We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
106
27
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
27
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two bedroom apartment guest house is within walking distance open fire lovely furnishings continental breakfast was included two storey a great nights sleep a fantastic place to stay comfortable beds couple of nights off street parking comfortable stay excellent accommodation amazing location lovely view visit stanley
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 136 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
6343
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Be aware that this is not a B&B but a guesthouse. However, there is a breakfast cafe within walking distance down the street. Our room had a separate entrance from the outside. What we enjoyed most was the shower in the bath and was very nicely appointed and clean.

Stanley is a very nice place to visit. Unfortunately, we only spent one night and the area deserves more time. This facility is a historic building once the Bay View Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2009

Stay at least 2 nights, at $99 it's a total bargain! Friendly welcome, a town steeped in history and geared up for cultural tourism. Eat at the Stanley Hotel, you will not be disappointed. Ride the chairlift to the Nut and spend an afternoon at Highfield House. We didn't have time to do a seal tour but that looked good.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank packaporte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2009

Stanley seems to be full of guest-houses and I think we got one of the better ones. Most, including this one, do not offer breakfast, so bear this in mind when contemplating your accommodation requirements (ie they are not B&B)

Dennis at BVG is very amiable and made us feel very welcome. He knows alot about the history of the guesthouse and has a good knowledge of the area and things to do.

There are three rooms in the main residence, plus a family room on one of the sides (so four rooms in total). Our room was exceptionally well appointed with a kitchen alcove offering the usual facilities bit also cooking equipment and utensils if eating at "home' was preferred (note no stove/oven though).

The guesthouse is perfecty located and is an easy walk to all the key sights and shops of Stanley.

Parking is easy - either right out the front on the street or there is off-street parking if desired.

At $99 per night, we would definately stay here again. A great place!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Euan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2009

We had a wonderful time staying at the Bay View Guesthouse. the location is superb, right at the base of the nut and walking distance to everything in town. We had a two bedroom two storey house, with fantastic bedrooms, bathroom and very large kitchen/dining/living room. The owners were very friendly - and exceptionally honest as we unknowingly overpaid them, and they sent us a cheque back in the post! Hightly recommended as a base for seeing the northwest of Tasmania.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2008

For anyone visiting Stanely look no further. Make this your place to stay. The location is great with The Nut literally behind the establishment. The rooms are all you can ask for with lovely furnishings and plenty of room. Best of all are the owners. They are friendly and very accomodating. We arrived late to the hotel and were afraid we wouldn't be albe to get in. But a key and room was waiting for us with a nice note. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam100089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews