We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gorgeous guest house with a lovely view and well priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay View Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 8 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We were very happy with our room for the price (compared to what we had been paying in the rest of Tasmania). The owners were very friendly. We had a nice view from our room and it was just a short walk into the main shopping part of town. I highly recommend Xanders for dinner. There is a microwave and electric frypan in the the room.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvettesaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2011

Be aware that this is not a B&B but a guesthouse. However, there is a breakfast cafe within walking distance down the street. Our room had a separate entrance from the outside. What we enjoyed most was the shower in the bath and was very nicely appointed and clean.

Stanley is a very nice place to visit. Unfortunately, we only spent one night and the area deserves more time. This facility is a historic building once the Bay View Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k2iks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

Stay at least 2 nights, at $99 it's a total bargain! Friendly welcome, a town steeped in history and geared up for cultural tourism. Eat at the Stanley Hotel, you will not be disappointed. Ride the chairlift to the Nut and spend an afternoon at Highfield House. We didn't have time to do a seal tour but that looked good.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank packaporte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Stanley seems to be full of guest-houses and I think we got one of the better ones. Most, including this one, do not offer breakfast, so bear this in mind when contemplating your accommodation requirements (ie they are not B&B)

Dennis at BVG is very amiable and made us feel very welcome. He knows alot about the history of the guesthouse and has a good knowledge of the area and things to do.

There are three rooms in the main residence, plus a family room on one of the sides (so four rooms in total). Our room was exceptionally well appointed with a kitchen alcove offering the usual facilities bit also cooking equipment and utensils if eating at "home' was preferred (note no stove/oven though).

The guesthouse is perfecty located and is an easy walk to all the key sights and shops of Stanley.

Parking is easy - either right out the front on the street or there is off-street parking if desired.

At $99 per night, we would definately stay here again. A great place!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Euan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2009

We had a wonderful time staying at the Bay View Guesthouse. the location is superb, right at the base of the nut and walking distance to everything in town. We had a two bedroom two storey house, with fantastic bedrooms, bathroom and very large kitchen/dining/living room. The owners were very friendly - and exceptionally honest as we unknowingly overpaid them, and they sent us a cheque back in the post! Hightly recommended as a base for seeing the northwest of Tasmania.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2008

For anyone visiting Stanely look no further. Make this your place to stay. The location is great with The Nut literally behind the establishment. The rooms are all you can ask for with lovely furnishings and plenty of room. Best of all are the owners. They are friendly and very accomodating. We arrived late to the hotel and were afraid we wouldn't be albe to get in. But a key and room was waiting for us with a nice note. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam100089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2008

We have just returned to Launceston after spending 2 nights at the Bay View Guest house. The Guest House in Stanley has a superb location, with a view across the bay and easy walking to the cafes, restaurants and the nut. Our room was gorgeous, with the most comfortable queen size bed, quality linen and towels. Everything was exceptionally clean and modern. We dined out both evenings, however the guest room has facilities which would enable you to be very self sufficient if you so desired! We made sure we started our mornings by pulling open the curtains, making a quality cup of coffee (provided in your tariff), jumping back into bed and gazing out of the window at the bay and stunned by the peace and silence of Stanley. Our guest room, would easily rate at an equivalent standard to that of the Marriott in Sydney and the Hotel Intercontinental, we have stayed at both, with the quality of the Italian Marble in the Bathroom, Sheridan towels and Linen. Our hosts Caroline and Dennis, along with their 2 girls are passionate about providing quality accommodation at an exceptional price, we paid just $99 per night, quite Unbelievable and the best $99 we have ever spent!! We loved our time in Stanley, we both know this had a huge amount to do with the Bay View Guest House, it exceeded our expectations and we will definitely be returning. As an added note Caroline and Dennis are just about to complete a fourth guest room for family's or larger travelling groups - wonderful! If you are looking for a wonderful place to stay, with lovely views, then truly - look no further :)

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nalagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanley hotels
0.5 km away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
205 reviews
1.6 km away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
535 reviews
0.2 km away
Stanley Village Waterfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#3 of 8 in Stanley
228 reviews
0 km away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 8 in Stanley
209 reviews
0.1 km away
On the Terrace
On the Terrace
#8 of 8 in Stanley
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Guesthouse

Address: 16 Alexander Tce, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range: $120 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1949, The Bay View has had a colourful history. From its humble days as a pub from the 1800's to the 1970s it was left stripped and abandoned almost on the verge of being demolished. Over the next 15 years it underwent change and renovation into the building it is today....do not judge a book by its cover. Her bold colour assures the Bay View never blends into the background; she stands proud and refuses to be missed, but her interior is calm, quiet and relaxing that reflect the history of the building and incorporate some modern creature comforts. Sitting on 3/4 acre of land, the Bay View boasts views from every angle and window, private courtyards verandahs, private balconies and a wandering garden full of trees, flowers and wildlife, so sit back with a hot cuppa, or a glass of wine while the kids play, we are all about family and relaxing and enjoying everything the Bay View and Stanley have to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bay View Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View Guesthouse Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing