We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful Lake destination”

The Lighthouse Resort
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lighthouse Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2017

This is a family owned resort that was warm and friendly. Nice grounds with pool area party center and restaurant with patio view of Lake Erie.

The room was adequate and clean but could use some updating.

Room Tip: Only suites have a good lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dtowntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel was nice and clean. We had a king size bed with a kitchenette was really cool. The bed was really on the hard side and I usually like my bed stiffer but this was a little much. It had decent basic internet and cable. We did want to get a band aide and they didn't have any at all to buy or in emergency. We found the closest place to get then was take a left out of the parking lot and there's a dollor general 15 minutes that way roughly. The breakfast buffet that you had to pay for to eat at was really good but considering the price of the room. I felt that it was all a little over priced but the dinning room has a nice view of the lake. Over all really great stay just feel it was a bit pricey. One last thing it was very close to the lighthouse so it was convenient.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank shadowthrope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed, OFF-SEASON, two nights with a special rate for a wedding (held at the Marblehead Lighthouse Park) and the reception. The current owners seem to have improved the operation GREATLY from that of other reviews.
The lake view was excellent. The accessibility king room with refer/microwave was utilitarian and clean; the grounds were trim and inviting. The restaurant was seasonally closed; the bar hours were limited but with full food menu, and VERY cordial service. The accessible hospitality center was a gem for the reception; the only problem was a necessary trek to the hotel for a restroom. We would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank VICLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

The best thing about this hotel is location. It's right across the street from the lake and we enjoyed being able to eat breakfast outside overlooking the water. The hotel and rooms themselves though were pretty dated and not the cleanest. There was still trash in the wastebasket from the previous occupant and the bathroom wasn't cleaned as well as it should have been. I think this hotel has potential, it's just not there yet.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kat_arit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Our first view of the hotel included a large For Sale sign that made us leary from the get-go. The interior of the hotel is very dated with very dark hallways. The plus side is the outside is clean and grounds look well kept and in close proximity to the Marblehead Lighthouse. However, our main disappointments began with the toilet that ran continuously (had to shut the bathroom door during night to get rest) and I was appalled to turn back the bedspread to find BADLY stained bedsheets! A pleasant staff member came quickly to change the bed, but when we checked out the next morning the desk staff was unwilling to compensate for our unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jracsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

This was the perfect place for us to stay after a day on Kelley's Island. KI has ONLY one hotel which requires a 2 night min on weekends. Otherwise you have to stay at a B&B, which is not our style. The Lighthouse Resort is 1.1 miles from the ferry dock on Marblehead, making it a perfect location! There is a very nice pool and a beautiful view of the lake. The room was a little dated but clean and quite large. We had a jacuzzi room which included extra towels. The on-site bar/restaurant wasn't great but adequate if you don't want to leave the property. If you are looking for 5 star you aren't going to be close, however that doesn't exist in the Erie Islands area anywhere. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

This could be a fabulous little place but sadly it is not. Had encounters w 2 front desk clerks and both seemed like they would rather be somewhere else. When we first went into the room it smelled very old, stale and stuffy. At first glance bedspread looked old. Then my husband noticed none of the trash was emptied. We left for quite a few hours, came back and the room still smell old and stale the AC did not help. Got my water out of the mini fridge and it was slightly cooled, it was on the coldest temp. The bed was AWFUL!!! Disgusting bedspread, the blanket was old, cheap and pulled, NO MATTRESS PAD, in place where this waterproof lap pads babies use with a flat sheet thrown on top.

We tried this because in pictures it does look quaint but no way. You even have to take the Elevator to get to a vending machine. The whole hotel area like halls, etc are dated.

I called all of the hotels in the area that we have stayed and and know are nice to get out of here and sadly all sold out. If you want a nice clean, comfortable hotel this is not it!!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank doveyloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
12.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
5.6 km away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
308 reviews
14.8 km away
Put-in-Bay Condos
Put-in-Bay Condos
#1 of 8 in Put in Bay
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Lake Point Motel
Lake Point Motel
#2 of 7 in Marblehead
14 reviews
0.8 km away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse Resort

Address: 614 E Main St, Marblehead, OH 43440-2234
Region: United States > Ohio > Marblehead
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range: $128 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lighthouse Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Lighthouse Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lighthouse Hotel Marblehead
Lighthouse Hotel Marblehead
The Lighthouse Resort Marblehead, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing