We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing History and Tour

We had an amazing experience touring the house. Debbie was a phenomenal tour guide who really knew... read more

Reviewed August 26, 2018
TylerThieding
,
Aurora, Ohio
Excellent history!

The 45 min tour was very informative about Thomas Edison’s life. The tour guide Debbie was great... read more

Reviewed August 18, 2018
travelrelaxrepeat
,
Columbus, Ohio
via mobile
Read all 107 reviews
  
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
73
25
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
25
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his life tour guide his inventions knew her stuff check hours american history wonderful guide scavenger hunt quick tour minute tour historical museum great visit learn how early years great place to learn gift shop worth the trip
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 107 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2017

Small but interesting. Inexpensive. American history of an amazing man. He was born and raised in this house. Tour guides tell you all about his life and inventions.

Thank SweetFamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2017

We decided to stop here on our way home from a trip to Sandusky. After stopping by the office to get our tickets, our guide walked us over to begin the tour of Edison's birthplace. Edison was born here and lived here until he was 7 and his family moved. At that time, the house was sold and ownership changed hands several times. Edison repurchased the home over 50 years after his parents had sold it. After his death, his wife and daughter began to restore the home and opened it as a musuem on what would have been Edison's 100th birthday.

The tour takes you through the four rooms on the main floor as well as two upstairs bedrooms and the downstairs kitchen, as well as a quick look at the back yard which backs up to the canal. The house is filled with items that have been collected from members of the Edison family (some are his parents, it seemed much was his sisters). Other furniture, etc. are not known to have belonged to the Edison's but are period specific. Our guide said the floors were original to the home, but the house has been updated with heating / cooling. Our guide gave us a lot of information on the specific pieces in the house and information about the individuals pictured on the walls. I was surprised to hear her say that little was known about his 3 children from his first marriage because they were sent to live with relatives after his wife's death and his remarriage. A quick search on Google when I got home proved that quite a bit was known about these children, and in fact they had a poor relationship with his 2nd wife and didn't always hold favor with Edison. I'm not sure if the guide said this because she did not know much about them, or if was just a story the didn't want to dive into on the tour, but I think if it's part of his life, it's worth sharing.

The tour lasted roughly 45 minutes and then we went back to the office were we had the office tour, where another guide shared with us some information about the phonographs and other inventions of Edison.

Overall, the tour is well worth the money and is an experience I'm glad we made time for while in the area.

Thank ohmommy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taedison2014, Director at Thomas Edison Birthplace, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2017

Thank you so much for your review of your tour......now my job will be to find which of my employees told you that not much is known about Edison's first children! Thank you for coming and for your kind words. Cordially, Lois Wolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

This is a nice museum that is well worth the price. Many of the furnishings are as they were when Edison lived here as a child. What isn't either had family connections or are pieces from the period. Our tour guide, a former school teacher, was pleasant, very informative, and led a well-paced small group tour. We also enjoyed the demonstration of the Edison cylinder and disc players in the first building where you buy your tickets. Highly recommended, especially for Edison buffs.

Thank StigJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2017

The birthplace of Edison is a must see when in Mialn, Ohio. One marvels at the size of the house, and wonders how the Edisons ever lived in such a small place. Curators are very knowledgeable, too.

Thank Kath317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taedison2014, Director at Thomas Edison Birthplace, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2017

Thank you so much for the kind words! We who work at the Birthplace all feel honored to be able to tell the story of this great man. We know he wasn't perfect, but we know that his life and work made a real difference in the world. It's that energy that you saw. I hope you have a good rest of the summer. Cordially, Lois Wolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

This is a must see for historian buffs, antique lovers and children of all ages. The house is deceiving from the outside as it appears very small but actually it's quite spacious inside. Kids will love to see the vintage kitchen with the antique cooking tools. The stairs were very steep but worth the trip upstairs to see the bedroom with high windows. Our guide was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions. The gift shop in the visitors center had some vintage phonographs along with old records that still play!

Thank Traviata5013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taedison2014, Director at Thomas Edison Birthplace, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Thank you so much for your review! I'm very happy to know that you had a good time when you were here. Historically, Milan is full of surprises! Hope you have a good rest of your summer! Cordially, Lois Wolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews