We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,088)
Filter reviews
1,088 results
Traveller rating
246
424
268
89
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
424
268
89
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet dinner hilltop room hilltop executive split level gordon river cruise harbour view executive room hill top waterfront cottages main building two nights great room mini bar hamers hotel macquarie harbour wilderness railway spa bath
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 1,088 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2018

We stayed at Strahan Village over Christmas for 4 nights in a Hilltop Harbour View Executive Room. The room was on the top floor. It was spacious with a balcony and a nice seating area and it offered the lovely view we had hoped for. It was clean and well-kept though lacking a bit of style.
The major part of the village centre seems to be owned by one enterprise, like e.g. Hamer's Restaurant where we had pleasant seafood dinners on three evenings. On Christmas Day we decided to join the Buffet Dinner at the View 42° Restaurant inside the Hilltop complex. There was a great variety of good quality food, and it was great fun being able to celebrate a typical Christmas party with crowns and crackers amidst guests from all parts of the world. They also have a bar where you can sip your sundowner.
Strahan is a calm village but you can book a river cruise or a railway tour and there is also daily theatre performances and obviously also the beach a few miles outside of town. We also loved the walk to Hogarth Falls through the fern tree jungle. We even were lucky enough to see a platypus swimming in the creek and it made us feel real happy...

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2018

Only one night here, lovely clean room with a gorgeous view of the harbour, wish we had come here first and spent the 2 nights....yummy breakfast before we were off to Campbell Town. Would highly recommend...

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank happyfeet481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2018

Good hotel - I'd suggest booking a Hill Top Suite with a view - I wouldn't want to have been staying in a room at the rear. Nice room with a split level sunken seating area and great view over Strahan with a balcony! Super comfy bed. Room was clean and neat and warm - if not a little dated. Tea/coffee facilities and bar fridge - and plenty of free parking. We were there in winter and unfortunately the great seafood buffet restaurant I'd read all about was closed! Really disappointed. Not much other choice as Strahan is so small but we did eat at the Restaurant in the pub which was really good food. Saying all that, if ever travelling through Strahan again, I would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank splasko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2018

We just stayed one night in this hotel. It's mid winter and cold but we walked into the warmest room which was so welcoming. The room was an all round surprise. We were on the top floor. There was a small sitting room on a slightly lower level than the bed area and then a balcony outside with a stunning view. It was very pleasant and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The king bed was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2018

Great Location, View to die for. Very comfortable beds, in fact the most comfortable beds when stayed in on our 11 day trip. Very clean rooms. Staff friendly and helpful. especially the bar man. Great location for Gordon river cruise and restaurants in town. Will certainly stay there again and for a longer period if time. We felt we were on our second honeymoon. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews