We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and friendly ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely 2 night stay at Woodsmoke cottage. It was snowing hard yet the passage ways were cleared daily and firewood replenished.
The wood fire, electric heaters and electric blankets ensured that we didn't feel cold at all.
Although we know it's not within management's control, better wifi would have been heavenly as we were mostly confined to the cottages for the 2 days.
Being so close to the wildlife was amazing. Just wished the weather had cooperated.
We would definitely go back again. Preferably in summer!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chintaesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

This is our most favourite stay in Tasmania. Stayed in Telopea this time , all cottages are individual and charming. Everything needed in kitchen for self catering and efficient log fire to keep cosy. We had snow at night so woke to a magical sight. We have been coming for many years and still the cleanliness and standard is always the best. You feel like the first person to stay ! Staff are attentive and gracious, and cabins are dotted throughout so you never feel overlooked. Hint Read the cottage guest book for updates on animal sightings particularly wombats. Short walk to Visitors centre to catch the bus to Dove Lake . Love this place .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tardustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Stayed here in the Quoll Cottage for three nights with adult brother and our elderly parents. Reception and service was, friendly, efficient and helpful at all times. The cottage was super clean, well appointed for self catering and size was cozy but adequate for four adults who get on well. The wood heater was such a luxury to come back to after playing/walking in the snow and rain that we experienced. The cottage was located down a short, winding, bush lined path in total privacy. The cute veranda would be lovely to sit out on in better weather. The Quoll Cottage had several steep stairs with no hand rail so may not be suitable for everyone. We noted that some of the other cottages had ground level access so ask if you are concerned about stairs.

Room Tip: Some cottages have better access and some are more secluded so ring and discuss your requirements be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edenhousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cradlehighlander, Manager at Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Edenhousewife

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Studio Cabin called Quoll, all by itself up in a little bush nook.

It is a gorgeous cabin to call home, and while you certainly would have been cosy, it sounds like you enjoyed it and we love to see families spending some time away together :-)

The Forest View Two Bedroom cabins, are a little more spacious, if you manage to book far enough in advance to secure one (!) and are a great alternative if you want some extra privacy with the bedrooms, but want to enjoy catching up in the large living.dining room.

You mention the steps up to the cabin. You are correct, that the location of the cabin with 40 metre walk from the car space, and then the steps up to the front door are not suitable for everyone. For those reading this review, we advise you to contact us if you do have any mobility issues so we can advise you on the best cabin, or at least let you know there are steps, or a walk from the car space so you can make an informed choice.

We do have two lovely Studio cabins, of the same layout, which are suitable and appropriate for those with mobility issues, with no steps, a walk-in shower and rails in the shower and for the toilet. These cabins are actually wheelchair accessible and have gas log fires which are easy to use and very cosy.

Thanks again for your review, we would love to welcome you back
Warm regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights..awesome accomodation..fantastic food hamper..beautiful wildlife..by far one of the best places i have stayed in tassie..log fire was a godsend..spa was ample..comfy bed..ideal location..views to die for..has everything you need..would highly recommend

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cradlehighlander, Manager at Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thanks so much for leaving your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Highlanders and enjoyed the cabin and the surroundings.

Warm regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

My wife and I had two nights at Highlanders Cottages. The weather was cold and generally rainy with snow on the ground. We had booked their budget very small cottage, but we upgraded at the desk as someone else had cancelled. Brad on the desk arranged for someone to go and switch the gas heater on for us to get the cottage warmed up. The Brushtail cottage was well appointed, very clean and comfortable. The wifi internet was useless but you are very isolated up there in Cradle Mountain. The Cottages are very very close to the National Park. Recommended!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank johnontwowheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Stayed 1 night just for getaway. Friendly check in and easily done. Cabins are great . Warm and comfortable. Self contained with cooking items etc. Very quiet and peaceful. We had friends staying in another cabin so we took our fry pan and food to tnere bit bigger cabin to have breakfast together.

Room Tip: All looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gravedigger7142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We loved this place so much. Our cabin 'Ringtail' was just gorgeous. Gas heater was on when we checked in. Bed super comfy and kitchen is fully self contained with a full sized fridge. Staff are friendly and helpful. We are going to go back every year.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jayne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cradlehighlander, Manager at Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in 'Ringtail', one of our Marsupial Studio cabins/ We look forward to welcoming you back next year :-)

Warm regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1 km away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,057 reviews
39.1 km away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#2 of 2 in Sheffield
65 reviews
1.5 km away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
827 reviews
3.8 km away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
471 reviews
62.7 km away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages

Address: Cradle Mountain, Tasmania 7306 3876 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $195 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cabins are all hand built in a traditional mountain style and feature lovely natural timbers inside and out. All cabins have log fires except for two and three have spa baths with full of rustic mountain charm. With wildlife at your doorstep, spectacular alpine scenery all around and a rustic mountain cabin to call home, you will really feel at one with nature when you make Cradle Mountain Highlanders your base for exploring Cradle Mountain National Park.Take a walk through ancient rainforests, scale snow-capped peaks or just curl up by the fire in your snug wooden cabin and let the peace of the forest surround you.Whether you are in the mood for self-indulgent comfort or a budget conscious family, there’s a cabin here to suit you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing