We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveller rating
192
93
54
37
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
192
93
54
37
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews copper mug gordon ramsey jacuzzi tub pool house landoll suite heated tiles continental breakfast mohican state park celtic music lawrence suite romantic weekend private balcony ghost walk event center on site restaurant delmonico steak ghost tour
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 411 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile

July is my birthday month and I was taken to Landoll's Mohican Castle for a birthday night. Even though, because of a work conflict, we weren't able to stay directly in the castle… I was very excited to stay at the Thane Cottage. The cottage offered privacy as well as a two person hot tub. A wonderful cottage to spend some time away. Dinner on site was awesome; we would recommend the Lynchburg lemonade with whatever you drink. . The staff at the guest office where awesome; I did not catch their names but it was a woman and man who were very friendly, very helpful, and fun. The continental breakfast was basic. Well I would say it's more of a place for couples and adults only because there did not seem to be a lot for kids to do, but then I would suggest check it out and speak with them. However, overall, a fantastic experience, atmosphere, and place to just relax, have a nice dinner, and spend a little downtime. Next time we will get a castle room.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank crv2crv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta C, Director of Sales at Landoll's Mohican Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

CRV2CRV,
Thanks for the review. We appreciate the feedback and the time you took to provide it.

While we have many couples that stay and dine with us, we also get many families wanting to experience a Castle adventure. The Loudonville/Mohican area is filled with great adventures for families and kids of all ages. Also, once our Pool & Fitness Center reopens, we expect to see lots of people enjoying the pool, hot tub and sauna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2016

This place is so unique, it is a must see! Landol's Tower (the room) was spacious and the natural light that comes in makes it beautiful. The Hardesty was a grand room and the bed was super comfortable. Both were well cleaned. The restaurant was very good but slightly expensive for a party of 4. The ghost tour was also a nice touch!

Room Tip: Peaceful and unique: bring a good book!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tanyaof2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta C, Director of Sales at Landoll's Mohican Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Tanyaof2002,
Thanks for your review. We appreciate the time you took to describe your stay and experience.

Also, we are glad you enjoyed the Landoll Suite and our ghost tour. The Landoll Suite is our signature suite that is in great demand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised by how enjoyable our stay was. The castle is less medieval, and more like a quaint little cottage exploded upwards with turrets and spiral staircases. Our room (which was not in the castle proper) was impeccably clean, and the gas fireplace added an enjoyable touch of atmosphere.

Dinner at the Gordon Ramsay restaurant, however, was disappointing. There were a couple of highlights (the tomato bisque had some kick and complexity to it that we weren't expecting, and the homemade blueberry jam that was brought out with the bread was a nice surprise), but the eye of round I ordered was tough and not particularly flavorful. Certainly not worth the $18 cost. I'd suggest you eat before you come, as there are no restaurants in the surrounding area to compete for business.

The continental breakfast was sparse, but functional. Wi-fi was slow, but it worked. Lobby service was always kind and courteous. Definitely ascend the Red Oak Tower to get an 360 degree aerial view of the surrounding landscape. We will likely return.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Samus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta C, Director of Sales at Landoll's Mohican Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2016

Samus, thank you for the review. Also, we appreciate the feedback on the restaurant.
When you return, try to book a room in the Castle. They are unique and luxurious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

Mouse in the house!!! While I was at first excited about the cute little cottage feel I want to let any family know that there are most definitely some issues with this home. It does feel "clean" and the bathroom tub is well done but mouse traps exists in the bathroom and kitchen and after night number one we found that a mouse had gotten into our snacks which were in bags on the counter. We also had a skunk spray the AC intake midway through night one and almost had to leave. This is sitting in the middle of the woods so it's to be expected that there's some ants and moths but mice I could do without.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
6  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta C, Director of Sales at Landoll's Mohican Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2016

Jennifer, thanks for your feedback. We appreciate your objectiveness and transparency.

Yes, you are correct, an old stone cottage in the woods is bound to attract mice if food is left out. We provide refrigerator and cabinets for appropriate storage of food. The Cottage is cleaned and inspected every day. We do the best we can to provide a cozy cottage in the woods, that is free of any type of critter. Being out in nature can be a constant battle to keep nature outdoors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

I had high expectations especially after reading that Gordon Ramsay had just been to the property for "Hotel Hell". Our food (beef stroganoff) was cold and the meat in the dish was terrible and tough. We didn't get our salads and when we asked the waitress about it her reply was "I don't know if it comes with a salad, but do you want one?" The menu clearly stated it came with a side salad. The food was WAY over priced but considering you don't have any other options for dining nearby you're kind of stuck with what is offered. The room we had was a whole other story....dirty doesn't even begin to describe it. We stayed in the Hardesty Suite. I dropped a piece of cheese on the floor and when I picked it up hair was on it and it wasn't a hair from someones head if you know what I mean! The faucet on the bathtub was literally falling off the wall, the shower had a very fast, non-stop drip ALL night, the bed sheets would not stay on the bed and they had a spot that looked like blood, the glasses in the bathroom had what appeared to be mold on them, you could only see the tv if you were literally standing in the kitchen and the grounds areas could have definitely used some cleaning up. We would have complained to the front desk clerk but it was pretty clear that it wouldn't have done us any good anyways. We went in the lobby 3 different times to ask a question and all 3 times there was a sign that said "will return soon." If it weren't for the fact that it cost us an arm and a leg to stay the night, we would have just left but instead we TRIED to get some sleep and left bright and early the next morning. We told the front desk clerk about the shower and her response was "I'll let maintenance know right away." Our response should have been "oh, you HAVE maintenance around here?" Long story short, save yourself a headache and a lot of money and stay elsewhere!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
10  Thank hijul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta C, Director of Sales at Landoll's Mohican Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2016

We are very sorry for your experience. As we have been making some changes, renovations, and experiencing growth, we have had to hire new employees. We appreciate the feedback on our service.

We invite you back to stay and dine. Please let our wait staff know to have the chef come out to hear about the food. He is always happy to talk with customers about their expectations and tries to deliver food that is sure to impress. We have had many wonderful reviews of our restaurant. However, we know that there is always room for improvement.

Many of our suites are in the process of having a number of fixtures and other items replaced. We will look into the issues you identified in this suite.

Finally, we are quickly trying to address a number of facilities and grounds projects. We have made tremendous headway this year, but still have some work to do.

Please come back to give us another try. We want to make sure you have a wonderful time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews