We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cabins in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swansea Beach Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cabins in a great location”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Cabins are great, everything you need and plenty of space for our family (2 young kids), not much privacy though as there are many other cabins close by with views in your window. Also caravan park on site. Nice little play area for kids, and outdoor pool. The site looks over the water which is just so lovely (love East Coast Tas!) and its wonderful to be right on the beach. Also just up the road from Barkmill Tavern (bakery and undercover playground are excellent)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TasPahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    92
    23
    8
    8
See reviews for
97
115
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed one night in a powered site almost on the beach. The view was spectacular. Pretty good facilities. Restaurants etc are probably not in walking distance

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed at Swansea Beach Chalets in Jan 2012. The website portrayed Swansea Beach Chalets as private beachfront chalets. We were disappointed when we arrived to discover it was actually upmarket cabins attached to a caravan park. Cabim was really good quality, very modern and the views wonderful. However very closely packed together and also very expensive for a cabin in caravan park. We felt cheated by the misleading nature of website.

Still Swansea is a pretty place to visit.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tasman2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We only stayed one night on the small village of Swansea and book a studio chalet. Check in was efficient and quick. Chalet was good but a bit on the small side, which was fine for the one night. Beds were comfortable and bath room fine. There are a few options for dinner in the village and all are a short walk away, menu's provided in the room. By 8pm most kitchens close so be on time. Owners were friendly. Wifi available at a small charge. Can definitely recommend to stay here (as well as the other properties of staytasmania)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritchy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

we booked this property through flight centre and paid for it . When we arrived we had the paperwork with us with the booking number and the confirmation . We were told that we had cancelled and were given an e-mail with another booking number that had been cancelled . We were told that the room we had booked had been given away but we could have another but as we had not paid we would have to pay for it . We were also told we needed to check with our bank to see if we had money , then it was suggested that that one of our party had cancelled and not told the other 3 of us and that had we booked direct there would have been no mistakes . We stayed at swansea motor inn[1/2 the price]. Flight centre have seeked the problem- apparently the property's fault and our money has been reinbersed .

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alison s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We only stayed 1 night here but we wished we could have stayed 2! We stayed in an ocean view cabin and it was perfect! Very clean, included everything u needed for a comfortable stay and was within walking distance to everything around town. Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezza4532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Stayed here on a 2 week family trip along north and east Tasmania in October. Me, wife and 2 kids. We stayed for 2 nights. We stayed in a 2 bedroom waterfront chalet.

You get a main bedroom, a room with 2 double bunk beds and a kitchenette/lounge/diner. The main bedroom is adequate for what you need. The other bedroom is so small that the storage cupboard door cannot be opened properly. There is almost no storage in the cabin so the children’s bedroom cupboard has been used to shove some brooms and cleaning equipment in as opposed to being able to be used for clothes storage! The bath/shower is fine. The lounge area had 2 double sofas so no issue here.

The kitchenette is minimal which is lucky because you have minimal equipment. You cannot really do more than some basic “pour a tin in a saucepan and heat” type stuff. There is no oven. A small stove top, toaster and microwave are the extent of your indoor cooking options. There are 2 BBQs on site. I am more than happy to cook on a BBQ found in your local park. But these - no. A serious clean would have done them a great favour but really the whole BBQ area needed a bit of a spruce up. Needless to say we didn’t cook on them (which in Oz is unacceptable).

Now I normally don’t get too bothered about the occasional insect especially in Oz. However, we had to battle to keep food away from the resident ant colony. This was partly due to the very limited storage situation which means that food was kept on benches or on bags on the floor. The reason I mention this is because the owners (I assume) had provided some “Ant-Rid” to deal with the issue. If it has been acknowledged as a problem, why not deal with it properly? Perhaps it’s time for a pest control spray around the cabins?

Onsite service was underwhelming. We arrived late afternoon. Went to the beach and played and swum. Yes the water is not that warm but it was still beautiful. Then relaxed a little, unpacked and checked out what the cabin had to offer. We discovered a number of things in the cabin which needed fixing or we could not get to work. We advised the gentleman who was in the reception area (which was all of 75 metres from our cabin) and, unfortunately, he was unable to assist with our requests until the following day. Furthermore, he blamed the previous occupants for the issues, providing comments about them which were unnecessary. This came across as being a poor excuse for not being bothered to double check a cabin about whose previous visitors you had some concerns...

Swansea itself is a small town but seemed to be a pleasant location with kid friendly beaches. One of the reasons that we picked Swansea Beach Chalets was because of the direct view over the beach. It is a great little beach which is safe to swim in as there are minimal waves and it is relatively shallow. Great for those with younger kids. The view from our cabin was outstanding and sitting on the deck or balcony with a coldie watching the kids on the beach as the sun went down was memorable. (Also, if you get a chance try out Kate’s Berry Farm – great (albeit pricey) scone teas, the best vanilla ice cream I have had for a very, very long time which I do not say lightly and some excellent spicy tomato sauce).

But back to the chalets. I think the pool (not that we would have used it with a beautiful bay at the doorstep) area summed up the place at this time of year (October). It was low season. On the website it says “Swansea Beach Chalets offers a full range of facilities, such as swimming pool...” but once you get there it says that the pool is not available during this period (maybe hidden in some not so obvious small print on the website?). So the pool is a “wonderful” shade of green/grey (think slime). Not appealing on the eye. There is a cover at the end of the pool – why not use it? At least it’ll make the place look like you care. Also, there were a couple of plastic chairs on the balcony for extra seating but they were filthy to the point of not even worth bothering to try to clean them. Oh and as for the games room you can put that in the pool category...

Would I stay here again? Swansea – yes. The chalets – no. For the money you are paying the “chalets” are way, way overpriced. There seemed to be a fair few local rental houses available with some of these right on the beach too – we’ll be giving these a try next time...

Room Tip: Call around local agents and stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Essexboy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
4.1 km away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
442 reviews
0.9 km away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
292 reviews
19.0 km away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Hamptons on the Bay
Hamptons on the Bay
#3 of 8 in Swansea
139 reviews
15.7 km away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
391 reviews
1.3 km away
Swansea Holiday Park  Schouten Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swansea Beach Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swansea Beach Chalets

Property: Swansea Beach Chalets
Address: Shaw Street, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swansea Beach Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying spectacular views of the Freycinet National Park over Great Oyster Bay, Swansea Beach Chalets are located on Jubilee Beach in the historic east coast township of Swansea in Tasmania. The chalets in Swansea have been sited to maximize the property's coastal location with some chalets offering uninterrupted water views and the property has direct access to a sheltered swimming beach. Swansea Beach Chalets has a variety of chalets catering for the touring couple or holiday family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Swansea Beach Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swansea Beach Chalets Hotel Swansea
Swansea Beach Chalets Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing