We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Better than it looks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scamander Beach Hotel Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Scamander
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than it looks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Overall very good. Outdated and ugly outside but refurbished interiors really quite nice, very friendly and professional staff.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaudeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    36
    37
    23
    21
See reviews for
30
68
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My first impression on arrival to the car park was "oh no, what have we done". When exiting the lift on the way to our room we were confronted with dirty windows, dust, cobwebs and spiders. After a quick once over of the dirty walls and stained furnishings I quickly checked to make sure they sheets were clean.

The pool, while looking inviting, is cold (not perfect for Tasmanian weather) and is over looked by the dining room and what seemed to be the local pub.

The food however was FANTASTIC. Top marks to the chef!

This hotel is in desperate need of a good clean and general face lift.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scamander hotels

Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

this hotel seems to be old and maybe after it had been built up nobody paid any attention to it. although, the rooms are non smoking but they smell badly. the carpets are dirty, smelling and very old!

the only good thing was the quality of the meals at restuarant but you cannot enjoy the atmosphere at all! it is beside the road and you can easily hear every car! the heater is out of order and it was chilly at night! the blanket was so old and dirty you wouldn't dare to pull it over your neck! the only good thing about the room is ocean view

Room Tip: don't even try it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kayvan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is a 1970's style motel which has had an attempt at being updated without much success.
Rooms are very small,but nicely decorated. Bathroom has been renovated but is very small and the hand basin is way too high( I'm only 5' and basin came to mid chest height!). The balcony rail is rusty and has very little cover during bad weather,right near the beach,so plenty of wind. There is a sign at base of stairs saying to use lift during rain as stairs are slippery,but the lift only services rooms at one end of corridor.
We were advised to book at the restaurant,but by 5 o'clock, it was already booked out! Turns out it is the only place to eat in Scamander and no take-away either. We drove up to the next little town,Beaumaris,which had a motel which had a reasonable restaurant. The Scamander restaurant was also very expensive, but they have a captive audience so can charge what they like!
Continental breakfast was available in the dining room and this turned out to be crappy also. No real coffee,only International Roast and water from an urn,Weetbix,Rice Bubbles or muesli and sliced packet bread to toast.Even the toasters didn't all work!
Decor in the dining room was quaint, hand-made quilts alongside Asian style lamps and knitted Teddy bears?
I have no desire to return, 2 days were more than enough for my lifetime.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Forbes Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

This was our first family getaway - 2 adults and 3 kids (5yr old and 2yr old twins)
Management was very helpful with the accommodation of our adjoining rooms.
We stayed in the refurbished rooms (sounds like the rooms to be in) with great views over looking the play area straight to the ocean. The sunsets and sunrise were great views to see every day.
We stayed for 3 days and 2 nights and it was quite comfortable for us all.
Yen and his staff were always happy to assist with any request we had.
The Five Spice Restaurant was very nice and we ate there both nights. Breakfast was continental and cooked was an option (which went down a treat) and they accommodated for food allergies as well which was important for us.
Overall, we had a great stay and look forward to staying there for future family weekend aways.

Room Tip: Refurbished room is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bashir E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

I accepted a deal for three nights with continental breakfast from a promoter. The rooms were clean but poorly ventilated and the building is in serious need of renovations inside and out. We had a meal the first night which was tasty but totally over the top cost wise. 4 mini spring rolls were $10.50, $9 for a glass of reisling and $7.50 for Chardonnay. $25.50 for fish and chips and a salad with no dressing and $25.50 for a mild mussaman curry with dried chillie flakes to warm it up a bit. Rice was an extra $2.50. The cleaning staff were very polite and did an excellent job under difficult conditions. We will stop elsewhere in future.

Room Tip: As far away from the main road as possible. Perhaps one with an air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ringaroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

My Wife and I just enjoyed 4 worderful days at Tasmania and stayed for 3 nights at the Scamander Beach Resort.

This is a very nice Resort and we were very fortunate to have an extremely good room, with a wonderful view of the River and Ocean.

The Service at the Hotel, both in terms of room service and restaurant service was really great.

The manager - Yen and his staff provided a Friendly and Cooperative service.

It was a most enjoyable and relaxing holiday. I have noting but praise for this Resort and its Staff.

Keep up the Good Work.

Joe & Maria

Room Tip: Ask for a Delux Room that has recently been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fazzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scamander
0.4 km away
Pelican Sands Scamander
Pelican Sands Scamander
#1 of 3 in Scamander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
15.6 km away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
15.4 km away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
#2 of 3 in Scamander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
15.6 km away
Hillcrest Tourist Park
Hillcrest Tourist Park
#10 of 11 in St Helens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
14.4 km away
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scamander Beach Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scamander Beach Hotel Motel

Property: Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
Address: 158 - 164 Scamander Avenue, Scamander, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Scamander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Scamander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Scamander Beach Hotel Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel motel is positioned on Tasmania's mild, sunny east coast within easy access of beautiful sandy beaches. Relax on your own balcony or enjoy a swim in our pool; sit in our gardens with a good book or discover native wildlife in close-by nature reserves. Daily meals of lunch and dinner are available from our family bistro and bar. Our Ocean View and River View rooms provide spectacular panoramic views from private balconies of the ocean and Scamander River. Our garden rooms open onto a secure children's play area and gardens, ideal for relaxing while watching the children play. Off-street parking and a guest laundry are also on site. We have a well stocked bottle-shop, Keno & UBET, available in both the Beach Bistro and Sand Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Scamander Beach Hotel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scamander Beach Hotel Scamander
Best Western Scamander
Scamander Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing