We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
46
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cheese platter lovely bush setting little touches breakfast provisions on arrival quiet location cottage accommodation wildlife
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 47 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2017

We had a one night stay in the one bedroom cottage which was beautifully presented and immaculately clean. Vicki the owner is very friendly and helpful nothing to much trouble. The bed is very comfortable, everything seems as if a lot of thought has gone into it down to a small torch each side of the bed and everything you could think of in between. The cottage is set in a very private bush setting.
Great breakfast provisions are provided also a complementary welcoming generous cheese platter on arrival. I have never said this before about any accommodation, but Roosters Rest was like home away from home for us.
Our only regret is we only booked a one night stay, we will definitely be staying here again and have been recommending it to our friends and family.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TasmaniaJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki S, Owner at Roosters Rest, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

So many of our guests call it there home away from home which we are so happy to hear that you feel comfortable enough to call it home.
We look forward to your return visit and am sure it will be the same with some updates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2017

What a fabulous place to start our week off in Tasmania.
After arriving on the Spirit of Tasmania we made our way to Port Sorrell approx 15 kms away.
We were met on arrival by Nicole who showed us to our home away from home.
I had phoned earlier to say approx what time we would be arriving and she had said she would put some quiche in the fridge for an easy meal.

Well what can I say except that we were blown away not only by the amount of food but the quality. We didn't get through all the provisions in the 2 nights we stayed.

Lovely and quiet surroundings and beautifully appointed accomodation, including the lovely thick white towels.

Nothing at all to complain about here and would definately stay again.

If was was to make a negative comment at all it would be to say the couches are showing signs of wear.

Had a fabulous 2 nights here and would highly recommend.

Room tip: We had the whole house for the 2 of us. It did also have a loft bedroom which slept 3 plus another single bed in the very large laundry.
Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Betsy1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki S, Owner at Roosters Rest, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2017

Glad that you had enjoyed your stay. We try to leave a light meal for guests coming in off the Sprit knowing that the voyage can be a little rough going. We pride ourselves in the little extras and know that this can make the difference to a pleasurable Tasmanian experience. As we love this slice of Australia. Look forward to your return with some new couches installed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2017

My husband and I stayed at this place as it was god friendly and looked very nice in the pictures. All we can say is 'WOW!'. This place has it in buckets and it still overflows! The house was in an immaculate condition and set in beautiful surrounds. Just hearing the birds all around was wonderful. Upon arrival, we were met with a lovely host. There was a cheese platter and fruit in the fridge. As for the breakfast provisions....there was so many different chooses of cereals (the gluten free one is superb) and more than enough bacon, eggs, orange juice and assorted of teas and coffees that I have seen before in any accommodation. This place is so good that we had to really make an effort to go sight see!. Thanks again and we WILL definitely be back and we WILL be definitely recommending this place to all our family and friends. Thank you so much for your hospitality and keep it going! Kate, Jack and Lulu the pug.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KatyS702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki S, Owner at Roosters Rest, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2017

So pleased Lulu was able to enjoy her holiday as well and so well behaved. Loved having you here and we would love to have the pug association contact us for further information on how we can make dogs and there owner comfortable. Safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2017

Wonderful 2 nights at this beautiful cottage in a little oasis and would loved to have stayed longer. Proprietors very welcoming and complimentary food/drink was very thoughtful of them. They go above and beyond any expectations we may have had!

Visiting Tasmania? Do not hesitate to stay at 'Roosters Rest'

Room tip: Roosters Rest is a 1 bedroom cottage.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kevinjkmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki S, Owner at Roosters Rest, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2017

Glad you enjoyed your stay and the weather was kind to you that you were able to take advantage of the patio and the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

Cottage was beautiful, everything you need and the cheese and fruit platter was yummy and so unexpected. The cottage was spacious and comfortable and the colour scheme was lovely. The only thing if it rains you get soaked packing the car as it's away from the cottage.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jonhan1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki S, Owner at Roosters Rest, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2017

Stop over is never long enough. We are looking at getting a carport installed near Seabright as we too get wet, which is rather annoying. I will also remember to leave the umbrellas in the unit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews