenever we needed advice he answered our calls/texts immediately. Also, we received comprehensive instructions by email before our visit, so that when we arrived we had all the necessary information, including all the animals names! There was also a generous amount of animal feed and buckets with clear instructions for feeding.

Based on some other reviews, I was expecting the rooms to be worse than they were. Our linen looked new. The water tank that can be seen from the bedroom window is positioned so that the top of the tank is in line with the bottom of the window - hardly an issue! There was every basic necessity that you could want in the kitchen. We ate most meals in. If however you want to spend lots of time cooking up gourmet meals, maybe consider hiring the house, not the cottages. You will also get the bonus of WiFi and cable TV in the house.

Many of the animals have been rescued. The majority are in great shape. The only exception would be some of the ponies - but they come to the farm in terrible health and are being seen to regularly by professionals and are being rehabilitated. The young deer "Mitsy", is magnificent and would certainly have died if not for Peter taking her in and caring for her. The same with the orphaned baby pig.

The location is superb. Scenery is magic! However, lucky we had a 4WD because access up to the property on the private road is quite rough.

Best points:
- Only a couple of hours from Sydney
- Spectacular views!
- Great variety of animals.
- Peter is very relaxed and wants you to feel as if the farm is your own.
- We came away feeling recharged.
- We could bring our dogs with us.
- Try Café 133 on Main (Oberon) for awesome breakfasts.
- Besides the Jenolan Caves, it is worth a visit to Mayfield Gardens.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LZtravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2015

The ponies are suffering - no doubt experience a lot of pain & discomfort - because they have their hooves have overgrown. They NEED to be seen by a farrier. I didn't like taking my kids to a farm where not all of the animals are receiving the care they deserve. The accomodation was cosy & pleasant. A little dated but certainly comfortable. The lay out of the farm accessible, safe and very child friendly. Great location to visit Jenolan Caves. Excellent chook & duck enclosure. Feed for guests to give to the animals who were all eager to eat! A picturesque farm. It would have been nice to have (at some stage during our stay) received a 'welcome' - however brief- from the owners or caretakers. It felt a bit impersonal!

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank here-there-then
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuggers, Owner at Duckmaloi Farm, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2015

Our ponies were rescued from a very old lady 2 years ago who had let their hooves grow way out of control, she could not look after them. We have a master farrier visiting every 4-6 weeks to try and get them back to as best shape as possible but it is very difficult and a very slow process. You can't trim the hooves too much each time...The farrier visited yesterday and we are making progress. Thank you for your concern, we are onto it :)

I am sorry we did not bump into you, but glad you did enjoy your time here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend away with two children.

Positives were:
- great views from living room cottages
- good selection of animals for kids to pet and feed and the feed was well kept and buckets were plentiful so no squabbling with the kids.
- good heating options for winter
- hot water good
- not overcrowded

However we felt its rather tired and in need of some modernisation and upkeep and we felt it was relying on its reputation.

- there's no personal touch here. Check in and check out are self service and finding things around the farm is all up to you. Whilst this is not hard it's just a bit impersonal . We locked ourselves out of the bathroom so rang the owners. And rather than say ill be there in 5 to help it was "get a bobby pin and stick it in the door and play around til you unlock it" . In the end we had to break open a pen and use it to open the door. Took us half and hour with two small children desperate to go to the loo!
- the couch in main rooms is in need to replacing- the arm rests are sagging in middle and the decor dated and to be honest the material is a little dirty
- the sheets and duvet covers on the beds are thread bare and old fashioned. Reminds me of my grandmas house!
- the kitchen utensils are mismatched and our cottage lacked a sharp knife. THe pots and pans were scratched and worn.
- the hot plate was old and tired and the control knobs were broken so when turning on you weren't sure of it was on high or low! The dial didnt match up to the controls.


Overall we did enjoy our stay and it was a good break away. The farm is in a great location and very beautiful. We only hope that the owners upgrade the kitchen utensils and linen soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank well_travelled079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews