We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“School Group”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Port Arthur Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Devonport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“School Group”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is the second year I and 3 other teachers have brought a group of approximately 50 secondary school students to the Port Arthur Holiday Park as part of our school's Activities Week. We stay overnight in the cabin accommodation. I find the staff very helpful, friendly and obliging. Their attention to detail and organisation is to be commended. We arrived at the Park at lunchtime and had organised in advance to have the Park cater for our lunch. The lunch was ready for us on our arrival and was fresh and nutritious. Special dietary requirements were also catered for. The cabins were very clean, in great condition and very suitable for our needs. We had the option of providing our own bedding or having it supplied for a small fee. The kitchens are well equipped, which could allow for school groups to be self-catering if desired. This year our students made their own breakfast, but last year we arranged for the Park to provide breakfast, which was served in the lovely camp kitchen. There are also barbecue facilities available if required. The bunkhouse is another option for group accommodation, which is more economical. The grounds and ammenities are excellent, as is the location - a short 5 minute bus drive to the Port Arthur Historical Site. There is even the option of walking to the Historical Site along a walking track in natural bushland. I have also stayed at this holiday park on my own on several occasions and always look forward to returning. I highly recommend the Port Arthur Holiday Park to both school groups and solo/family campers ; )

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCtas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    92
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
126
162
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stanthorpe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at this park at the end of March 2012 and just loved it!! The staff were warm and friendly and we just loved the size of the park. We stayed on a powered site and there are bushes and shrubs growing between each site so you get so much privacy, unlike other parks where you and your neighbours feel like you are all sharing one site.
There is a lovely little beach nearby that we went for a walk along and at night wallabies and other wildlife come out to eat the grass around the park, absolutely lovely!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHERYL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We first visited Port Arthur Holiday Park in February 2011 and we instantly fell in love! We have since returned six times in the last 12 months. The Park has so much to offer – modern clean facilities, powered sites (some with ensuite), entertainment for children, and a very safe environment. The sites are a good size and are very private with bushes dividing your holidaying neighbour. Stuarts Bay is only a short walk away which is a great beach for children to play and the walk to Port Arthur is very enjoyable. The park allows you to enjoy the camping experience while still having a few of the home comforts. Of an evening you can enjoy the outdoors with an open fire and a possible visit from the friendly wildlife. Leanne and Steve (Park Managers) are amazing, their friendly personality and upkeep of the park ensures a very satisfying holiday EVERY TIME. The service they offer is exception – thank you. I would highly recommend this park to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The park gave quite large spaces to campers and had excellent facilities - the showers were large and clean. There bathrooms in general were great - clean, lots of outlets to blowdry your hair (a real treat after other caravan parks!), and serviced every day.

Only drawback while we were there was that the internet was not working through most of the park - had to bring our laptops to the reception area for it to work. Management acknowledged this and advised that it was to be fixed later in the week, which wasn't helpful for our purposes.

I would definitely recommend it - rates are reasonable and they are quite flexible with requests/duration of stay/needs.

NOTE: Vodafone and Optus do not have coverage on the peninsula, so don't plan on being able to use data through them - Telstra only.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahJane0488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We're travelling round Oz, and the park had everything we needed and more, great new clean facilities fantastic bush setting, groceries if u ran out great play area for kids short walk to beach...close to the historic site... Need I say more. We had an absolute ball there. A big thanks to the park owners on a job well done!

Room Tip: We had a powered site we have our own RV
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This park is excellent, the best we stayed in on our Tassie trip in Feb/March 2012. The sites are really spacious and private. Birds fly in to feed from your hand the wildlife at night is awesome! The amenities are clean and the managers were just lovely, couldn't have been more helpful. A great place to come back to, we recommended it to all fellow travellers we spole to after our stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShagBlueMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed here when we were on a road 4500 kilometer trip. This was very nice place to stay at the end of a big day. Spread out , clean, free WIFI, Good as my optus phone didn't work. I managed to Skype home. A must + good value I thought

Room Tip: Optus service not here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Arthur
0.7 km away
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Stewarts Bay Lodge
#1 of 3 in Port Arthur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
1.9 km away
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Arthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
14.9 km away
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk Neck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Fox and Hounds Inn
The Fox and Hounds Inn
#3 of 3 in Port Arthur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.1 km away
Port Arthur Villas
Port Arthur Villas
#2 of 5 in Port Arthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
10.4 km away
Parsons Bay Retreat
Parsons Bay Retreat
#1 of 1 in Nubeena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Arthur Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Arthur Holiday Park

Property: Port Arthur Holiday Park
Address: Garden Point, Port Arthur, Tasmania 7182, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Port Arthur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Port Arthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Arthur Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Arthur Holiday Park is the ideal base to explore the whole Tasman Peninsula. Situated at Garden Point, 1 km north of Port Arthur, it is central to the area's many attractions including the Port Arthur Historic Site, the Coalmines Historic Site, plus the many natural scenic features including the magnificent rock formations at Eaglehawk Neck and the Remarkable Cave. The Port Arthur Holiday Park encompasses 40 acres of landscaped grounds with an accent on individual privacy together with open outdoor activity areas which make it an ideal venue for groups and families with children.The park has 20 fully self-contained cabins, some with water views and private balconies, as well as powered, unpowered and ensuite sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Port Arthur Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Arthur Holiday Park Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing