We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Erie Islands Resort Marina
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I was a bit hesitant to stay after reading some of the reviews, but having traveled a lot using tripadvisor I know that sometimes it pays to overlook some of the more nitpicky reviews, so I decided to stay and keep an open mind. I'm so glad I did! Our stay was really fun and relaxing.

The grounds are expansive and beautiful. I had very peaceful walks in the mornings, listening to the birds and watching the geese and swans. The outdoor pool is awesome! It is very large and best of all, there are plenty of pool chairs! I hate going to a resort where there are not enough chairs and people "reserve" theirs at 7am with their towels but don't show up until afternoon. That was not the case here. Getting a chair was not a problem at any time. And there is a great little inexpensive restaurant right at the pool as well as a pool bar serving cold drinks. Perfect.

We had a really fun time at the bar in the hotel as well. It's cozy and intimate - but big enough to have that fun "buzz" when full of people in the evening. The dinner was enjoyable. The food was good and cooked to perfection. There was nice music, candlelight and flowers - very romantic. Our room was clean and very nice as well. The staff members we had contact with with were friendly and helpful.

I'm not quite sure why some people complain about the location. It's far enough "away from it all" to be quiet and peaceful, but close enough to be very convenient. Downtown Port Clinton and the Jet Express to Put-in-Bay are less than 5 miles away! That's okay by me.

Best of all was the value! We had looked into staying elsewhere in Port Clinton and everything above 2 stars was very expensive on the weekends. The Holiday Inn Express was $225 a night! Yikes! Overall we were very pleased and would not hesitate to stay again.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cenote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Manager at Erie Islands Resort Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

We are pleased you had wonderful time at our resort and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Thank you,
Michelle Bartholomew
CFO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

We recently stayed at this resort in Port Clinton and also visited Put In Bay. Our stay was relaxing and enjoyable. We spent one day just lounging around the resort and enjoying the peace and quiet. Our room was very clean and it was nice to have the option of an indoor/outdoor pool. We also took advantage of some of the services offered by their spa! What a treat. If you come to the area you should really take the time to see the islands as well. Lots of things to do in the area and the Jet Express was only a few minutes away from the resort. All in all it was a nice stay and we will be returning again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anastasia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Manager at Erie Islands Resort Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

We are happy you enjoyed the services in our Aveda Spa and found many attractions in the area. Hope you return soon.

Thank you,
Michelle Bartholomew
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed this place! The hotel is nicely decorated and the room was imaculate. We really enjoyed the couples massage we got at their Aveda Spa. The staff was friendly and the weather was nice enough for us to walk the grounds (its a big place) and see the swans. It was easy to get to the Jet Express to Put-in-Bay, where we had a great time as well. We will certainly come back soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a large waterfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Manager at Erie Islands Resort Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Erie Islands is happy you enjoyed your stay and Aveda Spa services. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Thank you,
Michelle Bartholomew, CFO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My wife and I had great time nice place great property and for the deal we got on web cant beat it I think she paid 100/night including a good dinner thanks Erie we will be back run some more specials

Room Tip: Ask for Marina side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Manager at Erie Islands Resort Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back for some fun soon.

Michelle Bartholomew
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Thank goodness we have family in Port Clinton to finish out our vacation! We have traveled to many,many different resorts and NEVER seen anything like we had during our very Brief Stay at this dump!! We should have turned and RAN after we overheard a women screaming at another young lady. Come to find out we were informed she was a MANAGER! and it HAPPENS all the time staff have learned to TUNE her out! Our room was on the 2nd Floor and felt like a Sauna the minute you opened the door to enter the Hallway. After unpacking we thought we would take a stroll over to the Rec Center AGAIN hearing the same women yelling about someone else! The pool inside was very crowded due to the outdoor pool and hot tub not UP and RUNNING yet. Never ran into 1 staff person who had a smile on their face then again if I had to listen to that Grouchy Hag at the hotel I guess I wouldn't smile either!!! Wine and Cheese Reception was a JOKE just a ploy to get you to try and listen to a presentation about Buying into the place. My advice save your MONEY and if you dare to visit I would call ahead and see if they were smart enough to FIRE the Hag from the Hotel yet! As there wasn't a single time we didn't hear her yelling about something or someone. GOOD LUCK!

Room Tip: Stay away from Second Floor No Air in Hallway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank howard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Manager at Erie Islands Resort Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

I'm alway concerned when I receive a complaint about one of our managers which is why I sent you my personal contact information.

Michelle Bartholomew
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed here to go to cedar pt, anniversary. cleaning fee really, ! Not so clean 4 me ;(
Both hot tubs on fritz, pools so cold, was told heatwrs both broken. too bad, out side pool was beautiful. room average. 10 miles from no where. private? Good word. eat at frichs b boy!
Nice people, open late, good food! 10 Miles. watch 4 may flies! Steam room n canadian geese were highlites. Babies so cute.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catwamam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Manager at Erie Islands Resort Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

We are happy to report all of our pools and spas are working wonderfully. We are sorry for the inconvience during your stay.

Michelle Bartholomew
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We just returned for our 3 day/2night trip to Erie Islands Resort which we purchased through JB Dollar Stretcher. The room was nice and the staff friendly. The Wine and Cheese reception was fun and the Candlelight Dinner, which included a bottle of wine, was good. Even though there is not a lot to do at the resort we definitely got our moneys worth ($69.00). I doubt it’s worth the $199.00 their currently selling it for.

At the wine and cheese reception (that’s one glass of wine, 3 kinds of cheese and No crackers), they definitely try to get you to go to a Time Share Presentation. No real pressure. BEFORE YOU WASTE YOUR TIME GOING TO THEIE PRESENTATION efore you waste your time going to the presentation, check out ETTSI (Executive Tour & Travel Services, inc on the web. Lots of complaints.

Also look at the Better Business Bureau – Daytona Beach, FL which says “on 01/26/2012 this company’s accreditation was revoked by the BBB’s Board of Directors due to failure to eliminate the underlying cause of complaints on file with BBB, unresolved complaint(s), and failure to maintain minimum BBB Ratings”

To use your Free Trip, you must pay $4.95 to register your voucher and then pay a $100.00, so they say Refundable Deposit, and even though Erie Islands says No, you must attend a Time Share Presentation in Orlando or Las Vegas.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Manager at Erie Islands Resort Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Erie Islands. None of our guests are required to tour our resort facilities, only those who prefer are invited. We work hard to provide every guest an enjoyable experience every time they visit ,which is why our company is rated A+ with the Northwest Ohio BBB.

Michelle Bartholomew
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
13.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
13.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
6.5 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
398 reviews
8.5 km away
Best Western Port Clinton
Best Western Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
284 reviews
8.6 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#14 of 17 in Port Clinton
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erie Islands Resort Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erie Islands Resort Marina

Address: 4495 W Darr Hopfinger Rd, Port Clinton, OH 43452-8907
Region: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range: $161 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Erie Islands Resort Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Erie Shores and Islands is one of the top destinations in Midwest receiving nearly seven million visitors a year. Port Clinton is a central location to a wide array of fabulous activities that range from catching the Jet Express to the Islands; Cedar Point amusement park; several indoor water parks; winery’s; water sports; boating; fishing; camping & bird watching. If you love fishing you have to visit Port Clinton the Walleye Capital of the world. Our beautiful 375-acre waterfront resort is nestled on the Portage River, a tributary to Lake Erie, in Port Clinton Ohio. Erie Islands Resort enjoys an exclusive location very near the myriad of area activities but just far enough away to enjoy amazing Sunrises overflowing with spectacular color, Sunsets gently touching the water with a million dollar view in every direction and unspoiled star filled nights right at your door step. Erie Islands offers a variety of accommodations from our Victorian Style waterfront hotel, spacious cottages, luxurious vacation homes with private dock, or for the camping enthusiast 138 campsites. For our boating guest at Erie Islands we can accommodate you with our 100 slip marina. Indoor and outdoor enthusiasts, and children of all ages, will find a wide array of amenities and activities right here at Erie Islands. When you visit Erie Islands you will soon find yourself in the midst of a recreational paradise with our 15,000 square foot recreation center and 375 acres of grounds. Some of the many onsite amenities include restaurant, lounge, Aveda Spa and retail store, outdoor/indoor pools, outdoor/indoor hot tubs, kiddie pool, 10 private stocked fishing lakes, 125’ river fishing pier, exercise room, racquetball courts, basketball court, tanning spa, general store, snack bar, arcade, billiards, pool bar & disc golf course.At Erie Islands Resort & Marina, you really can have it all – it’s all about family, fun and relaxation while creating memories that will last a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Erie Islands Resort Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erie Islands Resort Marina Hotel Port Clinton
Erie Islands Hotel Marina
Erie Islands Resort Marina Port Clinton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing