We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing History and Tour

We had an amazing experience touring the house. Debbie was a phenomenal tour guide who really knew... read more

Reviewed August 26, 2018
TylerThieding
,
Aurora, Ohio
Excellent history!

The 45 min tour was very informative about Thomas Edison’s life. The tour guide Debbie was great... read more

Reviewed August 18, 2018
travelrelaxrepeat
,
Columbus, Ohio
via mobile
Read all 107 reviews
  
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
73
25
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
25
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his life tour guide his inventions knew her stuff check hours american history wonderful guide scavenger hunt quick tour minute tour historical museum great visit learn how early years great place to learn gift shop worth the trip
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 107 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2017

Vernon, the young guide, was very well informed and made the guided tour interesting. I learned a lot about Edison, his family, and community life at that time.

Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taedison2014, Director at Thomas Edison Birthplace, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! Vern is one of our new tour guides this year and he is doing an outstanding job. Please come back and visit us again! Lois J. Wolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

Great historical sight, knowledgeable and likable guides, as well as within walking distance of a second museum. Scavenger hunt to keep my 9 year old brother happy too. He got some free bubbles out of it.

Thank Austin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017

Small but interesting. Inexpensive. American history of an amazing man. He was born and raised in this house. Tour guides tell you all about his life and inventions.

Thank SweetFamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2017

We decided to stop here on our way home from a trip to Sandusky. After stopping by the office to get our tickets, our guide walked us over to begin the tour of Edison's birthplace. Edison was born here and lived here until he was 7 and his family moved. At that time, the house was sold and ownership changed hands several times. Edison repurchased the home over 50 years after his parents had sold it. After his death, his wife and daughter began to restore the home and opened it as a musuem on what would have been Edison's 100th birthday.

The tour takes you through the four rooms on the main floor as well as two upstairs bedrooms and the downstairs kitchen, as well as a quick look at the back yard which backs up to the canal. The house is filled with items that have been collected from members of the Edison family (some are his parents, it seemed much was his sisters). Other furniture, etc. are not known to have belonged to the Edison's but are period specific. Our guide said the floors were original to the home, but the house has been updated with heating / cooling. Our guide gave us a lot of information on the specific pieces in the house and information about the individuals pictured on the walls. I was surprised to hear her say that little was known about his 3 children from his first marriage because they were sent to live with relatives after his wife's death and his remarriage. A quick search on Google when I got home proved that quite a bit was known about these children, and in fact they had a poor relationship with his 2nd wife and didn't always hold favor with Edison. I'm not sure if the guide said this because she did not know much about them, or if was just a story the didn't want to dive into on the tour, but I think if it's part of his life, it's worth sharing.

The tour lasted roughly 45 minutes and then we went back to the office were we had the office tour, where another guide shared with us some information about the phonographs and other inventions of Edison.

Overall, the tour is well worth the money and is an experience I'm glad we made time for while in the area.

Thank ohmommy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taedison2014, Director at Thomas Edison Birthplace, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2017

Thank you so much for your review of your tour......now my job will be to find which of my employees told you that not much is known about Edison's first children! Thank you for coming and for your kind words. Cordially, Lois Wolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

This is a nice museum that is well worth the price. Many of the furnishings are as they were when Edison lived here as a child. What isn't either had family connections or are pieces from the period. Our tour guide, a former school teacher, was pleasant, very informative, and led a well-paced small group tour. We also enjoyed the demonstration of the Edison cylinder and disc players in the first building where you buy your tickets. Highly recommended, especially for Edison buffs.

Thank StigJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews