We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic Experience

We originally came in to make our own glass Christmas ornaments, which was a really good time, but... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Jen K
,
Lewis Center, Ohio
Great Glass Museum and Gift Shop

Nice variety of displays, with knowledgeable docent. Friendly people. Displays rotate. Nice video... read more

Reviewed June 9, 2018
brez00
,
Springfield, Virginia
via mobile
Read all 50 reviews
  
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
34
13
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
13
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop a couple days christmas ornaments anchor demonstration artisan hicking classes companies ohio exhibits blown paperweight varieties home instructor docent
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 50 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2017

Fabulous glass Museum in Lancaster, Ohio -- which has long had the nickname "Glass City" due to Anchor Hocking being headquartered there for years.

Many glass ware companies are featured though ... as are many styles & varieties.

They also have wonderful classes and events for glass blowing. Grat instructors as well for these. We've had the chance to take two separate classes, one for ornaments and one for a paperweight. both were excellent and we felt we learned a lot and ended up with a nice hand crafted project to take home. NOTE - your glass projects need to stay and cure for a couple days, so you'll need to stop back by and pick up later. If you are from out of town you can have them shipped to you.

Definitely worth the visit if you're interested in glass!

Date of experience: December 2016
2  Thank JAYBB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2017

Seeing the history of glass in the region (Hocking Hills is the Hocking in anchor Hocking) was really interesting and the glass blowing demonstration was great. We even bought the piece he made and picked it up on the drive home from our trip.

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank Draugnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2017 via mobile

My wife really enjoys this place and always brings home some of the Anchor glassware as well. They also have some beautiful glass made there in their studio. Worth the stop!

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank oODouglasOo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2017

This glass museum has alot of interesting rooms such as the Vault Room; theme collections in the main gallery; glass blowing demo; educational video; and a gift shop. It was quite interesting to learn more about Ohio's early glass development. Kudos to Mike for such a fabulous museum.

Date of experience: May 2017
3  Thank Pepsi38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2017

Docents are knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Film is informative touching social history as well as the story of how pervasive glass production was in Ohio's economy in years gone by. The glassblowing demonstration is well done. The pristine glass display cases are filled with colorful pieces of glass, arranged to tell the story of Ohio's role in American glass production.

Date of experience: May 2017
2  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews