We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place for a Family one night getaway.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Sterling
Maineville, Ohio
1 review
“Great place for a Family one night getaway.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We enjoyed Deer Creek resort very much. Great rooms have amenities like TV, desks, fridge, extra sink, comfortable bedding and very clean. We spent the evening swimming in the heated pool and hot tub. In the evening we played pool and ate a large pizza with pepperoni, mushrooms, pineapple and extra cheese from the restaurant. There is a cotton candy machine outside the restaurant. The price was very good compared to the Columbus hotel market for similar lodging. There is lots of lounge space that overlooks the lake. We are planning another trip at the end of March.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FunFamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    81
    39
    36
    17
See reviews for
123
78
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newark ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

After our disastrous visit in March of 2011, my husband and I accepted their offer to return and give the lodge/restaurant one more try. We are glad we did. We had a lovely, renovated room overlooking the lake. This time there were comforters on the the bed so I was toasty warm and slept well both nights. Our first breakfast was good, the service was slow but we enjoyed our coffee and the view. :) Both nights dinner was very good and the service was very good compared to our last visit. We spoke to the new (30 days) Dining Room Manager, Stephanie and were very impressed with her professionalism and obvious knowledge of the restaurant business. She was active in the DR, seating people, clearing tables, visiting the tables etc. it was quite refreshing to see someone taking the time and interest to do her job well. It appears that they have made huge strides in the DR! I hope that she stays with them! When we checked out we were greeted with pleasant folks at the Front desk, the front desk manager and Joseph.
We enjoyed our stay and are glad that we were able to have a new experience at Deer Creek. We will be going back! I hope that Management realizes that the have gathered a good team and keeps them working together.

Room Tip: Lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank memeNewarkOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised at our recent stay at Deer Creek Lodge. We would love to visit again when it is warmer to get a better feel for the beauty of the lodge and the park.

Room Tip: A view of the lake is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyHWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed before in a cabin at Deer Creek. We have now stayed again, this time in a bunk room w/ our 4 kids. It was more convenient to get to the indoor pool from inside the lodge; but not having the kitchen increased our food expenditures.
The room was cleaner and nicer than I expected. This is a beautiful and well-kept lodge. The front desk staff have been professional & pleasant both stays. The indoor pool is large and was not crowded during our stay. It's probably one of the warmest indoor pools we've come across in hotels, although ideally it would be a few degrees warmer; at least the kid's lips aren't blue.
One area lacking: Most of the games in the arcade are broken. That's a disappointment for us!
Also, the food in the restuarant is good. But it's pricey, and they are always out of something and it takes forever.
On our last stay, there was severe flooding. We drove to the marina this time and noticed the area looked drained and shut-down at least long term if not permanently. We do not golf, I cannot comment on that. We also did not bring our archery equipment this time, and last time it was flooded; so have not seen the archery range yet to comment on it's state. The shooting range was closed off, but looks to be undergoing renovations to reopen.
On a side note, we drove through the campground and the sites looked large and private, with larger than usual pads.
I almost took off 1 star for the apparent loss of marina, as this park doesn't have that great of hiking compared to other state parks; it's losing activities! LOL But this review is for the lodge which is very nice for OH state park lodges.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 4kidsinatent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We recently stayed in a cottage at Deer Creek State Park. The view from the cottage of the lake was beautiful, even in winter. The corner gas fireplace made the space very cozy. The tv reception included the Big 10 network, so we did get to watch the OSU bb game. I did see a room at the lodge - beautiful! We had Sunday morning breakfast - omelets cooked to order were great. But - the bunk bed rooms were not as pictured on the website. The only thing on the bunk beds were the fitted bed sheets. The top sheet and a blanket were folded at the foot of the bed and one sheet was the wrong size. Making the beds with the top sheet and blanket were a pain. The beds are heavy and flush against the wall. I can see why there weren't made, because they were hard. The shower spray was very minimal. The table in the kitchen would seat 6, but if you pulled it away from the wall to get 6 chairs around it, you couldn't have opened the refrigerator door. It was very icy and even when we called to ask for ice removal on the walk ways, a very minimal amount of product was put down. We enjoyed ourselves, but were ready to go home after an overnight stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairborn, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We had a great stay in a newly renovated room during that overlooked the lake. The hotel labby setting area is very relaxing and the kids enjoyed the heated pool. This is a gret place to relax in their lobby by the warm fireplace to read a book or play board/card games with family and friends..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I used to come to this lodge as a child and loved it. I recently had a business seminar to attend here and wondered how the lodge had aged over the years. I has been taken very good care of and looks like it has been recently updated. I will be bringing my family back in the summer. Staff was super friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Sterling
24.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Circleville
31.9 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Washington Court House
22.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Washington Court House
Holiday Inn Express Washington C...
#1 of 3 in Washington Court House
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.6 km away
Christopher Inn & Suites
Christopher Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Chillicothe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
37.3 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chillicothe
31.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington Court House Jeffersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center

Property: Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center
Address: 22300 State Park Road 20, Mount Sterling, OH 43143-9542
Region: United States > Ohio > Mount Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by more than 3,100 tranquil acres, Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center is just 30 minutes south of Columbus, Ohio. We offer 110 guestrooms perfect for a quiet and romantic weekend getaway or a fun-filled family reunion. All lodge guestrooms have a private balcony or patio to give you a scenic view of the park, lake or outdoor pool. We also have 25 two-bedroom cottages (three with roll-in showers), each with a fully equipped kitchen, full bath, living room, dining area and a screened-in porch. Rafter's Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner; the gift shop operates seven days a week. Our 18-hole championship golf course is diverse, challenging and exciting for golfers of all skill levels. Other things to do: boating, fishing, hiking, cycling, camping, and many more recreational activities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Creek Hotel Mount Sterling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing