We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
12
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minute walk tall trees baron swamp paths gums circuit steps russell cafe walks centre forest track falls
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 19 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2018 via mobile

I've attached pictures of the 2 steepest steps on the path. The stone steps go from Russell falls up to Horseshoe falls. The 200 + wood steps go up from Lady Barron falls. IF you start at Lady Barron Falls you can go DOWN all the stairs instead of up! I wish we had known as my 67 yr old father with a pace maker would have preferred this. He made it ok with lots of rests on the stairs but you don't have to suffer!

Date of experience: February 2018
4  Thank IAmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2018

Before travelling to Tasmania, we had researched things we wanted to do and had actually called in to the Mt Field visitor centre on our way to the Styx Valley Giant Trees. The friendly and helpful staff showed us the walks on offer from the visitor centre including the Tall Trees circuit. We set off toward Russell Falls which is the accessible walk to the base of the falls where most of the visitors go. We then climbed the stairs to the top of the falls and continued out to the Horseshoe Falls. From there, you can return to the carpark or commence the loop through the Tall Trees walk to Lady Barron Falls in order to return to the carpark.
The Tall Trees walk winds through the swamp gums and rainforest to the base of Lady Barron. You then go along the river for a way before climbing back up 230+ stairs before a gentle descend through more forest to the Visitor Centre.
The whole walk is around 3 hours and just so enjoyable with varied highlights and scenery which changes consistently. Thoroughly enjoyable and very cool in the forest on a hot day. Would also love to visit on a cool misty day. We never made it to the Styx Valley as we were very satisfied with our walk and experience here.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank tez823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2017 via mobile

The Russell Falls, Tall Trees, Lady Barron watetfall circuit passes through fern filled rainforest and woodlands containing the famous giant swamp gums.

There are three waterfalls, Russell, Horseshoe and Lady Barron, to take in.

Russell is on the coach tour itineries and can be busy but the long flight of stairs to the top of the falls and the start of the Tall Trees circuit thins the crowd quickly.

If you don't have the time, or the inclination, for the additional 40 minute walk back to the visitor centre via Lady Barron falls, just complete the Tall Trees circuit and return via Russell falls.

The path to Lady Barron falls is a bit rougher than the more travelled paths to Russell and Tall Trees but it is well maintained. There is a long staircase section about two thirds of the way in.

The whole circuit took us about three hours at a very leisurely pace.

The cafe at the visitor centre does decent coffee and a range of meals.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank TheoC319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2017 via mobile

This walk was the favourite on our recent trip to Tasmania. The Lady Barton Falls walk combines a number of shorter falls and tall tree walks through different forest types. The track is a mix of boardwalk, some steep sections and at times, numerous steps so not for the faint hearted. But definitely worth the effort, particularly once you get past the start of the walk frequented by bus groups and tourists only interested in the nearby falls. It's after this that you can start to really hear the wildlife and appreciate the other sounds of nature. Keep an eye out for leeches though. We managed to attract two which were easily flicked off.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank lauragX5358BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 17, 2017

This is the third of three waterfalls on a circular walk. The entire walk took us about 2.5 hrs. We took our time and enjoyed the amazing paths through the forest. It was quite strenuous in places with a number of steep climbs and the way we did it we ended with 200+ steps to the visitor centre. That said there are plenty of resting places along the way, but a reasonable level of fitness is required. The falls themselves are all beautiful and tranquil, although the most impressive is the Russell falls! even the Lady Barron falls are beautiful. Undoubtedly though for us, the walk through the forest was a big feature of the whole walk. Do take water though as the strenuous parts make you thirsty! You can though drive to the tall trees Car Park and then it is a shorter walk there. Tall trees walk is also well worth a look.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank MummaFish48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews