We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveller rating
102
135
111
86
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
135
111
86
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course salmon run restaurant indoor and outdoor pools tennis courts cedar point private beach nice resort nature preserve mill creek main lobby pool towels mini fridge bit dated room was clean and comfortable a nice place to stay fireplace brunch
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 494 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2018

We found the Lodge at Sawmill Creekl somewhat disappointing. Although the rooms are nicely appointed, there was no refrigerator in the room, no safe, the hangers were awkward to use, and the wi-fi was poor. The coffee shop was closed when we went there at 9:00 am. The hallways were teeming with children and we found it difficult to sleep. Staff were very friendly and the food in the restaurant was excellent. A good venue for families with children.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halsey F, Guest Relations Manager at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Thank you very much for the feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't fully enjoy your stay. We would love to have you back again so if you would like to give us another chance, please email me at hfletcher@sawmillcreekresort.com and I'll see if there is anything I can do for you. Thank you again and I hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

This was our second stay at Sawmill. What impressed me is one of the female staff in the gift shop remember us. So another purchase of clothes, we were greeted when we first walked in. We explored the grounds and found a gazebo where we watched a beautiful sunset along the shore line. The resort is beautiful and clean so are the rooms. The pool was refreshing after a long day We had a tasty breakfast and the bar had a live band. We will be back in the near future.

Trip20

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halsey F, Guest Relations Manager at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Thank you so much for your review! We would love to have you back! Please email me at hfletcher@sawmillcreekresort.com when you're ready to come back! Thank you again for the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Came in on a Friday. This is a big place. Very clean. I thought I booked a room with breakfast. Told no. Do you have a shuttle to take us to Sandusky. Told no. In room coffee was very weak but Nicole helped us out by giving us more coffee and keeping the room clean. No free paper. Outdoor pool was nice. Beach was nice. Breakfast buffet was good but again hard to get service. Went to the bar to order a drink and a to go order and again watied and left. Went to deli and was quickly served. Marina was nice but again rules on where to park. Paid more t hen my brother in law which also was upsetting

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thunderous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halsey F, Guest Relations Manager at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Thank you for your feedback and review. Could you email me at hfletcher@sawmillcreekresort.com so I can look into your past reservation and see why you may have been charged more? It may have to do with room style or booking through a third party, but I'd definitely like to look into this for you. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

The zip line adventure is through an outside company (Common Ground) it is NOT located at the resort. If you call the resort to make reservations, they transfer the call to Common Ground to set up your reservation. Common Ground does not know you called Sawmill Creek. (They don't realize you need to know where they ate. You don't realize that you need to ask) We arrived at the resort at the appropriate time only to find out that the zip line location was another half hour away. We called Common Ground, they were WONDERFUL & told us they would wait for us to arrive. The Sawmill Creek website does not name the zip line company nor offer their direct phone number. They need to give the credit to Common Ground. It is an excellent organization, very friendly to their guests and the environment. Common Ground gets a 5 star rating. Sawmill Creek needs to make it clear in their advertising that it's not at their location. What could have been a disappointment turned in to a lovely afternoon thanks to the kindness of the Common Ground people.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 438mistim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halsey F, Guest Relations Manager at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We do partner with Common Ground which is why you are transferred to them. I will speak with our marketing director and see if we can get this changed or at least worded appropriately. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

My family of 5 (2 adults and 3 kids) stayed at Sawmill Creek Resort the days leading up to Labor Day weekend of 2018 (Wed, Thur, Fri nights).

Overall, it is a nice place to stay at a reasonable price. My family has been coming out to Sandusky / Cedar Point from Michigan frequently for over 10 years now and never knew about Sawmill Creek. On this trip, we had the need to bring our dog (a pug) and this location allows dogs for a daily fee of $25. This seemed reasonable to us, so we decided to try out a new hotel.

“Resort” may be a slight stretch, but it is a charming hotel with old school pools (9 feet deep—which we don’t mind and our kids loved, but some people may want to know this in advance). There are two large pools: indoor and outdoor. There is a beach, but requires a car ride to get to and then a decent walk on a trail. It’s nice with a Volleyball net setup and a few other amenities. There are port-a-potties in this semi-remote location. There is a golf course and tennis courts (that looked aged and have seen better days), but we did not use these places, nor did we eat at the hotel restaurants and bars. There is a Tiki bar at the outdoor pool that presumably is used during the peek summer vacation times.

The room we reserved was the 2 double-beds with a small couch that has a pullout (Double-bed fireplace room). The room size is adequate for 5 people, but queen sized beds would make it much more comfortable for 5 people. The room also has a fireplace that we did not use since it was warm and had the AC on. There is a mini-fridge but no microwave in this particular model of room. There was a small flat screen TV (~32 inch), but not very large. The bathroom tub is outdated and looks to be circa late-70s or early 80s, but functional. The bathroom countertop appears to be updated with Corian-like surface.

Our biggest gripe was regarding the lack of a hot tub. When you have to spend an additional $9.95/day for resort fees, you expect a very large complex like this to have one or more working hot tubs. Front desk people said that they have a “therapeutic pool” and not a hot tub. This is a new one for us. We travel a lot and have stayed at many hotels, condos, and resorts over the years... what it really is, is a hot tub without hot water getting pumped through it. This is disappointing considering my wife would have liked to treat her knees and me, my back, to a hot tub for therapy and just relaxation.

This prevented us from giving a 5 star rating. The cost was reasonable for the room size and we would likely stay here again due to it’s proximity to Cedar Point and the ability to stay in a hotel with a dog. Not having the hot tub when the website made it look like they had one is the single biggest reason we would not stay here in addition to the smaller beds.

The uniqueness of the place is due to it’s charming decor of outdoorsy / cabin-like / lodge-like feel throughout the location from rooms, to pools, to lobby and other common areas both inside and out. This is a very nice touch. If you like a rustic and native American theme with wolves, bears, etc, then you’ll dig this place.

Here is our constructive ideas for management. If the fire code permits, provide at least one queen bed in these rooms for the likely family staying here, in your 5 person rooms so that the parents have a larger bed. 2 queens, if possible. Add TWO large hot tubs, one in and one outside. One last thing to mention is to spray for spiders. There were a decent amount of spiders outside on patios, deck chairs, door openings etc, but none inside that we saw...

These updates would go a far way, but you should KEEP YOUR PRICE POINT where it currently is. You might be able to get away with an extra $5 a night if you need to cover these upgrade costs, but don’t jack it up too much.

Sawmill Creek fills a void that gets some customers away from expensive un-pet-friendly places like Kalahari, Maui Sands, Cast-A-Way Bay, Cedar Point Breakers, etc... Many people don’t need (or want) a waterpark, if they’re going to Cedar Point anyways...

TRIP20

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halsey F, Guest Relations Manager at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Thank you so much for your review AND your feedback. I will pass along your ideas in our weekly staff meetings! Having a hot tub on property would be fantastic as well as our therapeutic tub (which would definitely help with back and knee pain)! We loved having you at Sawmill and would love to have you back soon! Please email me at hfletcher@sawmillcreekresort.com!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews