We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME, relaxing get-away!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Logan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Resort at Blackjack Crossing
Ranked #25 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Logan
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME, relaxing get-away!”
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We were pretty scared when we saw the reviews online for the cabins. We found them after purchasing our 2 nights. However, we took the chance and went anyway! We were SO glad that we did! It was by far the best mini-vacation we've ever had!
The place was amazing and everything we were hoping for!! It had a huge hot tub which we spent a lot of time in (loving the fact that it was totally private)! The fireplace was beautiful and wood was already there for us (for free)! The interior was so pretty with all the wood! There was even fresh flowers on the table to greet us! Everything was extremely clean! There were some games and books/ magazines for entertainment. And we were able to bring our dog without an extra charge!
The view was beautiful! We saw deer one day from the hot tub! We loved how close it was to Old Man's Cave. We didn't even realize how gorgeous those trails were going to be when we decided to go for a hike! It was AMAZING! We ate at an awesome bbq place (also very close)!!
The only things we noticed in our cabin were a wobbly bed in the one room (so we just used the other) and the tv was missing a cord that connected it to the dvd player. But, this actually was a blessing in disguise because we just turned on the radio and enjoyed talking and being without distractions! :)
They also offer great last minute deals, and we never had to pick up a key or drop it off! It was perfect!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixiedust2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    9
    2
    7
    22
See reviews for
18
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The “deluxe” cabin at caveman retreats was the most disgusting, repulsive, filthy and probably unhealthy place I have ever slept (or stay overnight). The cabin was filled with flys and I mean filled. I killed and swept up over 50 flies then hung up fly paper which caught about 10 more…there were still flys there when we left. Nastiest place ever, we cooked and ate everything outside (lucky it was nice out) tried to sleep but after seeing the flys and roaches crawling around it was very tough hot tub broke during the stay. Management was not helpful. Nasty nasty, nasty place. I cannot image running a place and taking no pride in the service I proved. These people obviously do not care about their customers. We stay in cabins around Hocking Hills a few times a year and all have been great, except this hole. Speaking of hole that’s about all the stocked pond is. STAY AWAY AT ALL COSTS!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snidro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Hocking Hills is beautiful. Too bad Blackjack crossing gives it a bad name. When I booked the cabin the owner told me the pool had a "leak" but there would be people there in the next several days to fix it. She also said if it wasn't fixed we could go to a neighboring pool. ??? I emailed her a week before our stay to ask if the pool was fixed and she never replied to my email. When we got there, the pool appeared as though it hadn't been used in years (think "pool at campsite on National Lampoon's Vacation camping stay").

The owner left me a voicemail on our way to Hocking Hills saying she had switched us from cabin 4 to cabin 2 because of air conditioning issues. This left us with a shared fire ring with cabin 3 even though the fire ring is the one thing I specifically requested. Also, the website promised a bundle of firewood daily. The first day there we had approximately 6 small branch-sized pieces of wood and half of a split log in our firewood holder. We did not receive any firewood after that and had to go to the store to purchase some.

The website also touted queen sized beds. Ours were full size. There was no soap as promised and the hot tub didn't work. The grill was supposed to be gas according to the website but guess what? Yep. So we had to buy charcoal. Not to mention the grill was filthy from the last guests. The "fully equipped kitchen" came complete with food left on the dishes from the last guests as well.

The driveway was absolutely treacherous. Most of it had washed away and the tahoe hardly made it up the driveway.

We loved Hocking Hills in spite of our accommodations. Find a better cabin and enjoy the beauty the park has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jcm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2010

In a nutshell, the mysterious "owners" should be removed from all Hocking Hills reservation websites. We reserved our cabin for a 2 night weekend stay and should have seen the red flags right away.We made the reservation online through the hockinghills.com website. Blackjack Crossing/Caveman Retreats charged our credit card for the full amount of our stay immediately rather than just a 50% deposit, didn't return one phone call at all and never used their business name when answering two other phone calls. Hmmm....avoiding collectors I presume.

Upon arrival our entrance pathway was completely treacherous with several inches of untouched ice on the stairs and pathway to the door. After lugging up all of our supplies we discovered our cabin was WITHOUT POWER! IN FEBRUARY. After calling 3 different possible contact numbers about the problem and leaving unreturned mesages each time, we discovered from looking at the electric meter outside that the electric company had actually shut off power to the cabin that day due to lack of payment.

Unbelievable.

We had to make last minute arrangements elsewhere for the weekend. Two days later, still no returned phone call from the "owners" of Blackjack Crossing. Thank goodness for Old Man Cave Chalets who provided us a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohiokids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2010

We stayed for 3 days in a log cabin with snow on ground. Built fire in fireplace, watched birds at feeders. Complete solitude & peace getting back to nature. This place really recharges your batteries. I would highly recommend to any soldier on the road of life, to kick back & relax in mother natures best.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beavereater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus,ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

I have gone to this place for years. The first time experience was unbelievable,everything was perfect and in place (that was 1996)
This time-not so good
When we got to the cabin,it smelled unclean-the toilets smelled of sulfur and mice droppings were on the kitchen counters.
The hot tub lid had a bottle cap still under it and the tub had a film around it.
The grill had a empty gas tank and when a new one was brought,I had to figure out how to reconnect it. After changing the tank, it was defective and we ended up cooking in the stove.
The pool was disgusting,it looked like it had not been cleaned all year.
Its too bad since I have always gone to this place in the past as it has surpassed all other cabins-guess I will have to look around next time

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joker023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Processing cabin rental was easy. Contact was good during that process.

Sun: Stayed in cabin #2 at BlackJack Crossing. Got a last minute deal for $100 a night. When we got to the area it looked great. First sign of trouble was when the "maid" had trouble getting the place to cool down. We happen to get there way early and stopped by to let someone know we were in town. We left and came back 3 hours later. When we got back maid told us that "owner??" was fixing a pipe under kitchen sink and would be back shortly with the repair items to fix it. When we got inside there was a urine smell. Once pipe was fixed we didn't notice smell. Kathy (who booked out cabin for us) was there as well. The staff that we met were great people. Also the cabin seemed cooler. Temp stayed at 75 degrees inside. We had no problems the first night other than the a/c wouldn't cool place lower than 75 even though it was set or 70. Oh and trying to guess what switch in the bathrooms was going to turn on the light. Did enjoyed the very nice hot tub that night.

Mon: Went out and enjoyed Hocking Hills area. Got back to cabin around 2 and notice inside was temp was up to 76. Walked the trail out behind cabin. Nothing fancy. Did see two deer in field. We left and went to Logan and when we got back to cabin temp was up to 80 degrees. The a/c had frozen. We called the number in cabin twice and left messages and we also called Kathy's cell phone number and left a mesage. We were NEVER contacted nor was the problem fixed. That night we opened all the windows and
had a restless sleep. We also turned a/c off over night in hopes that a/c would defrost.
Did try using hot tub but it was just wasn't enjoyable-everything seemed HOT.

Tues: Woke up and turned a/c back on. It worked! We had it set on 72 degrees and it kept the temp! We decided to get into hot tub before we walked Conkles Hollow and open the hot tub up. Now this is the first time we saw the hot tub in day light. I wanted to throw up. It was absolutley filthy and to think we had been relaxing in the crap! So we cleaned what we could and we even flipped the filter over in hopes that it might clean something. You know we shouldn't have to do things like this when you are renting a place! When we got back that night it looked better. It was cloudy but at least you could see the bottom and "things" weren't floating around. We did get in and soak but didn't stay long-couldn't stop thinking what it looked like! (Logan Lake seemed cleaner) We got out and took a really long hot shower.

Wed: Time to leave. A/C lines were starting to freeze up again. We saw a mouse in the cabin...that is no big deal but he didn't have to poop on top of stove :o) It was raining and we noticed that the ceiling was leaking down the wall by the fireplace area. We wondered why that area look like it had water damage. Also wooden ramp is slippery when wet.

Other things: Couch is terrible. Master bedroom mattress in uncomfortable. House has well water, so if you are not used to it, you will wonder why your water looks "dingy yellow" and you have brown looking icecubes. Another sign of trouble....the cabin had a visitor journal and several pages were torn out. I have never seen that many pages ever torn out of a travel journal. They also have a swimming pool on property with old water in it. Their web site says pool on site but it does not mention that it is out of commission.

Now there are some good things: Easy rental process. In a nice area. I think the cabins themselves are nice. Very nice hot tubs-(just wish they were clean). Only reason why I would not recommend this place is because they did not return any phone calls about problem a/c-had they I could of had them clean the hot tub as well.

Will I stay here again??? They would have to prove to me that they actually care about their customer and take care of problems.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyL6200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Logan
9.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
9.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
5.3 km away
The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Cherry Ridge Retreat
Cherry Ridge Retreat
#1 of 3 in New Plymouth
320 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Blackjack Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Blackjack Crossing

Property: The Resort at Blackjack Crossing
Address: 18170 State Route 664 South, Logan, OH 43138
Region: United States > Ohio > Logan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Logan
Number of rooms: 107
Also Known As:
The Resort At Blackjack Crossing Logan, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing