We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“No photo can do this property justice”
other travellers have booked this property
Comfortable modern furniture to relax in after a busy day.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Comfortable modern furniture to relax in after a busy day.
Commanding Quarry Hill Lookout Sit back on the leather reclining lounge with a book in front of the wood fire.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Comfortable modern furniture to relax in after a busy day.
Commanding Quarry Hill Lookout
Sit back on the leather reclining lounge with a book in front of the wood fire.
Newly installed bar area with double bar fridge and water filter for your convenience.
The view from ground level
Enjoy a meal at the Tas Oak Dining Table
Striking modern kitchen and great area to socialise
Morning coffee anyone?
Sit back and watch a movie or read a book from the extensive library!
Luxury ensuite bathroom
Double overhead raindrop showers
Downstairs King Size bedroom
Back BBQ deck area
Commanding Quarry Hill Lookout
Enjoy the view in all weather occasions
Outside garden with fruit
The beautiful Southern Aurora, one of southern Tasmania's wonders.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Dover, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tanya B
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No photo can do this property justice”
Reviewed November 23, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Quarry Hill Lookout is by far the best property we have ever stayed in. On approach up the driveway my breath was taken away by the majesty of this property. Upon entry all I can say is it just got better and better with every little discovery we made.
The architect must be a true visionary, with EVERY view vantage catered for.
There are three full sized bedrooms and three bathrooms two of which are ensuites.
The master bedroom has a luxurious King sized bed with views over the river that are awesome. I awoke on the second day to look out from the bed onto a sunrise that felt like a treat for my senses.
Everything is catered for and I mean everything.
I don't want to give too much away as I'd love others to be as surprised as we were. I was even able to make my husband a birthday cake with cake tins provided. He was shocked as I've never baked him a cake before!
There are beaches a plenty to explore, Roaring Beach was our favourite swimming beach but past Ida Bay Railway were some more unexpected surprises.
There are shops and facilities within walking distance and the RSL also within walking distance.
The other thing I must mention is that we were able to take our fur baby who is a seasoned traveller and he was also catered for.
No words or photos can express how our trip to this property felt and we will go back again. We don't really want to share it but that would be unfair to Nicola and Leigh who have truly gone above and beyond to make us feel welcome.
Thank you doesn't seem enough.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlemis...
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What a great find! ”
Reviewed October 13, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We decided last minute to head to Tasmania for a short five day break. It was the last week of school holidays and everything was booked up. Then I found Quarry Hill Lookout and am so glad I did! It a lovely building with great decor, top notch fittings and best of all, WHITE LINEN! I just hate holiday homes with colourful printed linen! Nicola is a great host and very helpful. We travel a lot and highly recommend this great house for your next trip to Tasmania.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren J
Launceston, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unbelievable ”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Quarry Hill Lookout is absolutely Unbelievable!! We thoroughly enjoyed our time there . Views , house , fireplace and just all the little things that made the stay unforgettable!! The house has everything, the town has an IGA supermarket and bottle shop only a few hundred meters away . This place is magic .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
1 review
“Excellent and spectacular home”
Reviewed March 17, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The location is amazing. The views are spectacular. The home is 5 star with everything you might need supplied. Jacob is a great host, nothing is too much trouble. We will be back and hope to bring some friends with us so they can experience this fantastic retreat as well but will be staying longer next time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Thank you Margaret. Look forward to seeing you again. Cheers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mini P
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Affordable luxury”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Loved staying at this architect designed stunning house with magnificent views.Within easy driving distance from Tahune air walk,Hastings caves, Bruny island ,Port Arthur and other attractions.There is also a fabulous home garden brimming with Raspberries,Logan berries, Blood Plums ,Apples and more.
We will certainly be coming back. Excited about the Cookery school that is going to open next door soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
Thanks for the kind words Mini. We look forward to having you back and also your participation in the School House workshops.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H
1 review
“Absolutely outstanding!”
Reviewed March 5, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Quarry Hill Lookout is without doubt the best vacation home we have ever stayed in. The property is an architectural gem, brimming full of distinctive features and exceptional views of the bay. On arrival we were presented with a decent bottle of Tasmanian wine and a garden full of delicious berries. Certainly if you want something extraordinary then travelling an hour outside Hobart to Dover is well worthwhile. This location is unbelievably picturesque and there is an abundance of fresh local produce on offer.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
Thanks Steve, Mini and Paolo. Great to meet you and glad you will be coming back to this part of Tasmania.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann O
Hobart
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Superb Location”
Reviewed March 5, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

An excellent house for 6 adults. Wonderful heater, wonderful views of sea, hills, bush. Walk to two restaurants. Amazing seafood.
Good boating area and also walks. Places further south to explore on way to Cockle Creek.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2017
Thank you for the review Ann. Much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing