We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd rather sleep in my car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knights Inn & Suites ST Clairesville
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Saint Clairsville
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Not enough adjectives to describe it - seedy, dirty, grimy, rude, filthy, awful. Definitely shouldn't have trusted the pictures on the web site for this one....

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geoexchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

We live very close to this dump. My husband and I were out shopping on December 3, 2011. His birthday. On the spur of the moment we decided to get a jacuzzi room. About $160.00 with tax. We went up to the room and I used the restroom right away. My husband used it next. He had to work on the toilet to get it to flush. I couldn't find the light switch to see what the rest of the room looked like. My husband finally found it and I was appalled. There are mirrored walls around the jacuzzi. The mirrors were smeared, heavily in places, with white stuff that I don't want to speculate about. At this point I knew I was leaving, but I went over to the bed and pulled the covers down and the was hair all over the sheets. I only wish I had taken pictures. We immediately went downstairs and demanded our money back. He tried to say we had gotten it dirty. We had been there a total of 5-7 minutes! He then offered to give us the NON SMOKING jacuzzi room and let us smoke in it!! We quickly declined and came home with our money! I came home and jumped in the shower I felt dirty from those few minutes! Next birthday we will get a decent hotel and not a dumpster.

Room Tip: How to choose a good room? GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ccarpenter1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I did not stay there, glad I did not after reading the reviews. I tried to cancil the reservation within the 24 hrs they require for reasons beyond my control , they refused, they said they were going to hold my room till 5:00 am, in case I changed my mind but I was paying for that room no matter what, they informed me they had my credit card number. I encountered nothing but attitude from both staff and management. My appeal to the credit card company did not do any good, I would not make another reservation at this hotel, I think I would perfer a tent first. It cast a doubt on the entire hotel chain in my opinion. One really needs to read the opinions of other travelers on this advisor first.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
4  Thank SgtChaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I'm referring to the Walmart parking lot - just a short drive down the road - from this atrocity -- DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AugustWestVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

There were 3 people working behind the desk when I arrived. The man who seemed to be in charge had no customer service skills and would not let the other employees do their jobs. Our bed only had 2 thin pillows, so when I went to the front desk to request more, a woman tried to get them for me. She was getting ready to put pillow cases on them first, when the man in charge told her to just give them to me, and I could do that. Really?! She ignored him and put the cases on anyways. Meanwhile another customer came in and the man behind the counter tried to get him to take one of the more expensive rooms and started to haggle over prices. He was being very pushy.

We were only given one room key.

The room was terrible. It looked like a set-up for a dirty porn film. It was very dark, and there was a dark tinted mirror behind the bed. The bed was too soft and slanted, so if only one pillow was used, our feet were higher than our heads. The TV remote only worked sporadically. The bathroom was not very well lit either, and the tub floor looked worn/dirty. A tissue box was resting on the handicap bar next to the toilet, and when I reached for a tissue, the whole box fell in the toilet. Yuck! There should have been a holder for the tissue box, or it should have been placed in the bedroom.

Breakfast was haphazardly displayed. Two boxes of muffins were still on the table in boxes, instead of in the display case. They had powdered creamer instead of liquid. There was a waffle maker, but with the quality of the rest of the hotel, I was afraid to try it.

I chose this hotel because it had a pool and a whirlpool and because the picture of that area looked nice, I didn't take the time to read the reviews. When I went DOWN TO THE BASEMENT TO THE POOL AREA, the whirlpool was empty and roped off, and I noticed in another person's review 4 months earlier that the same situation occurred for them, so the whirlpool was probably never fixed during this 4 month time span.

When I checked out, I was never asked about my stay. I will NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BermudaLover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I just read other reviews about this place and they all sum it up. I been all over the world. I've stayed in places that cost $2 a night it had fleas, but the view was nice and it cost $2. This place cost $70 and i was in a tight room, a TV from the 70s (as well as decor). STAY away from this place. I wish I could say the people were nice ... he wouldn't even take my Choice Member number ... THAT'S WHY I CHOSE HERE!!! I've called Choice Hotels to let them know that is hotel is such a bag of caca (Spanish translation??).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trubodor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This comment is directed toward the Econo Lodge Motel on National Road in St. Clairsville, Ohio.
Background: I am in my 60’s. I have traveled extensively in 36 states, five other countries, and in all 88 counties of Ohio. Conservatively, I would estimate that I have stayed in 200 hotels/motels.
We arrived in St. Clairsville around 7:30 pm after a long drive and were headed for the Day’s Inn. When driving past the Econo Lodge, I suggested that we inquire there for a room.
My friend registered and paid the Saturday rate of $120 for a room with two queen-size beds. We intended to go to the room to freshen up and then go out to a local restaurant for supper. The first thing I noticed, I recognized because my mother owns pets, the smell of urine inside the elevator. Upon entering our room, I did not specifically pay attention to the room cleanliness as we were in process of going out for supper. The overall appearance was one on the very low side of “economy” for a $120 room rate. Later, I was to find out in this motel “econo” stood for "poor/non-existent housekeeping."
We returned after 10:00 that night and proceeded to carry our suitcases up to the room. Again, I identified the smell of urine inside the elevator. In the morning, I discovered why when I saw a man walking his dog in the grass strip in front of the motel and another family entering their car in the parking lot with a dog. The motel permitted pets. However, that information is not readily available at the registration desk for those who may have allergies.
Back in our room, my friend got ready for bed. I watched TV. My friend was in her bed and I now decided to get into my own bed. When I pulled down the bed cover, my bed was missing a top sheet. I slept without one and this made me in direct contact with the light blanket, which may or may not be changed and laundered each time of use. I venture it is not.
In the morning, we could not get the bathroom light to work. I removed the cover and jiggled the fluorescent tube and it came on.
The next morning I followed my friend to check out. I waited for the desk clerk to ask the usual, “Was everything alright?” “How was your stay?” or something similar. I intended to reply about the missing sheet and the bathroom light. When he did not say anything, only “I’ll get your receipt,” I speculated that he was so used to hearing complaints that he was not going to ask for them. When he gave my friend her receipt, I spoke up. “I have a question. Aren’t you supposed to receive two sheets on your bed?” To this, he answered, “Yes,” or more likely, “Yeah.”
Now here comes the test – a reflection of the business policy of Choice Motels Corporation, which owns and operates Econo Lodge, for they hire and train their employees and dictate customer policy. Instead of beginning his reply with a “sorry,” included somewhere, he said, “Why didn’t you call the desk and we would have come and made your bed.” I stated, “Is that it?” indicating was that to be his only response. I proceeded to tell him that it was past eleven o’clock, we were tired, and my friend was already in bed asleep. Being a specialist in contracts, I proceeded to inform him that our contract called for the sum of $120 to be exchanged for the amenities of a motel room for the night. That Econo Lodge had not fulfilled (i.e. breached) their part of the contract. For the $120 inflated Saturday rate, one should expect Econo Lodge to upgrade their quality of service to match. Consequently, there should have been a top sheet, because they would implement a policy that insured that all rooms were cleaned properly and all amenities were in place, such as a checklist or room inspections prior to use.
I have stayed in “economy” motels before. Outside of a rare comment written upon a hotel/motel comments card, I have addressed any concerns to the desk clerk at checkout. It is the mention of deficiencies for normal amenities that were intended to improve stays for other people, as well as help the motel provide better service. Never have I been this disappointed with the response. Even an offer of a $10 refund or a coupon for a percentage off the next stay, at that time, would have been accepted. For it was the acknowledgement of the motel’s deficiencies I was looking for. However, it was the failure to acknowledge fault, or even offer an apology, that angered me. I had kept the room’s comment card and I pulled it from my pocket. “I am going to use this and send it to corporate headquarters.” He replied rather smugly, “That’s alright; it comes back to us anyway.”
If this is true and he appeared to have no apparent concern, then this must be an indication of Choice Motel’s past stance on these deficiencies and his type of conduct.
I regret the need for so much detail for what may appear to be minor compared to what I read later here on Trip Advisor. Now I am appalled at what I read. I immediately removed my own bedding at home and laundered it in hot water, and sprayed Lysol Disinfectant on my mattress and suitcase.
I do not consider it a rash decision on my part to add. To all my fellow travelers: Use my detailed incident, but more so, the horrendous comments made by those before me on tripadvisor.com and the many, which will appear after me. Do not stay at this motel!! If you choose to boycott all Econo Lodge motels, bravo for you! This is what my friend and I intend to do.
For those I have read here and to those people who will have unsatisfactory experiences at this motel in the future, do not let it end here. Please post on all relevant web sites. Provide a complaint to the Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of State Fire Marshal who licenses motels. Contact Mr. Jeff Bucher there. The pool and bar are under the jurisdiction of the Belmont County Health Department. Help your fellow travelers who will later be subjected to the same outrageous circumstances as you were.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank flexableflyer47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Clairsville
1.7 km away
Days Inn St Clairsville
Days Inn St Clairsville
#6 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
334 reviews
1.0 km away
Red Roof Inn St. Clairsville
Red Roof Inn St. Clairsville
#3 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
241 reviews
0.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-...
#11 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Comfort Inn Saint Clairsville
Comfort Inn Saint Clairsville
#7 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
99 reviews
0.9 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham St. Clairsville
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
478 reviews
13.6 km away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn & Suites ST Clairesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn & Suites ST Clairesville

Address: 51659 National Rd E, Saint Clairsville, OH 43950-9304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Saint Clairsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Saint Clairsville
Price Range: $90 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn & Suites ST Clairesville 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Knights Inn & Suites ST Clairesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Clairsville Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Saint Clairsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing